HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. numen

    numen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Europe
    Great build! HMPA now plays nice with Avira's Web Protection when Network Lockdown is disabled!
     
  2. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Remember, when two products conflict, you can't tell whether one application is causing the problem, it could also be the other application with a messy implementation. We just made a way to bail out a conflict.
     
  3. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    We use HMPA on our dev machines, no problems.
     
  4. numen

    numen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Europe
    I do know that and I had reported the issue to Avira as well, but they were not really that cooperative (suggesting uninstalling HMPA). Obviously, I opted for turning off Avira's Web Protection instead, but it had a nasty habit of reinstating it every now and then.

    Out of curiosity, what are the benefits of Network Lockdown in HMPA? Maybe I should rather have it on and turn Web Protection off as I have been doing until now (with 3.5 branch anyway; it was working flawlessly before).
     
  5. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    Q: what does Block Untrusted Fonts as Audit do. Does Audit throw any alert or just report in Event Viewer.
    Yes, Block Untrusted Fonts is W10 feature vs HMP.A. I can't run Block Untrusted Fonts as Enabled.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2016
  6. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    41,862
    You get no alerts but HMP.A is still logging events in the Event Viewer.
     
  7. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    Okay, some page icons go wonky with Block Untrusted Fonts Enabled. Just me.
    Appears, W10 Untrusted Font feature is not default enabled.

    @erikloman
    re: CryptoGuard folder:
    A file is written to that folder when a file (document, image, etc) is opened-for-write.
    And it is deleted when the handle is closed.

    Q: have you figured out why files remain in CryptoGuard folder.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2016
  8. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    united kingdom
    @erikloman, @markloman

    Hi Erik/Mark

    Upgraded to Windows 10 Preview 14959 and still having problems with SSL communication in all applications. I have disabled every mitigation and protection but it makes no difference, only stopping the drivers or uninstalling the application fixes the problem.

    Have you tested HMP.Alert with any of the preview builds - particulary those after 14931? Any ideas what could be happening? Happy to send any logs if it helps.

    Thanks
    Mark
     
  9. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,498
    v570 on XP seems to be ok. No more BSOD and Firefox 49.0.2 starts okay now.
     
  10. Joel Clendineng

    Joel Clendineng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    USA
    Still have random apps that do not launch. Clean install of windows stable, with and without bitdefender installed.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2016
  11. whitefox

    whitefox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Hello everybody, I was happy that Sophos acquired Barricade !!!!! Will it incorporate some technology in HitmanPro.Alert o_Oo_O!o_O? It would be fantastic .......
     
  12. escalibur

    escalibur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Posts:
    118

    I've sent you a PM.
     
  13. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    We know that 14959 causes some trouble. But that's what you get when running beta software (in this case from MS). We are looking into the matter.
     
  14. darkwolf_99

    darkwolf_99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Posts:
    36
    Build 570 works fine with SpyShelter Firewall and SandboxIE in my win10 x64 TH2

    Thank you for your great work!:isay:
     
  15. eddiewood

    eddiewood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Posts:
    136
    It was in response to @Roxl who is having a problem.
     
  16. JohnDil

    JohnDil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Yesterday i formatted my pc and installed Hitman pro and hitman pro alert but i am getting BSOD's.

    BSOD dump:

    Dump File : 110716-10671-01.dmp
    Crash Time : 7-11-2016 12:07:34
    Bug Check String : SYSTEM_THREAD_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED
    Bug Check Code : 0x1000007e
    Parameter 1 : ffffffff`c0000005
    Parameter 2 : fffff808`958d26cf
    Parameter 3 : ffffbf00`d4f46698
    Parameter 4 : ffffbf00`d4f45ec0
    Caused By Driver : partmgr.sys
    Caused By Address : partmgr.sys+3500
    File Description : Partition driver
    Product Name : Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
    Company : Microsoft Corporation
    File Version : 10.0.14393.0 (rs1_release.160715-1616)
    Processor : x64
    Crash Address : hmpalert.sys+226cf
    Stack Address 1 :
    Stack Address 2 :
    Stack Address 3 :
    Computer Name :
    Full Path : C:\Windows\Minidump\110716-10671-01.dmp
    Processors Count : 4
    Major Version : 15
    Minor Version : 14393
    Dump File Size : 419.612
    Dump File Time : 7-11-2016 12:08:12

    So is hmpalert causing it?

    Thank you
     
  17. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    496
    Location:
    italy
    you should send dump file (zipped) via www.wetransfer.com to erik[at]surfright[dot]com


    PS: Alert 3 build?
     
  18. enphor

    enphor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    North Carolina
    @erikloman , have there been any other reports of folks unable to poweroff their machines with HMPA installed? I haven't seen any further responses to my posts regarding the problem that I'm having so I figured I'd ask if it is something you guys are working on or if I'm a unique case. Thanks
     
  19. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    I would try updating Windows 10 to the latest release version, which is 14393.351, and see if it helps.
     
  20. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    In some instances the problem is with Windows 10. See if this thread is helpful...

    http://www.tenforums.com/general-su...-shutdown-since-i-installed-windows-10-a.html
     
  21. HempOil

    HempOil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    199
    Location:
    Canada
    Quick check in: I have been running build 570 since it was released, and I have not experienced any issues.
     
  22. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,325
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    In addition to Victek's reply,

    I do not recall any other reports of folks unable to power off their machines with HMP.A installed.
    It may be a unique case. Nevertheless, I hope that Erik/ the HMP.A team is investigating your case.

    I wonder, is there some software other than Windows Power Options that meddles/ interferes with power off? Perhaps some OEM or motherboard manufacturer's power options utility?
    I could imagine HMP.A could be interfering with such third party power options application, causing the reported issue.
     
  23. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    Q: anyone experience a real-world true Exploit Mitigation, Attack Intercepted.
    Q: anyone experience a real-world true CryptoGuard neutralize the perpetrating program and restore the encrypted documents.
    Q: anyone experience a real-world true Kills zero-hour threats that your antivirus missed.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2016
  24. enphor

    enphor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Thanks for the info, unfortunately I've been through that and many threads discussing windows 10 shutdown issues. I do have hibernation/fast boot disabled. Windows powers off perfectly fine when HMPA is uninstalled. The only difference on my system is that I created a tiered storage pool using the powershell cmdlets. I had to uninstall HMPA to do it because it would cause a BSOD when utilizing the powershell cmdlet New-StoragePool. After creating my tiered storage pool and virtual disk, I reinstalled HMPA, that is when this problem started.

    Nothing crashes, and windows shuts down just fine, the problem is it, the pc just acts like I used the restart option instead of shutdown and boots back up. At this point I believe it may be something to do with HMPA and my tiered storage virtual disk setup (SSD+HD tiers). Win10 doesn't come with the capability available in the management GUI's like Win2k12 server does, so I'm betting very few people are using the capability as it involves a lot of work using powershell to set everything up via CLI.

    At this point I can't blame Windows. It works perfectly fine if I uninstall HMPA, it worked fine with HMPA before I created my tiered storage volume, and doesn't work properly after reinstalling HMPA afterwards.

    I'm afraid that I'm a fringe case and will not get support for this issue. At this rate I may have to request a refund as I just re-upped my subscription recently (been using HMPA for over a year now). It's a shame, I really like the product.
     
  25. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Well, this is an odd one. Over a year ago, I reset my machine to factory defaults but for some reason, HMP Alert remained installed on the machine, it was never removed during the process--lol!. I recall brainlessly opening Internet Explorer afterward without applying any of the 190 Windows updates first--this was W8.1 at the time. Instantly, I had a HMP Alert about a stack pivot exploit that was apparently completely mitigated. There was no malware at all, I had done many scans, the FRST/Addition thing to boot but the evidence that it was real was among other things, flash player was blown into oblivion. It wasn't replaced until over a day later and was done automatically. Nasty, nasty. My machine kept on going without a hitch, oblivious to the heavy duty Windows damage, including broken BITS. Event Viewer was a mass of red errors, quite a few critical but you'd never know it I had to reset all over again. :mad:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.