HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. Telos

    Telos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Baana
    Thank you!
     
  2. guest

    guest Guest

    build v561 installed on top of previous one, no issues so far.
     
  3. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
  4. LW19

    LW19 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    Under XP SP3 (32bit) the Service: HitmanPro.Alert Service (hmpalertsvc) do not start. It Shows only a yellow Mark under Services with a (!)
    The official Version (V_3.5.2.558 ) was fine, but in all Office-Products we could not print.
     
  5. hotlips69

    hotlips69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Sussex. UK
    I'm having a strange issue using HMP.A 3.5.2.558 with Maxthon 4.9.3.1000 (which is the latest stable build of this browser)

    It was perfect until I upgraded to this version of HMP.A and now when I open Maxthon, instead of going to: mx://last-visit/ which gives you a list of the last open tabs I get a full screen of garbage and I have to forcefully kill Maxthon via the task manager.
    If I disable all mitigations and then re-open the browser, it displays perfectly again.
    I can get you a screenshot of the garbage if you want?
     
  6. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    886
    Location:
    USA
    I ran across an unusual side effect from the HMPA Risk Reduction function "Block Untrusted Fonts" with Firefox.

    Normally Firefox enables "Use hardware acceleration when available" by default. Firefox normally has no conflict for me with HMPA.

    But the other day I was messing with Firefox on a completely unrelated issue, and turned off Firefox hardware acceleration.

    Now on certain web pages, control buttons and share buttons were now missing, showing up only as little rectangular icons for placeholders. I think the browser downloads these buttons as web fonts. The best test for this is, go to www.twitter.com and see if the little birdy is showing at the top of the page.

    I confirmed that this also happened with Firefox in "safe mode", as well as with a new default profile. If I switched Firefox acceleration back on, the problem went away.

    I finally thought to try disabling the HMPA "Block Untrusted Fonts" . This fixed my problem with Firefox, without hardware acceleration. A reboot was required for the change to take effect.

    I am really puzzled why this could have anything to do with hardware acceleration in the browsero_O If it was going to break the web fonts, I would expect it to break them in accelerated mode too!!!
     
  7. eddiewood

    eddiewood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Posts:
    136
    @erikloman

    I've just been on a Sophos Intercept X webinar and they hinted at it protecting Windows servers "soon".

    Will this include Terminal Server support? i.e protecting Windows Terminal Server desktop users?
     
  8. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    I think this will be CryptoGuard-only at first (protect against endpoints trying to infect the files on the server).
    CryptoGuard-only allows updating the server without rebooting.
    But I think Sophos is still in doubt which HMPA features to roll in the server product.
     
  9. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    The Untrusted Font feature is not a feature of HMPA, but a feature of Windows 10. HMPA just provides a UI to enable this in Windows 10.
    The fact that you lose fonts is because Firefox tries to load fonts from the internet, which is blocked in Windows 10 (if you enabled the feature).
    More info here:
    http://www.thewindowsclub.com/block-untrusted-fonts-keep-network-safe-windows-10
    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/itpro/windows/keep-secure/block-untrusted-fonts-in-enterprise
     
  10. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Can you try disabling LoadLib mitigations on Maxthon? Or try turning off the mitigations one-by-one to find out which one is causing the behavior.
     
  11. escalibur

    escalibur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Posts:
    118

    Any changes regarding previously reported 3DMark issues?
     
  12. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    886
    Location:
    USA
    Hey Erik! Thanks for that info. I found the feature in gpedit.

    FYI: The weird thing here is that Firefox does NOT block the fonts when it has hardware acceleration enabled in the browser Advanced options.

    But I suppose that issue lies somewhere between Microsoft and Mozillao_O

    I ain't gonna go there, LOL!!!

    But thanks again, anyway!
     
  13. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Should be no longer an issue. Is it still an issue?
     
  14. hotlips69

    hotlips69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Sussex. UK
    I did what you said & it was Load Library that seems to be causing my issue.

    Any ideas why & if this can be fixed as I'm not comfortable using a browser without all possible mitigations enabled?
     
  15. Roxl

    Roxl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    I've planned to install Windows 10 Pro Anniversary Update.

    Do I have to expect problems after the upgrade using the current Release of HMPA?
    Should i wait?

    At the moment everything works as expected. I also have no problem with the Bitdefender installation.
     
  16. eddiewood

    eddiewood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Posts:
    136
    Upgrading isn't the problem, it was when doing a fresh installation of Windows 10 AU that Microsoft switch on the signed driver thing.
     
  17. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    Correct, but it shouldn't be a problem now; IIRC except for the current beta ( 561 ) the HMPA driver is signed.
     
  18. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    I'm running HMPA in the Anniversary Update with no issues.
     
  19. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    HitmanPro.Alert 3.5.3 build 562 PreRelease

    Changelog
    • Fixed typo in Dutch language string
    • Updated Danish language
    • Driver counter-signed by Microsoft
    Download
    http://test.hitmanpro.com/hmpalert3b562.exe

    Please let me know how this version runs on your computer :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2016
  20. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    41,813
    And the driver in this beta-build is now "Microsoft-signed"
     
  21. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Thanks! I adjusted the release notes.
     
  22. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,325
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    All seems well on my Windows 7 x64.
     
  23. newyorkjet

    newyorkjet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    UK
    OK so far with 562 at this end. Win 10 x 64 latest.
     
  24. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,750
    Location:
    EU
    No issues here on Win10 Pro 64
     
  25. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,273
    Location:
    USA
    Working good here Win. 7 x64.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.