HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    496
    Location:
    italy
    3.5.0.546 works flawless with Win10 AU (version 1607 build 14393.10)

    :thumb:
     
  2. escalibur

    escalibur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Posts:
    118
    Hello! Another gaming related issue...

    http://i.imgur.com/9TSHnXJ.png

    BattleEye is newly implemented anti-cheating protection to Ubisoft's Uplay.

    The issue has occured on a machine with Win 10 including Anniversary Update. Uplay has not been protected by HitmanPro.ALERT's Exploit mitigations or such. The issue has occured with 548 BETA version.
    http://i.imgur.com/9TSHnXJ.png
     
  3. JayKatai

    JayKatai Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    Hi,

    Unfortunately with HMP.A 3.5.0 / 546 keystroke encryption doesn't work. Tried with Edge, Chrome, Firefox, KeePass, etc.

    Windows 10 Home x64.
    Eset SS / Sandboxie
     
  4. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,384
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    @erikloman
    @markloman
    Bug in HMP.A 3.5.1.548 beta:
    With the HMP.A setting "Safety notification - Once per login session", there is only one flyout per boot session, instead of one flyout per login session. In other words: after logging out and logging back in, there is no HMP.A flyout in the second login session, only after restarting the computer there is another HMP.A flyout with opening a protected application.
    This bug was not in HMP.A 3.5.0.546.
     
  5. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    494
    Ah-hah, so THAT's the reason for those strange characters!!

    I was on IE9 and thought that the problem had something to do with the browser being obsolescent. But switching to IE11 didn't help that, so I was stumped as to why that was going on.

    UPDATE: Hang on, there. I don't have Windows 10, so the Block Untrusted Fonts feature should be irrelevant to me. Still, though, I am getting those Asian characters on buttons in the Norton forum.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2016
  6. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,166
    Location:
    .
    Are you blocking scripts...e.g., norton.com. Allow norton.com and ckeditor.com scripts.
     
  7. pimjoosten

    pimjoosten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Hello everybody,

    I have an issue with HMPA for which I need to contact Surfright. Could somebody please confirm that Surfright's support mail address is support [at] surfright.nl (my guess)? I have looked and looked and looked, but there is no physical address, phone number, mail address or support form on their site anywhere anymore (which does not give me a good feeling TBH), even though the last update date on the support section is July 29, 2016.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  8. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    That is the address. We are transitioning to a new site.
    If you have Sitecom questions then please direct them to Sitecom.
     
  9. pimjoosten

    pimjoosten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Thanks Erik for your fast reply!

    I think it would be a good idea to at least have the support mail address on your old site until you have completed the transition. I have spent lots of time (too much) to try to find it, because I knew it should be there, only to find out it apparently had been removed.
     
  10. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    580
    Location:
    Hengelo
    I have removed our contact address 2 days ago as we are currently overloaded with too many questions from people who do not take the time to take a look at the answers provided on the support page.
    Our contact address will be added again in a day or two.
     
  11. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    580
    Location:
    Hengelo
    Are you running applications in Sandboxie? If you run the outside Sandboxie, is encryption working?
     
  12. Influenza

    Influenza Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Posts:
    60
    No answer ?
     
  13. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    580
    Location:
    Hengelo
    Most of LastPass features run in the browser, and the browser is default protected, so yes. You can try it yourself, just give HitmanPro.Alert a spin. A trial is fully functional and for free.
     
  14. Influenza

    Influenza Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Posts:
    60
    Thanks Mark.
    I'm yet using HitmanPro.Alert with a licence key;) and I'm very satisfied:thumb:
    HPALicence.PNG
     
  15. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    Netherlands
    On both W7-x64 Prof. and W10-x64 Prof. HMP.Alert 3.5.1 Build 548 BETA is running fine.
     
  16. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,384
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Is there anyone who uses the setting "Safety notification - Once per login session", and who can confirm my HMP.A 3.5.1.548 beta bug report?
     
  17. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    771
    @erikloman
    @markloman
    Keystroke encryption definitely not working here with 548. Win7 Pro x64. All other security software uninstalled. The border appears round all the browsers and the orange encryption tab shows in the bottom right corner when typing but it shows the exact same characters that are being typed. Using the Surfrite keylogging test tool the same characters show that are being typed. This is the same on FF, Chrome and IE - sandboxed or otherwise.
     
  18. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    UK
    thanks for confirming.
     
  19. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,384
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    @erikloman
    @markloman
    Quite a serious bug in HMP.A 3.5.1.548 beta:
    In IE11 on Windows 7 x64, Microsoft Download Center pages are partly unresponsive.
    With HMP.A 3.5.1.548 beta, and IE11 on Windows 7 x64, for instance, go to https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=53332,
    and try to change the selected language, or try "Download".
    Changing the selected language doesn't work, nor does downloading. You get the "Thank you for downloading" page, but the download is not started.
    I haven't tested this with other browsers.
    N.B. This bug is not in HMP.A 3.5.0.546 (similar as with the other bug that I reported).
     
  20. mike83

    mike83 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Posts:
    35
    I received this error message from Bitdefender Internet Security 2016 (please see attachment). I submitted a ticket for this to BD but I'd like to understand how this affected to HMP.A functionality. I understand that the deleted file was from HMP.A CryptoGuard...

    (FWIW I had configured BD action to be quarantine instead of delete - but the file was not moved to quarantine but had simply disappeared).
    https://s32.postimg.org/m219wdcat/OBS01_Crypto_Guard_Virus_Detection.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  21. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    580
    Location:
    Hengelo
    I've setup a similar system and Keystroke Encryption works fine. My environment:
    • Windows 10 Pro x64 (with Anniversary Update)
    • ESET Smart Security 9
    • Internet Explorer 11 (64-bit)
    • Google Chrome 52 (32-bit)
    • Google Chrome 52 (64-bit)
    • Mozilla Firefox 48 (32-bit)
    • KeePass 2.34
    • Sandboxie 5.12
    Note that Microsoft Edge doesn't receive Keystroke Encryption. This is expected and also disabled in the user interface.

    I did find an issue with "ESET Banking & Payment protection", which doesn't seem to start at all.

    So I don't know what's going but so far I am unable reproduce this - everything works great and as expected, even in Sandboxie. The scrambled keystrokes are shown in the live indicator and the real keystrokes are not intercepted by the Exploit Test Tool.
    Do you have other security software on your machine perhaps? I'm looking for clues.
     
  22. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    UK
    Have you tested on windows 8.1?

    I just tested on my laptop with 3.5.x and it is working, even on cyberfox inside sandboxie.

    My laptop however is configured almost the same as my desktop pc, both devices have the same windows hardening, both have eset, both have emsisoft.

    The main difference between the two is that my desktop pc has a lot of gaming stuff installed like steam and various games. Of course also that it is different hardware. So maybe hardware drivers are interfering.

    Hardware in pc and drivers installed.

    Nvidia GTX 1070 driver 368.95
    Intel AHCI series 8 chipset driver 13.24
    Intel 1217 onboard ethernet driver 12.13.17.7
    Qsoft RAMdisk (this is also on laptop). 5.3.2.14
    Asus Xonar d2x soundcard Driver 8.1.8.1823

    PC also has hardware monitoring apps running such as.

    HWinfo64
    MSI afterburner
    Rivatuner staistics server (bundled with msi afterburner)

    PC has microsoft office whilst laptop does not.

    On security software my desktop PC is pretty much exactly the same as the laptop, same with policy editor and registry hardening.

    Tonight or tomorrow I will update back to 3.5 on the PC and try disabling the hardware monitoring software to see if it makes a difference.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2016
  23. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Keystroke encryption works as expected w/Firefox 47.01 and HMP-A build 548 beta, in fact, HMP-A is working well overall on Windows 10 Anniversary build which I slopped over the old W10 via Windows Update Assistant. I'm lazy, what can I say? I like the new Windows build, though, very nice.:)

    Edit to add: Wish the "check for update failed" warning in Event Viewer would go away soon.
     
  24. PeZzy

    PeZzy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Posts:
    56
    HMP seems to be killing my IE while on my banking website. I disabled the mitigations but it is still killing my connection randomly while banking...

    Mitigation HeapSpray

    Platform 10.0.10586/x64 1f_0a
    PID 8364
    Application C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    Description Internet Explorer 11

    #00 1F5F0000 L00020000; Javascript array
    38 E8 09 6E 20 B5 7B 1D ..00(*9).. C0 C7 1F 20 65 75 42 ..00(*80).. B8 AF 0E 1B 00 00 00
    #01 1F5D0000 L00020000; Javascript array
    38 E8 09 6E 20 B5 7B 1D ..00(*9).. C0 C7 1F 20 65 75 42 ..00(*80).. B8 AF 0E 1B 00 00 00
    #02 1F5B0000 L00020000; Javascript array
    38 E8 09 6E 20 B5 7B 1D ..00(*9).. B0 C7 1F 20 65 75 42 ..00(*80).. B8 AF 0E 1B 00 00 00
    #03 1F590000 L00020000; Javascript array
    38 E8 09 6E 20 B5 7B 1D ..00(*9).. A0 C7 1F 20 65 75 42 ..00(*80).. B8 AF 0E 1B 00 00 00
    #05 1F550000 L00020000; Javascript array
    38 E8 09 6E 20 B5 7B 1D ..00(*9).. A0 C7 1F 20 65 75 42 ..00(*80).. B8 AF 0E 1B 00 00 00
    #06 1F530000 L00020000; Javascript array
    38 E8 09 6E 20 B5 7B 1D ..00(*9).. 90 C7 1F 20 65 75 42 ..00(*80).. B8 AF 0E 1B 00 00 00
    #07 1F510000 L00020000; Javascript array
    38 E8 09 6E 20 B5 7B 1D ..00(*9).. 80 C7 1F 20 65 75 42 ..00(*80).. B8 AF 0E 1B 00 00 00

    Process Trace
    1 C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe [8364]
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" SCODEF:8728 CREDAT:75009 /prefetch:2
    2 C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe [8728]
    3 C:\Program Files (x86)\HitmanPro.Alert\hmpalert.exe [7132]
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\HitmanPro.Alert\hmpalert.exe" /restart:2500D88443676591
    4 C:\Program Files (x86)\HitmanPro.Alert\hmpalert.exe [1332]
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\HitmanPro.Alert\hmpalert.exe" /service
     
  25. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    580
    Location:
    Hengelo
    Please try build 548, should fix this: http://test.hitmanpro.com/hmpalert3b548.exe
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.