HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. alexphoenix

    alexphoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Fujitsu-Siemens S-26381. Incidentally it worked fine when I had to press a function key at boot-up, also it worked fine on our other computer.
     
  2. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,418
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
  3. alexphoenix

    alexphoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Fujitsu Siemens S26381. incidentally it worked fine pressing function keys during boot-up, and also worked fine on our other PC.
     
  4. alexphoenix

    alexphoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Fujitsu Siemens S26381. Incidentally it worked fine pressing function keys during boot-up, and also worked fine on our other PC.
     
  5. lawdude

    lawdude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    39
    Up and running on new computer. Thank you.
     
  6. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    @markloman ,
    re: your signature > HitmanPro.Alert 3.0.57 Build 209 - Download Changelog

    Curious, the File version is 3.0.58.208...?
    Edit: seems I missed #7149
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2015
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,286
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thanks! :rolleyes:

    Well I have added Groove Music, Weather, News and Store and so far no issue. :isay:
     
  8. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
    Is mitigation template and profile the same thing?
     
  9. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    An application is attached to a profile. The profile is copied from a template.
     
  10. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
    @erikloman I translated the word template as profile because template sounds a bit weird for me and I thought it's the same thing. So do you think I should change it?
    Edit: fixed it and sent you 2 e-mails.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2015
  11. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    Hello Erik and Mark et al,
    Back to 3.0.58 build 208 ... 3.0.59 build 209
    KeePass Master Password dialog is good for testing keystroke encryption.
    With 3.1 there was no evidence of keystroke encryption with Webroot Identity Shield On.
    With Webroot Identity Shield Off there was absolute repeatable keystroke encryption evidence.
    What ever enhancements/changes were coded to 3.1 appears to bump Webroot.
    At least on my W8.1 box. Maybe on a W10 box 3.1 does not bump Webroot.
    Maybe it's a Webroot update that bumps HMP.Alert 3.1
    My attention to keystroke encryption with 3.1 opened an observation that if A bumps B for X1.
    Might A bump B for X2 or X3.
    Regards
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2015
  12. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    Q: regarding Exploit Test 32/64
    HMP.A is not actively protecting 32bit Exploit Test. According to the Test Tool Manual. I'm to use 32bit Tool for 32bit application on 64bit system. I'm not seeing flyout nor colored border with 32bit Exploit Test Tool. Don't understand what pic is telling me. I don't see 32bit Test Tool go to Alert the way 64bit Test tool does.
    Edit: okay now... 3.0.59 build 209
    Exploit Test 32 64 fixed.PNG
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2015
  13. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~ HitmanPro.Alert WFP Driver -- hmpnet.sys is 2/56 at VirusTotal
    MD5: 758afad0f987b4ad78829a342c71568c

    Q1: What's in excalibur DataBaseFile...?
    excalibur was 38,881 KB before clean-install 3.0 (moved ProgramData\HitmanPro.Alert folder).
    Now, excalibur is 192 KB with SHM and WAL Files.

    Q2: Does HMPA monitor telemetry.. e.g., HitmanPro.Alerts\reports
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2015
  14. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    485
  15. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    I believe the license will start "ticking" when it's activated on the first PC. Regardless of when you install on other PCs the license will expire on the same date for all of them.
     
  16. maniac2003

    maniac2003 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Posts:
    115
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Correct. @JEAM The license period begins when activating for the 1st time. So in your example they would all expire November 4th 2017.
     
  17. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    @L10090
    Did you receive reply to your query.
    Does Norton 22.5.4 expose users to exploits that cannot be stopped by security software and/or Alert was patched (solely) to suppress the 'Intruder Alert' message....?
    What is the significance of <<Norton now hooks these APIs (new in 22.5.4) #7032>> for Norton users.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2015
  18. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    Netherlands
    @bjm_ No I have not received a reply.
    Because I am not a Norton user I let it go, perhaps it is a sensitive/complicated issue?
     
  19. shogun_r

    shogun_r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Sweden
    I was clicking and downloading on this page http://www.surfright.nl/en/alert and I got Hitman Pro Alert 3.1.0 build 328. I suppose this is not the stable one? Should I uninstall and get HMPA 3.0 instead? I have Windows 10.
     
  20. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    496
    Location:
    italy
    10 → 3.1.0.328 recommended
    ≤ 8.1 → indifferent
     
  21. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    Hmm, Thanks....so, you're thinking
    poses an issue solely for Norton users..?
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2015
  22. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    Netherlands
    That was my interpretation after reading post #7032 and that's why I asked the two questions.
     
  23. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    ...as a Norton user....I am curious.... Thanks
     
  24. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,286
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Me too!
     
  25. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    485
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.