HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    Hi,

    I'll admit I don't know much about this program but became interested in it today after reading a bit about what it does. The first thing I noticed on the original post in this thread was "HitmanPro.Alert is a free tool" however I can not find a free version of it? I assume HPA has moved away from that? If not, where can one get the free version? If there is no free version, is it possible to purchase a lifetime license?
    Personally I don't do subscription models, however I can understand the need for them from a business point of view, it's just not something I'm comfortable with.
     
  2. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    HitmanPro.Alert 3.1 Build 312 BETA

    I think this breaks Windows Search on Windows 10 Pro x64 for me.
     
  3. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    What are the symptoms?
     
  4. artoor

    artoor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Poland
    As far as I know unless you activate your free (30 days) trial you can use a free (limited) version of HitmanPro.Alert. You can download HPA and install it as free version that doesn't provide you with some advanced features when it comes to protection of your OS :)
     
  5. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    When I type in the name of the program I want to run, it finds nothing.
     
  6. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,109
    Installed HitmanPro.Alert 3.0 Build 199 Pre-release.

    TrueCrypt no longer crashes, but entering text (the password) is still annoyingly slow. Furthermore I got random garbage text again when typing this text a little fast in Firefox...
     
  7. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    I never saw any option not to active the trial, what features ARE available in the free version?
     
  8. artoor

    artoor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Poland
    As I can see (before activeting my trial license) there isn't Exploit mitigation active in free version. I reckon this is available only in paid (or trial). Perhaps you have had your trial activated before and that is why you can use HPA as a free now? Have a look - that is how it looks just before trial activation.
    Maybe Developers could give you some more details about that :)
     
  9. SanyaIV

    SanyaIV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    278
    Alright, thanks for your help. Considering the free version doesn't include the exploit mitigation (which is what I was interested in) and it doesn't seem to have a lifetime license option available, I'm probably going to skip it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2015
  10. Armadax

    Armadax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Zuid-Holland
    I don't think that is the C-patch version.
    See this post for the 2015 c patch version:

    http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showtopic=328787
     
  11. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,369
  12. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Upgrade to 3.1
     
  13. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,369
    I probably won't upgrade soon but I wanted to ask just to be sure. Should Hitmanpro.Alert be uninstalled before upgrading to Windows 10 or is it okay to still have it during the upgrade?
     
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Erik

    Beta 312 is working great here. Cleared up a few mitigation issues. Only program I really have a couple of mitigation issues with is Cyberlinks PowerDVD 15. There is a free trial if you want to experiment.

    Pete
     
  15. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,044
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    No issues here so far, with 3.1 build 312
    Improved green border is now working fine, in chrome
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2015
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,277
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Erik,
    My issue with the Norton Identity Safe appears to be resolved with Build 312. I should note though that I no longer have Norton Security installed on my Win10 machine. I'm using Windows Defender but have installed the Stand-Alone Identity Safe as a password manager.

    The coloured border around Edge displays for me as expected.

    Nice work!
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,277
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yay!

    Erik, I've just added WLM to Alert Build 312 (Other Template) and this issue is resolved too! :)

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thre...iscussion-thread.324841/page-261#post-2511905
     
  18. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,100
    Location:
    USA
    Windows 10 32 bit.jpg Windows 10  64 bit.jpg
    Are you running Windows 10 32 bit or 64 bit? On my Win 10x64 desktop the Edge icon doesn't show on the front page of the advanced UI, but it is listed as a protected program. On my Win 10x86 (32 bit) laptop the Edge icon does display in the advanced UI. Regarding the colored border if you have auto-hide enabled try turning it off and see if the border shows.

    Edit:

    Today the Edge icon is showing in Windows x64 as well (HMPA 3.1 build 312); don't know why it took a while to display. The top screenshot is from Windows 10 32 bit and the one below is 64 bit.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2015
  19. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    Netherlands
    EDITED:

    This issue still exist in v3.1 build 312, W7-x64 Professional, US International keyboard, English language!

    v3.0 build 199 is running fine with W7-x64 Professional, US International keyboard, English language!
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2015
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,277
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    @deugniet ,

    Do you mean "&"?

    It's working here so maybe it is a local language bug with HMP.A?
     
  21. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,024
    Quotation marks yes. Could be Krusty. Forummember L10090 is Dutch too.

    1.JPG
     
  22. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,976
    Updated a short time ago to v3.00 Build 199 Pre-release...

    ScreenShot_HMP.A_v3.0.51.199 build_01.gif
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,277
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Ah, OK. I thought you meant the & symbol. " and ' are working here too.
     
  24. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,976
    Pages won't load in Opera browser v12.15 Wilder's loads fine, but not so, other sites...since update this evening.

    ScreenShot_HMP.A_v3.0.51.199 build_06.gif
     
  25. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Although being Dutch, I am using an US International keyboard with English(US) language!
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2015
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.