HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. ropchain

    ropchain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Posts:
    335
    HMP.Alert 3 is not a replacement for anti-virus software
     
  2. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    sweden
    Thats not what i asked about.
     
  3. ropchain

    ropchain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Posts:
    335
    It is an answer to your question. HMP.Alert is not AV software and it is up to you to decide whether you use AV or not.
     
  4. pb1

    pb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    sweden
    It is that decision that the question i posted is about - is it necessary to have an antivirus when you have HMP.Alert.
    What i hope for is that someone wants to evaluate it a bit.
     
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,286
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
     
  6. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,029
    No problems with Flash 18.0.0.232 and build 196 (W7 64 bits)
     
  7. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,603
    Location:
    Outer space
    Nice, Alert automatically detected new LibreOffice 5's applications, also the 64 bit version :)

    Haha, it seems you're the best source for Flash updates. Long before news of the new Flash version is posted on the Updates section, the Adobe Security bulletins thread and before the Advisories are posted Adobe's own site, you're already posting in this thread.
     
  8. MikeRepairs

    MikeRepairs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    Kissimmee, FL
    I reported this in July and did not get a reply, OK now I have another customer, the same make and model laptop. This customer wants it fixed. I now have two customer waiting for me to fix this. Can you toubleshoot this bug ?

    I have two customers with this problem on identical ASUS X205T netbooks

    Computer:
    ASUS X205T netbook with 'Win 8.1 with Bing' 32 bit.
    Intel Atom CPU Z3735F 1.33Ghz. 2GB Ram

    Problem:
    Installed HMPA 196 for first time. The HMPA service will not start. I see this in event viewer "Error 1068: the dependency service failed to start" also "HMPA support Driver service failed to start. Windows cannot verify the digital signature". Autoruns shows all HMPA drivers are Verified.
    I tried uninstall/reinstall, even removal tool / reinstall, still has problem.

    Mike Challis
    HMPA Reseller
    Mike's Computer Repair

     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2015
  9. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,736
    Location:
    USA
    FYI, I had posted that HMPA destabilzed my machines when I installed it along with Sandboxie and Chrome. I want you to know that I followed bo elam's advice and unchecked the Sandboxie compatibility setting for HMPA. Surprisingly, that made all the difference in the world, and I have since been running HMPA quite successfully on two 7x64 machines. I just didn't want my previous posts in this thread to be the last word on the matter. HMPA is running fine for me along with Chrome and Sandboxie! Thank you, Erik.
     
  10. shogun_r

    shogun_r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Sweden
    HMPA don't work with Sandboxie :( or Sandboxie don't work with HMPA ;)
    Any suggestion of a sandbox that works with HMPA and is good? Most important for me is to surf the web safely and it's good if I only need to use it when I need.
     
  11. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    After months of struggling with the combination of Sandboxie and HMP.A, yesterday I followed bo's advice about the compatibility setting and had the same result as yours on my 7 x64 machine. Everything is running smooth now.
    edit: see updated post below
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2015
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    This is interesting about the compatibility with sandboxie. I think the reason I've not had an issue is I never used the compatibility thing in sandboxie, but just added the hmpa line in each sandbox setting area.
     
  13. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,736
    Location:
    USA
    Same here, Pete.
     
  14. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    UK
    Returning to HMP.alert v3 thanks for the 64bit outpost firewall 9.1/windows 7 support.
    I dont know when it came through as a new job is keeping me busy.
     
  15. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,736
    Location:
    USA
    I just discovered an issue with HMPA and Chrome. I noticed that I can't rearrange tabs in Chrome like I used to be able to.
    Whenever I try to drag a tab to a new location, it opens in a new window.
    I tried reinstalling Chrome, and no difference.
    I tried Chrome outside of Sandboxie, still had the tab issue.
    But when I disabled HMPA, the tabs were fine, I could rearrange them as before and no new windows were opened.
    It doesn't matter if it's Exploit Mitigation and/or Safe Browsing... if either one or both are enabled then I have the tab issue in Chrome.
    Running most recent Chrome 44.0.2403.155 and Windows 7x64.

    Edit in: Member busy gave me a workaround... disable 'Colored window border' option in 'Safety notification'

    Looks like he posted about it in this thread, back in May.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2015
  16. craiga_uk

    craiga_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    That's odd - I can re-arrange Chrome tabs OK on Win 10 x64 OK with the colored window border enabled.
     
  17. craiga_uk

    craiga_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    Can anyone give me some pointers on bypassing a program - I've already logged it with support, but we have a client whose bank has a currency trading app written in Java. Printing from the app instantly blows up an HMP alert screen. However, disabling all the exploit protection options for that Java session doesn't stop it. After that, I tried disabling all protection for Java itself with no joy.
    Finally, in frustration, I turned off ALL exploit and browser protection in HMP.Alert (just leaving Crypto protection) and it STILL threw a HitmanPro Alert error!

    I've ended up uninstalling it from his PC, as he's a director of the company and he needs to do currency trading. However, I'm confused as to why I was still getting the exploit alert screens when all the protection was turned off.

    The error:
    Mitigation BlockedProcess

    Any clues?
     
  18. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,736
    Location:
    USA
    It's not odd if this is an issue specific to Windows 7. And when an issue is known, it doesn't necessarily affect every user anyway. It affected busy on W7, and his workaround also fixed the problem for me. That is worth looking into, imo.
     
  19. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    We are working on both an update for v3.0 and version v3.1. Stay tuned.
     
  20. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,736
    Location:
    USA
    So you guys were able to replicate this tab rearranging thing and are working on a fix? ;)
     
  21. craiga_uk

    craiga_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    Sorry, I wasn't trying to suggest it wasn't worth looking into. Just for completeness, I've just tested on my Win7 x64 (Pro) machine and can't replicate the bug. The downside with this kind of low level software is the compatibility issues with combinations of software/hardware. Do you have any interesting Chrome add-ons? Mine is 'vanilla'. My A/V is AVG.
     
  22. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,736
    Location:
    USA
    Didn't take it that way, craiga_uk. ;)
     
  23. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    More about trying to get HMP.A, Sandboxie and Chrome to run together on my W7 x64 machine: even after following Bo's suggestion I had the same problems with particular sites not loading. So I updated Sbxie from 4.20 to 5.01.8, added the \Device\NamedPipe\hmpalert line as before, and checked the software compatibility box in Sbxie. So far all sites are loading.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2015
  24. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,044
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    I'm runnning WIN8.1 and could reproduce your issue,
    but only if I drag and drop over or under the tab-bar.

    If I drag and drop precise, no new window is opened.

    No issue for me...
     
  25. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,044
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    Today I installed HMPA on two older machines, that are part of a WIN2008R2 domain,
    to find out compatibility with TrendMicro WorryFreeBuisiness and some special, not common, apps.

    The result was nearly unusable Internet with Chrome, due to ~50% CPU Time from TM-proxy and ~30% HMPA. Sometimes even more, up to 98%...
    I had no time to further investigate, so I had to uninstall HMPA, to get things to normal.
    That was a big disgrace to me, but I will not give up and I don't blame HMPA.

    Our company runs +20 clients, that need to be protected.
    So we will switch to Kaspersky, as soon as TM licence runs out.

    I hope that Kaspersky will be compatible with HMPA.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.