HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,168
    Just one more thing. I don't get the "encryption" popup from HMP.A when I hit the division sign /. All other keys are encrypted - with the exception of this sign on my numerical keypad. It's not a big issue as long as my keyboard works the way it should. Maybe you can reproduce this "glitch".

    PS: OS Windows Home Premium 32-bit
     
  2. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Netherlands
    With W7-x64, Adobe Flash Player 18.0.0.194, hmp-b242, hmp.alert-b194, Firefox 39.b07,
    I had a few times a FF 'plugin container crash' (replied with Reload Page), WITHOUT an alert from hmp.alert-b194.

    With hmp.alert Build 195 I have not see these FF39 'plugin container crashes' till so far!
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2015
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Eric

    Updated lenovo laptop directly, and one of my desktops remotely. Smooth. Will do other desktop when I get home.

    Pete
     
  4. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    840
    No problems with Sandboxie beta 5.01 (Windows 10 support) and build 195 (W7 64 bits).
     
  5. newyorkjet

    newyorkjet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    UK
    Win 7 64, F-secure, appguard, Hmp.Alert 194.
    Had 3 DEP alerts on 194 (Internet Explore 11 stack trace Flash 32_18_0_0_194.ocx)

    Hmp.Alert 195 upgrade solved issue. Thanks.
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,661
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    So far I haven't seen any encryption fly-outs with build 195 while scrolling in Firefox. An undocumented fix perhaps?
     
  7. ComputerSaysNo

    ComputerSaysNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    1,464
    erikloman I'm getting alerts while using Jetico BcWipe (latest version) on my main system. The alerts come when I try to use BcWipe's to delete files on my system.

    HMPalert crashes BcWipe and gives an error. Not sure if you can reproduce this error in your lab. I just installed build 195 so not sure if this error persists.
     
  8. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,008
    Location:
    USA
    I'm guessing that BcWipe "delete with wiping" looks like encryption and is triggering HMPA CryptoGuard. IIRC the advice in this circumstance is to temporarily turn off CryptoGuard.
     
  9. ComputerSaysNo

    ComputerSaysNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    1,464
    Yes could be that. It's a pain to turn off one of the main features of HMPalert every time I want to wipe a file.

    Are there any chances a exclude program feature will be enable in future versions of HMPalert?
     
  10. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,008
    Location:
    USA
    I don't know if a "white list" option is being considered.
     
  11. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    Only way I know of is to temporarily disable the service...
     
  12. ComputerSaysNo

    ComputerSaysNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    1,464
    See I don't want to disable HMPalert. I use it for protection. I don't want to lose any functionality of HMPalert. Not sure what to do o_O I need to wipe files too.
     
  13. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    HitmanPro.Alert 3.0 Build 196 BETA

    This update addresses a problem that may in occur corporate environments using Distributed File System (DFS) of Windows Server. The behavior reported is that some endpoints may intermittently loose network connection to specific DFS shares.

    Changelog
    • Fixed compatibility with Distributed File Servers (DFS).
    • Improved CryptoGuard
    Download
    http://test.hitmanpro.com/hmpalert3b196.exe
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2015
  14. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    It's a pain?
    How often do you need to wipe files using BcWipe? (Or any other application that wipes by writing a pattern that resembles encryption, anything else than all zero's, I suppose.)
    I you need to do so every couple of minutes, I can imagine it would be a real bother to need to disable HMPA's CryptoGuard, each time.
    But if you don't need to wipe files that often, I don't see why it would be so terrible to turn of HMPA's CryptoGuard for a couple of minutes.
    And you don't need to disable HMPA completely, but only CryptoGuard, for a couple of minutes.
    It's that simple: Open HMPA, click the CryptoGuard icon, choose Disabled.
    To re-enable: Open HMPA, click the CryptoGuard icon, choose Enabled.


    P.S.
    Off-topic
    I do understand the need for wiping, but hardly for 'military-grade' erasure methods such as offered with BCWipe.
    In all common cases, one pass of all zero's should be sufficient.
    See The Urban Legend of Multipass Hard Disk Overwrite.
    But that's an entirely different discussion, of course, and off-topic in this thread, as I mentioned. ;)
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2015
  15. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    Sigh, still getting webcam access prompts for Windows 10 default apps. One time, there was a fatal error after not allowing for too long that required me to sign out...
     
  16. MikeRepairs

    MikeRepairs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Long Beach, WA
    Just had another version 2 to 3 194 upgrade fail with hmpa service does not start on win 7 home 64 bit. I thought this problem was fixed. But some upgrades still fail. Other av is MSE and MBAM premium. After the reboot program is still shown as 2.6.5.77 in programs and features but open hmpa it is version 3 194 but no service running so no license can be activated.
    Have to Uninstall reboot reinstall then ok. This has happened on 6 computers so far.
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,661
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Build 196 is working well here so far. :cool:
     
  18. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,436
    Location:
    .
    v3.0.48 build 196 :)
     
  19. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Netherlands
    W7-x64 with hmp.alert v3.0.48 build 196 is working without any problem, same as build 195!:)
     
  20. ComputerSaysNo

    ComputerSaysNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    1,464
    Usually every few hours I need to use BcWipe. I work with sensitive information in my job. So it would be a pain to turn off Cryptoguard every few hours.

    And I do need military grade wiping for my job. Sensitive documents need to be erased with multiple passes to make sure no data is left behind.

    Good news is for build v3.0.48 build 195 it didn't crash BcWipe when I wiped a few files.

    Hopefully this issue has been fixed :)
     
  21. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    With relatively modern HDDs one pass of all zero's should be sufficient for wiping and to make it impossible to retrieve any of the information that was wiped.
    On the other hand, for really sensitive information (highly classified, top secret, military, etc.) even the most advanced erasing algorithms aren't considered sufficient, and only degaussing (or shredding) is regarded as sufficient.
    That said, when HDDs are in use and not end of life, degaussing (or shredding) can't be an option, of course, so I can imagine 'military-grade' erasure methods such as offered with BCWipe are used.

    Nevertheless, I still do not understand how it would be so terrible to turn of HMPA's CryptoGuard for a couple of minutes, every few hours, for wiping a few files, as disabling and re-enabling CryptoGuard is very easy and quick.
    However, that doesn't make your question, if by any chance an exclude program feature could be enabled in future versions of HMPA, any less legitimate. So I am interested in any ideas by Erik or Mark.

    That is really interesting.
    Earlier, Erik or Mark explained that HMPA's CryptoGuard not only responds to encryption, but also to writing a pattern that resembles encryption, such as wiping with advanced algorithms, if I remember correctly.
    Your previous report was consistent with that.
    I don't know why it is different with HMPA 3.0.48.196.
    Or could it be the Improved CryptoGuard that Erik mentioned? That would be nice, of course. :)


    EDIT:
    L10090 is right, of course.
    My mistake!
    Thanks very much for that correction!

    That leaves the question why HMPA 3.0.47.195 didn't crash BcWipe when ComputerSaysNo used it to wiped a few files.
    I am interested in Erik's or Mark's ideas about that.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2015
  22. PallMall

    PallMall Guest

    Too warm weather here to challenge laziness with elaboration : if you don't mind I'll just echo your comment since it fits mine, exactly :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 3, 2015
  23. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Build 196 has Improved CryptoGuard, however member ComputerSaysNo mentioned build 195!!
     
  24. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Oops, you're right, my mistake!
    Thanks very much for that correction!

    That leaves the question why HMPA 3.0.47.195 didn't crash BcWipe when ComputerSaysNo used it to wiped a few files.
    I am interested in Erik's or Mark's ideas about that.
     
  25. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    840
    My experience with CryptoGuard and Sysinternals Sdelete v1.51 (Secure Delete): CryptoGuard only kicks in when large amounts of files are deleted.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.