HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    578
    Location:
    Hengelo
    Fixed it with build 190. Thanks for posting these screenshots, they helped locating the issue!
     
  2. Mirjalovic

    Mirjalovic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    In Your Heart
    can't open microsoft office (word/powerpoint/excel) and IE with HMPA installed since 1 or 2 month ago.

    when HMPA removed, it's all fine again. What's the problem ?
     
  3. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Are you running Microsoft EMET as well?
     
  4. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,334
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Another issue with HMPA 3.0.42.189,
    that I didn't see yesterday, but that I see today -

    Keystroke Encryption scrambles keystrokes where it should not.

    In Windows Vista x86 IE9 as well as in Windows 7 x64 IE11, when I open an online PDF-file in the PDF-XChange Viewer (version 2.5.313.0) browser add-on, and then type a search term in the PDF-XChange Viewer browser add-on search box, the typed text is scrambled. When I disable HMPA 3.0.42.189 Keystroke Encryption, there is no issue.

    Additionally, I saw text scrambling in the Wilders Security Forums reply box ("More Options", "Use BB Code Editor").
    Disabling HMPA 3.0.42.189 Keystroke Encryption only partly fixed that, some keystrokes were still wrong (as if they were typos, which they weren't).
    Later, for some reason, there no longer was a scrambling issue in the Wilders Security Forums reply box, even with HMPA Keystroke Encryption enabled.

    Argh, it seems to me that issues fixed in one build create new issues in a next build ...
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2015
  5. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,977

    Hi...You're welcome.

    That did the trick, and I am back in business. :)

    ScreenShot_HMP.A_v3.0.42_build190_12.gif
     
  6. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    Congrats, and FYI Opera has the peculiar behavior of keeping old builds after upgrading. I first become aware of this when I noticed more than one Opera icon in HMPA. You appear to have three builds at the moment. In my experience it's safe to delete the old builds.
     
  7. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,977
    Hi,

    Thanks....About Opera, that is deliberate. I have versions, 10.10, 11.64, 12.15 ... I will stick with them while they work.

    P.S. Opera 29 is installed in another snapshot.
     
  8. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    i just installed HMPA 3.0.42-189, after having updated "sandboxie" to build 4.18, which is compatible with HMPA, and i am not having any issues with it..

    i am running windows xpsp3..

    i had tried using HMPA 3.x before but i realized that it wasn't compatible with "sandboxie" so i uninstalled it.. that issue has been resolved, with "sandboxie build 4.18"..

    update: i've installed HMPA 3.0.42-190, now.. one thing that is different is that i now see a HMPA-"encrypting"-message when i am typing a post in this forum, using the "firefox 38.0.1" browser.. (i kind of wish i could disable that message's popping up)..

    thank you, erik loman, mark loman, and everyone else at "surfright", for the work that you are doing..

    i always have said that "hitmanpro" was like magic.. i am starting to think that HMPA is like magic, too.. :)
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2015
  9. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    re: 190
    Since 190 is patch for XP
    Should I still install on W8.1 to maintain version continuity or is it OK to skip.
     
  10. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    SBIE supported HMP.A by manually adding PipePath...before SBIE 4.18 (Template was added in 4.17.2)
    I've run Alert and SBIE before 4.17.2/4.18 by adding \Device\NamedPipe\hmpalert to Full Access.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2015
  11. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,115
    Apparently (already) solved in build 190!
     
  12. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,334
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Where earlier today I reported HMPA 3.0.42.189 scrambles keystrokes where it should not
    (in the PDF-XChange Viewer browser add-on search box for sure, but also in the Wilders Security Forums reply box ("More Options", "Use BB Code Editor") at some moments),
    a moment ago I saw scrambling of text in the Searchpage.com search box, and after disabling HMPA Keystroke Encryption, for a moment once again I saw wrong keystrokes (as if typos) in the Wilders Security Forums reply box ("More Options", "Use BB Code Editor").
    Quite a nuisance.
    Later, in some minutes or in an hour or so, I'll try HMPA 3.0.42.190, to see if that changes anything with that erroneous key-scrambling behavior. If not, I must uninstall and then reinstall build 3.0.41.187, which didn't have the bugs that were and are in the last few builds, and then I'll hope for another bugfix soon.
     
  13. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    "EAM" is an antivirus program and "kingsoft PC doctor" is an antivirus program.. you shouldn't be running two antivirus programs, together, in realtime..

    as long as you are doing that, i think you should expect nothing but problems..

    there is a reason why all of the vendors of antivirus programs, including "microsoft", say not to run two antivirus programs, together, in realtime..
     
  14. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,977
    I appreciate the advice, but I think you're wrong.

    I installed this when it was first introduced and I am sure it was OK to run with other AV's.

    There was an active Wilders' thread which I followed when they released this product, and I am sure it was supposed to be compatible with other AV's. They stopped development, and then went on to release an [only] AV product.

    ScreenShot_HMP.A_v3.0.42_build190_13.gif

    Edit: Image added to show how quiet is my system, no conflicts.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2015
  15. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,334
    Location:
    the Netherlands
  16. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    yes, when EAM was first released, it was compatible with other av-programs, but then the "bitdefender"-av-engine was added to EAM and so it became an av-program which no longer was compatible with other av-programs..

    my advice is to use one av-program or the other and to not run two av-programs, together, in realtime..

    i also would advise you to test the av-programs that you have installed with the "eicar" test-file, but, since you have two av-programs installed, that won't be possible because only one of the av-programs is going to flag the test-file, and that is assuming that at least one of the av-programs that you have installed is functioning properly, which might not be the case..

    http://www.eicar.org/85-0-Download.html
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2015
  17. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,372
    I apologize in advance since this is going a little off-topic.

    EAM is still compatible with other antivirus programs. However there are exceptions, for example, it's not recommended to use EAM with other AV that have the Bitdefender engine.

    I don't know what engine Kingsoft PC Doctor uses. If it's Bitdefender, then it might be good advice remove either EAM or Kingsoft.
     
  18. redwolfe_98

    redwolfe_98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    581
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    i use the "passwordsafe" program and i want to know if can get HMPA's encryption to work with it?

    it might be good to have "passwordsafe" completely protected by HMPA.. how do i add programs to HMPA's list of programs that it is protecting? i think this issue has been discussed, before, but i feel like i can't scroll back through the thousands of posts, here, to find the one where it was discussed.. hopefully, one day, there will be a help-file for HMPA..

    if possible, please add "passwordsafe" to the list of programs that are protected by HMPA..
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2015
  19. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,069
    Location:
    .
    KeyPass was added to 'Other' and master password dialog has Alert Encrypting.
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Fire up passwordsafe, and while it's running open the hmpa GUI. Click on the blue box Exploit Mitigation, select running apps and you will see passwordsafe under Not protected. Then select the mitgation template(I'd try other) and you should be good to go.,

    Pete
     
  21. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,977
    Still susceptible...

    ScreenShot_HMP.A_v3.0.42_build190_14.gif
     
  22. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    Perhaps you've already stated this in an earlier message, but could you list all of the security programs you use? (actually it's really helpful when people make a list in their "sig"). Many of the issues we're seeing with HMPA are system specific, and I think must be due to interactions with other software.
     
  23. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    947
    Location:
    Canada
    I think your correct, you can run EAM with most other AV's.
     
  24. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    Netherlands
    HMP.alert 190 is running like a charm. All functions perform as i
    Build 190 is running like a charm. No issues, all functions perform as it should be.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2015
  25. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,334
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Yes, you are right, of course, and thanks for the suggestion.
    Coincidentally, that last night I was just considering adding such list.
    Done. See signature.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.