HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Ah. Sorry I can't help you with Chrome.
     
  2. brihy1

    brihy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    198
    Location:
    usa
    Ok thanks for the help
     
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    69,497
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    brihy1, you're welcome! Take care.
     
  4. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,284
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    It looks like it might be better just to uninstall and do a clean install of future updates to maybe avoid some problems.
     
  5. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    771
    This build seems to have solved the IE11 encrypted address bar text problem I was having.
    Running nicely with no apparent problems :thumb:
     
  6. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    FYI! Webroot is monitoring Alert, this could cripple it in some ways, for instance I do not see the key encryption working in the lower right corner.

    /E
     
  7. Baedric

    Baedric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    I agree and plan to do clean installs of HMP Alert RC's in the future.
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,008
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    :thumb: Upgraded over Build 141 without issue and Build 143 is running smoothly on my two machines. Nice! :cool:
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Same here. Looks good.
     
  10. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,284
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    This time i uninstalled 141 first before updating over it. Last time was scary when i updated over 140 and the next morning after boot i could not use my keyboard to enter my windows password. I don't know much about computers so i was lucky i could find my way around it. I should not be messing around with RC'S in the first place. 143 picked up my settings so easy to install and keep on going.
     
  11. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,089
    Location:
    USA
    Every time you update Alert you have to go into Webroot SecureAnywhere settings and "Allow" it again.
     
  12. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,087
    +1

    Also no similar problem in KeePass with this build (so far?).
     
  13. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,284
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I saw this was happening myself. You have to look at the GUI in WSA all the time to keep up with any changes it will make. This is not good for the people who don't look at the GUI anytime at all.
     
  14. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,089
    Location:
    USA
    I believe it's necessary with regard to HMPA RC because it's under rapid development and not white-listed yet by Webroot. It shouldn't be a problem with released products.
     
  15. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    Agreed! Stable releases should be fine and whitelisted rapidly by Webroot.
     
  16. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,979
    Test with hmpalert-test.exe v1.5.0.20

    HMPA v2.6.5.77 installed on XP/SP2 with No updates & FF v3.6.14 & Zemana v1.9.3.602

    With the above test.exe selected as the target,

    Calc was launched, but to be expected as i use it a lot.

    Webcam test launched the window, but failed as i have no WC. I expect Zemana would have interjected if i had.

    Keylogging was blocked by Zemana, & afterwards i had to use TaskManager to exit the test as it froze !

    All the other tests appeared to do Nothing !

    ***

    With FF selected as the target,

    Webcam test launched the window, but failed as i have no WC. I expect Zemana would have interjected if i had.

    Keylogging was blocked by Zemana, & afterwards i had to use TaskManager to exit the test as it froze !

    All the other tests appeared to do Nothing, apart from,

    hmpalert-test.exe was blocked from terminating c:\program files\mozilla firefox\firefox.exe by ProcessGuard. New instances of FF were launched by the test for each of the tests.

    *******

    Even though the above HMPA v is installed, on this v the flyout has never worked for me ? Subsequent updates including the latest hmpalert3b143.exe always result in my comp crashing & instantly restarting ! No logs are available as i use ShadowerDefender.
     
  17. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    416
    I know this, I just wanted to see if Webroot did react by itself, they say (Webrooters :) ) this should not take long, my experience says something else.
    Lets see what happens...

    /E
     
  18. guest

    guest Guest

    Afaik HMPA is only supported on Win XP SP3 and not on SP2.
    Furthermore, it's not the fault of HMPA that 'no logs are available' just because ShadowerDefender wipes all changes made to your OS.
     
  19. eplose

    eplose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    running on windows 7 along with malwarebytes and comodo IS. so far so good.
     
  20. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,303
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    @erikloman
    @markloman

    The HitmanPro.Alert page, http://www.surfright.nl/en/alert, still offers v 2.6.5.77, as expected.
    However, the CryptoGuard page that it links to, http://www.surfright.nl/en/cryptoguard, now offers 3.0.24.141 RC, so I noticed. I think that can be rather unexpected, as version 3 is only mentioned at the top of the page and in two of the screenshots but not at all in the text, and neither is mentioned that the current version 3 is still a release candidate and not the final stable version.

    Is it intentional to offer the 3.0.24.141 RC at the CryptoGuard page?
    If so, then I think it would be better to clearly mention it as the version 3 Release Candidate, to avoid confusion.
     
  21. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,003
    Location:
    .
    Does >> Sandboxie users must add \Device\NamedPipe\hmpalert to Full Access << apply to HMPAlert v3

    Does the path require wildcards eg: *\Device\NamedPipe\hmpalert\*
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2015
  22. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,284
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I thought that web page was very strange and confusing when i go there.
     
  23. guest

    guest Guest

    Afaik they're working on a new website.
     
  24. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Build 143 finally fixed keystroke encryption on my Windows 7 computer, thanks!
     
  25. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK
    This along with its sibling HitmanPro is another software that refuses your serial\key after a re-install, I really can't be bothered with software like this...I have a key\serial why should I have to contact customer services to get it authorised?.....I think I'll just stick to the developing Zemana equivalent and MBAE...No such problems using them after a re-install.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.