HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    771
    I have a problem using IE11 browser with Bld 124 RC. No matter if I use in Private Browsing or not what I enter in the address bar is encrypted by HMPA which obviously means the browser is unusable. Never had this happen with any of the previous builds. Chrome and Firefox are not affected and work normally. Apologies if this has already been raised and I have missed it.
    The screen shot is what I got typing in wilderssecurity.com!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. JohnMiller

    JohnMiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    48
    This does not happen for me, are you running any other programs or any other keystroke encryption. What color is the box around Ie for you or did you alter any settings? Does disabling keysroke encryption via the advanced menu fix it?
     
  3. JohnMiller

    JohnMiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    48
    Again. Like i already said, the browser extension is supported.
     
  4. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    How odd. This should not happen. It says it cannot read the file. Does it happen with every file or just that specific file?
     
  5. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    JohnMiller is correct, LastPass is a browser extension so it is protected.
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    As far as conflicts, I am running, EIS,Appguard,NVT ERP,SBIE and ShadowDefender with HMPA and no conflicts.
     
  7. JohnMiller

    JohnMiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    48
    Happens with every powerpoint file. Even after restarts etc. Did not happen with 120. I also opened it in safemode (office safemode not windows) and its the same issue.

    Anyone else having this issue?
     
  8. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    771
    Further to my post #3101 above
    Windows 7 SP1 x64 with EIS, Appguard & Sandboxie. Only Firefox runs under Sandboxie. I have been using this same set up for months without any problems at all along with HMP on demand (paid) and HMPA. I installed the November MS updates just over a week ago when I came back from 3 weeks holiday.
    I disabled exploit mitigations in HMPA and IE11 works as expected. However I noticed that I now have two instances of IE11 showing in the shields which I hadn't noticed before ((see screenies)
    When I opened IE11 this afternoon which was probably the first time I had opened it since installing the Nov MS updates EIS popped up to inform me that that IE had changed and did I want to set new rules for it - (yes).
    So, do I now have a new version of IE11 from the Nov MS updates which for some reason is not compatible with HMPA?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Aeolis

    Aeolis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Posts:
    60
    Hello folks,

    I would like to report the following problem in my system.

    System:

    - Windows 7 Ultimate x64 (fully updated);
    - CIS 8.0.0.4344 (Firewall enabled on Safe Mode, Auto-Sandbox Enabled, Viruscope enabled, HIPS disabled);
    - Emsisoft Anti-Malware 9.0.0.4668;
    - Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.4.1028; and
    - HitmanPro.Alert version 3.0.21 build 124 Release Candidate.

    Symptoms:

    I install can successfully install HitmanPro.Alert and use my system as usual it just after installation. But as soon as do the first reboot after installation I experience major slowdown on boot and after the system finally boot up I cannot use it at all. After boot up system is sluggish and it ends up at a major lock down. I always have to do a hard reboot and unistall HitmanPro.Alert using safe mode.

    I could not figure out which software or configuration on my system is causing the problem. I hope you can help me. If you need any addtional infomation just let me know.

    Best regards,

    Aeolis
     
  10. bberkey1

    bberkey1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    243
    Location:
    United States
    Ok fixed the issue with sandboxie, but my chrome browser still does not appear in the safe browsing category. It's in the EM, but not the green safe browsing, although my browser at this momnet has the green box and encrypting box activated, so may just be a bug. I doubt its the icon handled on this one, since the browser simply isn't recognized under the web browsers listing box
     
  11. JohnMiller

    JohnMiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    48
    I have had similar issues to this trying to get comodo to run with mbae and the stable releases of hmpa in the past.. it was a nightmare trying to figure out what was wrong. It always seemed that mbae was the culprit BUT the team from mbae has since fixed a lot of the incompatibilities with bit defender, comodo etc. You should give hmpa a shot with out mbae just for curiositys sake. I think they fixed the issue but maybe something weird is going on now with the 124 RC and everything combined.
     
  12. JohnMiller

    JohnMiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    48
    What version of chrome is it? Did you upgrade to the 64x beta?
     
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Aeolis

    I saw the same thing with 124, had to roll back to 120

    Pete
     
  14. zakazak

    zakazak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    529
    anyone ? :)
     
  15. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    578
    Location:
    Hengelo
    We've been investigating the numerous compatibility issues posted here on Wilders Security this weekend, and identified the culprit. In the meantime, I've removed the build 124 download link from the release post. Thanks all for reporting, keep an eye on this thread for the update!
     
  16. Baedric

    Baedric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    I have HMPA 3.0.21 build 124 and had it crash when resuming from sleep mode. I ended up having to restart to get it to run. It would not start from the .exe. I had not seen this reported before so I thought I would mention it.
     
  17. bberkey1

    bberkey1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    243
    Location:
    United States
    39.0.2171.95 m (64-bit)

    But I am also using the same version in my virtual machine, which I have the RC, but chrome appears within the browsers list on the VM so not sure if the version of chrome is the problem given it works for one, but not the other.
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    If you are using HMPA Build 124, go back to Build 120

    Pete
     
  19. JohnMiller

    JohnMiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    48
    My reasoning was that they were probably not working with the beta version of chrome compatibility wise so there may be some new features in chrome that ate not compatible. But then again if it works and one and not the other. Have you tried reverting to defaults in the chome mitigations or removing them completely and re-adding them as a browser?
     
  20. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    The default interface is for average users where the GUI is just a scan button and all settings are in default mode (new apps are automatically added).
    For experiences users (and IT Pro's) you can switch to the Advanced mode where you can add custom apps and fine tune changes per app.
    So for both types of users there is an interface.

    Where do you see room for improvement?
     
  21. AlertBetaTester

    AlertBetaTester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    Hi Erik, I want to vote in favor of the HMPA v3 User Interface - I think it is excellent! I also appreciate the "average users" GUI option and then when I want to dig deeper, can simply switch to the Advanced mode interface. Just so you know, I have over 35 years in the business including experience as a software designer, engineer, and professional in systems engineering and IT, so I believe my vote is an informed vote, and not a novice opinion. Hope this helps. Cheers
     
  22. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    578
    Location:
    Hengelo
    HitmanPro.Alert version 3.0.21 build 125 Release Candidate

    Changes
    • Improved compatibility with third-party security software.
    • Improved performance of protected applications.
    Build 124 changes:
    • Added compression of the resource section to optimize the binary, reducing the file size over 30%.
    • Improved process startup performance.
    • Improved Import Address Table Filtering (IAF) mitigation.
    • Fixed issue with Application Lockdown that prevented some applications from installing updates.
    • Fixed sudden loss of keyboard encryption that could occur when the computer wakes from sleep.
    • Fixed drawing of the notification and keystroke encryption indicator in Internet Explorer 11.
    • Fixed a problem when opening Office documents from the Windows Command Prompt.
    • Fixed a problem that manifested when opening the multiplayer version of Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare.
    Download


    Let us know how this version runs on your machine.
    If you were running build 124, you will be automatically updated to build 125.
    Users running build 120 will be updated at a later moment.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2014
  23. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,161
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    Can any one tell me what is meant by safe browsing in HMPA?

    Thanks
     
  24. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    982
    Updated build 124 to build 125, this time without a problem. Updated via BIJWERKEN.

    Just hmpalert.exe in map HitmanPro.Alert after update.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. zakazak

    zakazak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    529
    Just download and install over build 116?

    Also:
    Could you list all directories and files that HitmanProAlert is using / running? Just so I can add it as exclusion to ESET and MBAM :)

    BTw, could it be that HMPA slows down the boot time? After entering my password at log on of windows 8.1 it seems to load way longer than usaually. Not a big problem for me as I mostly use "Sleep" but I wanted to report/ask this.

    Thanks
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.