HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,960
    I see with this release of HMPA, there is a new feature "BadUSB Protection".

    A short time ago I inserted a USB stick in the tower, and got this alert. So, I removed it.

    ScreenShot_Hmp.A_3.0.20 build 120_install_22.gif

    When I reinserted the second time, it accepted, with the following popups from other monitoring software running on the system. So, I guess it was just a hiccup, initially.

    ScreenShot_Hmp.A_3.0.20 build 120_install_23.gif
     
  2. JohnMiller

    JohnMiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    48
    I cannot remember if erik said HMPA was compatible with MWBAE but that is likely the issue if it is not. I have had that happen a ton with crome and FF and MWBAE and other virus products.
     
  3. JohnMiller

    JohnMiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    48
    Its there u just have to move the mouse a bit. And click the little icon bottom right
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,910
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thanks John. I suspect your are right. What to do if you want free mitigations plus the features of HMP.A.? That is a rhetorical question. No, I'm not interested in EMET. Been down that road already.
     
  5. JohnMiller

    JohnMiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    48
    Well if i recall HMPA has most of the features as mwbae. The issue I have with MWBAE is it seems to be incompatible with any other program that injects dll;s into the browser. Could not get it to work with bit defender or OA.

    @erikloman Does the cryptogaurd learn persay? It now does not detect and block eraser as it used to. I have not done anything to change it or whitelist since it was blocking it.
     
  6. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    This has been fixed with MBAE 1.05.
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,910
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    There is no vulnerability mitigations in the free version of HMP.A.
     
  8. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,031
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    About the green boarder:
    I'm happy that the notification icon is now in the lower right corner, where it doesn't conflict with new browser tabs.

    I'm not happy with the german translation.
    There is no such thing, like "Tastaturschlag Verschlüsselung" in german language.
    The correct term would be: Tastatureingabenverschlüsselung"
    But that would be to bulky, so I suggest: Tastatur-Verschlüsselung.
     
  9. TS4H

    TS4H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    523
    Location:
    Australia
    @erikloman Nice job on this RC btw.

    May i make a suggestion?

    Currently when i type the green border appears as shown. If i immediately after wish to use the down arrow on any application scroll bar, the HMPA little green box is in the way preventing me to use the scroll arrow. I would like to see this green box and its orange notification floating window movable to any location set by the user, as well as to disable the green border, but show the mentioned floating window.

    Regards.

    HMPA location 3.png HMPA location 2.png HMPA location.PNG
     
  10. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,
    I am still using EWS as my default scan in HMP and I am still seeing HMP.A ignoring that setting and doing a normal scan. Do you plan to address this before HMP.A goes final? Thanks in advance for your reply...
     
  11. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    What would be the recommended template for instant messengers?
     
  12. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    I reckon you got a message from Alert first?
     
  13. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    'Other' is a good template for chat applications as the Other template also provides keystroke encryption. Skype, for instance, is automatically added to Other.

    Though you could add your own template; checkout the registry :thumb:
     
  14. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,960
    I saw nothing from Alert.
     
  15. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Ah of course not. Because you inserted a flash drive. Alert only warns when you insert an USB device with keyboard functionality.
     
  16. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,960
    Got it! I did read that article on Wired that you referenced, and I understood that any USB device could be affected by malware.
     
  17. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Yes but the issue you had could not be related to Alert as your stick isnt posing as a keyboard. The message you got is normal Windows behavior as I also have flash drives that do not work upon first insert. It varies.
     
  18. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,059
    Installed the RC yesterday.

    It does not warn me when I insert a Yubikey (which is a legitimate USB device with keyboard functionality). Is that correct?
     
  19. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    578
    Location:
    Hengelo
    Alert will whitelist every USB device with keyboard functionality during install. Was the Yubikey connected to your computer during install? If yes, Alert will not warn you about it as you've been using the Yubikey before and you've kept using it because it works as expected.
     
  20. WSFfan

    WSFfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    The Earth
    HMPA did alert me when i inserted my YubiKey NEO.Once i allowed the YubiKey in HMPA,it didn't prompt again :)
     
  21. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,059
    Not sure, it was either in my PC or my Mac at that time (probably the PC).
     
  22. JohnMiller

    JohnMiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    48
    The yubikey whitelist worked for me! It showed up once then was all set after.

    @ZeroVulnLabs Nice to know the compatibility issues were fixed, was a huge headache for a week trying to figure out what was going on then i was trying to beef up my security.

    @Hiltihome The devs might be looking for people to help with translations. I imagine they would welcome your help

    @erikloman Any idea why eraser is all of a sudden not blocked by cryptogaurd like it was a few days ago? Just want to make sure everything is working properly.
     
  23. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    I though my install of hmpalert broke sandboxie. So, maybe my attempt to run sandbox'd after hmpalert install broke SBoxie.
    Not sure I understand....does the protocol to add Full Access prevent breaking SBoxie on Vista 32 OR is Vista 32 not compatible even with NamedPipe. v3 has verbiage not compatible with Sandboxie + Vista. If v3 is not how would v2.65 be compatible with Vista + SBoxie
     
  24. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    982
    From pdf Release notes build 120:

    Remarks and known issues
    - HitmanPro.Alert 3 is not compatible with Sandboxie on Windows Vista.

    HmP.Alert v2.6.5.77 is compatible.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2014
  25. Baedric

    Baedric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    Is Hitman Pro Alert supposed to protect your calculator? I thought it prompted once yesterday when I was using my calculator, but today it no longer shows protection.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.