HIPS with Outbound Protection

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by firzen771, Dec 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    can somebody name the HIPS that include outbound network control?
     
  2. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
  3. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    tried that, didnt really like it, but could u or anyone else name all the possible choices for this?
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    SSM is another.

    iirc, Prosecurity has it too. But I may be wrong.
     
  5. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Yes, what WSF said.
     
  6. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
  7. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ive tried prosecurity, it is very good, but just didnt like it, i could try SSM, but i heard that its very noisy
     
  8. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Paris
    Try the new version of ProSecurity(1.4). After the first day of use it hasn't made a peep unless I run malware tests.
     
  9. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  10. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Yup prosecurity free and paid has network control. You can also try online armor, its a firewall and hips combined. You can easily disable the firewall component if you don't need it.
     
  11. solcroft

    solcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,639
    SSM is one of the more user-friendly "dumb" HIPS on the market right now.

    Granted, it will generate a certain level of noise, given that it IS a "dumb" HIPS, but if you can live with ProSec, you'll do just fine with SSM.
     
  12. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Also you can use SSM's learning mode for a few days then turn it off. Afterwards, you shouldnt get so many popups.
     
  13. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    im using online armor free edition- it has outbound network control of applications (dns api control)
     
  14. Vikorr

    Vikorr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    662
    Prevx has outbound protection
     
  15. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    DSA and Threatfire with advanced rule (TF currently only has the option of Allow or Quarantine.)
     
  16. ggf31416

    ggf31416 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    314
    Location:
    Uruguay
    Comodo 3 is more a HIPS with firewall than a firewall with HIPS.
     
  17. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    heres the products ive tried so far:

    - Comodo 3 (currently using)
    - Prosecurity
    - Online Armor
    - Ghost Security Suite
    - Threatfire (liked it, but less control, and couldnt get any network control)
    - SSM
    - Prevx Free (this vers. doesnt even run realtime so that wouldnt work)


    products that i mite try so far, will add more as i learn about more:

    - DSA (dont know much about it)
     
  18. LUSHER

    LUSHER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Posts:
    440
    Despite the wide scope of Comodo's Defense+ module, I disagree.

    A HIPS with firewall is stuff like SSM, ProSecurity where firewall functions are just one of several functions, and nobody ever turns off everything and keeps the firewall functions but rather the reverse happens.

    For COmodo 3, there are lots of people who keep the firewall but turn HIPS off.... This makes the firewall part at least an equal partner if not senior partner..
     
  19. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    OA's outbound control is performed by its firewall module. As far as I know, OA's HIPS does NOT perform outbound control.

    Ergo, if you deactivate OA's firewall, your outbound control wil disappear. Notice the topic title -- it says "HIPS with Outbopund Protection", not firewalls. Therefore, OA doesn't fit the topic.
     
  20. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    I don't use online armor's firewall, I use it for it's h.i.p.s. I've invested too much time in agnitum to make a firewall change.

    Note the second option from bottom on the permissions section, "use dns api".
    I would think this is a base level form of application outbound network control.
    When I disabled agnitum and set avira's updater to ask when using dns api in online armor, I got the following prompt:


    [​IMG]



    Im no wizard, but this seems a form of outbound network control- and quite sturdy. Thoughts?
     
  21. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    in my list did i miss any other HIPS with outbound protection?
     
  22. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Neoava Guard beta v 3
     
  23. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    i read on the site that developement has been stopped for now, so id pass on that till developement starts again
     
  24. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Correct!
     
  25. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, but this doesn´t mean that it doesn´t offer good protection, to my surprise, the outbound protection was even better than in ZAP v6, NG could stop certain leaktests, while ZAP could not.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.