Hints on using Online Armor FW-a Learning Thread 4

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Escalader, Oct 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hello:

    FYI, I just downloaded and installed the firewall program that came with
    Online Armor V 2.1.0.11 which is the paid version.

    So what we post here may or may not apply to OA Free.

    Stem suggested (off line) that I might like this FW as it has black list features among others. This thread will explore the use of this FW, and along the way hopefully we can share some tricks to optimize the usage of the HIPS features.

    IMHO, this product is a suite, so that alone is a departure for me. But I have an open mind on this point.

    AS before a learning thread is not offer a chance to "knock" OA. Far from it.

    Support for OA is in the usual OA forum etc.

    I also post questions there under the same id as here and will link to threads and posts there to avoid duplicate keying work.

    I have had this installed for about 1 hour, so I have many questions and much work to do.

    You need to turn on the advanced features to work these screens.

    One screen I wanted to show dealing with MY acceptable counties. Your list will be different. Your own home country would be allowed plus any where your software gets updated. Please don't get mad at me if your country isn't on my list. Everybody builds their own. If you don't believe in restricting countries that's fine you just don't use that feature.

    I added 1 country for NOD 32 to get it to update.

    The other screen is dealing with the program white list where they are allowed or not. I have some questions pending over at OA about how to tweak the entires. At the moment I can't seem to get the ask feature to work. The block setting does work. I tested it.

    What can you tell us about how to use the FW?
    What are your questions and answers? on the HIPS and or FW?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    About the "ask" feature for CCleaner, have you tried accessing the check for updates feature in CC to see if internet access is restricted?
     
  3. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Thanks, just looked at that for you and it updated fine, no updates needed.

    All I was trying out was if I could tweak the program settings so it asked me if it could run. I really don't distrust it just learning out how to tweak the white list.

    See attached jpgs one on CCleaner the other on keyloggers. Over at OA I told them I crashed CCleaner with my ask settings so I may still have a UI brain gap to overcome. ( no surprise there)

    I was able to run it in safer mode.

    It would be good if you could try to covert CCleaner back to ask mode from trust mode maybe you will succeed.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hi Monty and other interested parties.

    Been over at OA forum:

    see this thread

    http://support.tallemu.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=14792#14792

    Tommorow I will try another test over there.
     
  5. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    I seen your post over at OA, and decided to let you be the guinea lol and wait to see if you got it worked out. I had set a couple of processes to untrusted and was going to open them to see the result, but not now!!! I'll wait for the help files, thanx for the heads up!!!
     
  6. Lundholm

    Lundholm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Old Zealand
    Exactly! What's the point in testing an incomplete product, which doesn't even have a help file?

    And what's the point in not including the free version which should be very interesting for newbies and Moms? :)

    Cheers
     
  7. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hi Lundholm:

    I don't know the answer! In my case, I have the product now and want to know how to use it help file or not.

    The 1st post merely meant that I can't say if the paid=free. Only Mike Nash could do that. If you are using free post anyway, I will test what you post in the paid as time permits. More learning.
     
  8. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hi Monty:

    OKay, I rebooted as usual today.

    Attached are 2 screens showing OA's HIPS program "ask" settings on CCleaner (CC) (it is my guinea:D )

    Observations:

    The ask "took" over night between boots.
    CC ran fine
    CC DIDN'T ASK ME ZIP BEFORE EXECUTING.:'(


    Conclusions are not available from me anyway:doubt:

    Action: I will post a link to this post over at OA support forum.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Lundholm

    Lundholm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Old Zealand
    Hi Escalader, I admire your courage, and your situation is very realistic, because most people just use software without reading the help file. ;) That's why we see so many forum posts.

    That would be nice, but I wouldn't touch a security product (free or paid) without a user guide or help file. I'm still waiting for Mike to release something. I guess this thread is the closest thing to an OA guide, so I will watch carefully! :cool:

    Cheers
     
  10. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Not sure but shouldn't "run safer" be checkedo_O It 's the only difference for the apps. that I have blocked...
     
  11. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    That's what makes it so exciting...damn the odds...engage!!! :eek: :blink: o_O
     
  12. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Thanks, it is my destiny to go where know man has gone before, or if you prefer fools rush in where angels fear to tread source of these homilies is unknown:D

    I'm not going to even indirectly critique OA that is not my plan. But I will report results of tests.

    The best this thread can do IMHO is contribute to the OA product and the work they are doing on the guide.

    Anyway here are the results of my latest tests for all to gasp and wonder:D

    1) Tried to work with setting Notebook to ask permission to run following Mike's 3 step guide. Bad choice as I can't find it in the program lists either start or programs. It is no doubt built in to windows so it can't be controlled directly in OA as it stands. Again I don't care about Notebook control it was just a potential test exe.

    2) Undaunted, and moving forward in the face of defeat, I decided to try Mike's 3 steps on free cell and on window washer.


    Good news!

    Following this 3 step procedure AND adding my own 4th rule OF NOT CLICKING REMEMBER DECISION , I was given 2 pop up (attached) warnings for those 2 programs.

    Observations on effectiveness of the 4 steps on :

    CCleaner they don't work
    FreeCell they do work
    WindowWasher they do work

    Conclusions: none from me
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041

    OA is complete, but it is evolving. Same as NOD, Kaspersky, and any other software discussed here. Do any of them have perfect help files, don't know, but doubt it. Unforunately, the better programs are by smaller outfits, and they devote the time to the product, and the help files are kind of the last thing. Not unique to the OA.

    Also in the better software I've played with I've found if I couldn't figure it out, the help file didn't help. Solution is often send feed back to the developer to help make program better.

    Now I know the response will be. I shouldn't have to do that, I am paying for the program and it should be right with proper documentation. Couple of real world problems with that. First in the arena of software discussed here at Wilders, to take that approach would cost developers money. Could raise the price of software and probably eliminate many free versions.

    Also really isn't real world anywhere. Look at the complaints here about Acronis Enterprise and it's documentation. And thats almost unfair. I've got some highend business type software, and a couple of times I had question, not found them in the doc's, and paid for support ask them only to get wrong answers.

    What you do have with the likes of OA (and other software here) is the ability to have rapid access to the developer, to get help, get fixes, whatever you need.

    Pete
     
  14. Mapson

    Mapson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    54
    I've been using the paid version of Online Armour v2 since release, while it has a few quirks, it's certainly one of the best all round security products.

    One of the features I use the most is the Firewall 'Blacklist'.

    I update the blacklist daily using BlockListManager (third party software) and include:

    AD Trackers
    Bogon Ranges
    Dshield Ranges
    HiJacked IP Ranges
    Spyware Ranges
    Trojan and PortScan ranges

    The blacklist can be exported automatically by BlockListManager; I use the 'SafePeer' export option as this can be imported into Online Armour directly.
     
  15. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Help files are actually very difficult to produce. I know. It needs a user of the software with the "thinking" of a new user but the "knowledge" of an advanced user. It is only too easy to make an help file and leave a simple step out.
    I know "Mike" spends many hours (more than he should) making replies to forums in replies to questions/support.
     
  16. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    OA's forum is quite small but the quick response to even the simplest of questions is amazing. "Bugs" are few but they get immediate attention. Quite impressive to have a learning thread on this app. too. Thanks Escalader!!!
     
  17. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hi Monty:

    Thanks for your kinds words. Yes the learning threads notion tends to put things on a " higher plane" avoiding a lot of my Hips/fw etc is better than yours type posts. We really are in a different one here since I'm only a few days into it I'm going to learn a lot and make some errors in public again.
    But that's okay.

    I'm hoping someone can validate my CCleaner experience since that is the only exe I tried that "coughed up" a C++ error. I have a hunch only that 3rd party programs in C++ may all do that in OA. o_O :doubt: If there is another one in C++ we could try it but I just stumbled on to it!

    Go ahead and try your CCleaner if you have it, you can always delete it later it is safe to do even when the error pops up, you just exit the program.
     
  18. Lundholm

    Lundholm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Old Zealand
    Hi Stem,
    This is true. I think that Mike could have written 2 user guides in the time he's spent on the forums. Forums are better than 1-2-1 support, because more people can learn from it. User manuals are even better, because you can read about a subject in the right context. A forum thread is (as you know) mostly a mix of irrelevant information ;) , which makes it almost impossible to extract useful information.

    There is some heavy competition in the firewall market - good free firewalls with good documentation. If OA is the world's best firewall, then it would be a shame if nobody can read about it.

    I appreciate the efforts you guys (and Mike) are making, and I'm sure that something very good will come out of it. Maybe you should write the manual, as you go along? :cool: .

    Cheers.
     
  19. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hi Fellow learners:

    I'm back from shopping and couldn't resist having a peek at the thread.

    I'm setting aside the HIPS side of OA for now as we have bugged Mike Nash with posts enough (IMHO) on the white list override and tweaking issues both here and there at OA forum.

    Now, I'm going to really have some learning fun and open up the OA Paid FW features and settings and options. The Goal is to see what these do right now in this version of the software. I will display my own settings and MAKE NO CLAIM THEY ARE RIGHT OR WHAT OA intended. My hope is that Mike and Stem will post in from time to time and others who are more familiar with OA FW than I am. So once again I'll take the risk of being exposed as being imperfect as a wantabee geek:D

    Here come my 1st FW jpgs in the order I set them in setting up the product.
    Not sure my order was correct, but again it's what I did.

    Have a look at these please compare with your own if different, say why if you know. If not we wait for Mike or Stem to help us. That's the way I work or you get blown like the wind all over your settings. :D
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    and more here
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    last one for now, these are the rules we are interested in.

    If you click on the buttons at the bottom which are nearly covered over in the fixed window you can edit them add a new rule of your own and bind it to an application/exe or delete the rule completely.

    Having just worked 80= rules in Kerio I note that only 2 protocols are dealt with in this rule side of OA. If memory serves, there more protocols? Stem? Mike?

    In Kerio the order of the rules mattered, Here :doubt:

    In Kerio any connection not allowed by rules were blocked. Here:doubt:

    That should keep people busy til Monday:cool:
     

    Attached Files:

  22. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    There is a help file in the product which covers most things. I've uploaded it to http://dl1.online-armor.com/downloads/oa_ena.chm

    It is incomplete, but it does cover a lot of the basics.


    Mike

    (PS. Why do I get my name in quotes "Mike" spends many hours... )
     
  23. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Not covered here.

    Gerard
     

    Attached Files:

    • oa.gif
      oa.gif
      File size:
      10.5 KB
      Views:
      7,976
  24. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    Escalader,
    Thanks for starting this thread. I've been reading this forum for awhile and following the adventures of OA2.
    I use XP Pro with SP2. I'm behind a D-Link 655N router and use Network Magic(mostly for it's ability to fix my pc's connection problems when they arise).
    I use Avira Personal Premium AV and am trialing OA2 paid version.
    In #19 you showed that we could, if we wanted, change the defaults to a tighter security.
    I did the same as you for the ICMP. Didn't change anything else.
    And kept getting disconnected from my cable provider.
    When I returned ICMP to the default state my problems went away.
    Which of course is why I have Network Magic. To save me from me.
    I'm a novice and I'm wondering if I did something wrong.
    Thanks.
     
  25. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Some cable companies apparently need to receive icmp responses from you. FWIW, I don't thing there is anything wrong with your server being able to be pinged. "Stealth" is basically a marketing thing - the only reason it's in OA at all is because people want it.

    As you describe yourself as a novice, I would recommend that you use OA's firewall in standard mode and let it take care of you.


    Mike
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Overkill
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    726
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.