Higher Efficiency and Windows update

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Piecan, Feb 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Piecan

    Piecan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Essex UK
    Hi
    I've just done a scan on windows update and found there were 10 updates from yesterday needed, for some reason they hadn't updated automatically despite it being set to do so. I'm using NOD 2.12.3 version and found with the Higher efficiency mode it was scanning as it was trying to update and was taking forever. Does anyone know which programs in IMON that windows uses for updates so I can set it for higher compatibility, as I just had to guess and set a load of them in order for it to work. Thanks!
     
  2. Piecan

    Piecan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Essex UK
    I'm still having this problem :'(

    I altered Mozilla/4.0 to higher compatibility but Windows update still won't work automatically unless I change all the settings to higher compatibility. Isn't anyone else having this problem?
     
  3. aagfr

    aagfr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    This is the way I have IMON compatibility set up for Windows update in WinXP. (Be sure to use IE or, easier still, Start>Help/Support>Pick a Task>Update.)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Piecan

    Piecan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Essex UK
    Thanks very much aagfr. Have now changed those settings. Do you know if Microsoft WU client/2.0 is anything to do with it too? Thanks.
     
  5. aagfr

    aagfr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    I have Microsoft WU client/2.0 set to higher efficiency, and I am able to update without any problems.
     
  6. Piecan

    Piecan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Essex UK
    Thanks for your help, hopefully next time it will update automatically. :)
     
  7. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    Sorry, but HELPCTR.EXE and IEXPLORE.EXE have nothing to do with "Automatic Updates".

    The program that actually downloads the Windows updates, and the one you want to set to "Higher Compatibility", is SVCHOST.EXE. I would recommend setting all instances of SVCHOST.EXE to "Higher Compatibility".
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    There are two ways how updates are retrieved from Windows Update, one of them is actually via IEXPLORE.EXE
     
  9. Piecan

    Piecan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Essex UK
    The Eset help guy said to set iexplore to higher compatibility and that didn't work. Microsoft have said to look for program wupdmgr32.exe, which I can't find anywhere listed. Under Windows Update I do have ccPxySvc.exe, helpctr.exe and iexplore.exe. I don't see a SVCHOSTE.EXE against windows update (or is that what ccPxySvc means?) but there is that against other programs.

    I didn't think it would cause too much of a problem, but I missed an update recently because it isn't updating automatically and after changing everything to higher compatibility and it updating, it then kept trying to update the same update half a dozen more times...maybe a backlog of attempts! So will be happy to get this sorted.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Have you tried downloading a FRESH copy of Nod32 from www.nod32.com

    Uninstalling your current version.

    Removing the Eset Folder from C Drive> Program Files.

    Installing the FRESH copy of Nod32 that you downloaded above.

    Cheers :D
     
  11. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    Of course, Insecure Explorer is used if you visit Windows Update; but it seemed he was asking about the "Automatic Updates" service, and that's SVCHOST.EXE.
     
  12. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    Just set all instances of SVCHOST.EXE to "Higher Compatibility".
     
  13. Piecan

    Piecan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Essex UK
    Thanks Nameless. You're right I'm concerned about automatic update and am using Firefox anyway so IE shouldn't affect it. I'll do as you suggest, but excuse my ignorance but is ccpxysvc.exe the same as SVCHOST? If it is I'll change them too.

    Thanks Blackspear - Only thing I've changed recently is putting in new username and password when I renewed my license - that wouldn't affect it would it? I did as you suggested recently to try to get rid of my problem with Internet Explorer shutting down. I think a Windows Update fixed that in the end (now using Firefox anyway). If there's a new Nod version coming out soon I may as well wait to download that.

    I wonder if things would be easier if I got rid of Norton firewall for another, I'm currently studying other ones.

    Piecan - bird - honoured to be considered a bloke!
     
  14. Mikkel

    Mikkel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Posts:
    35

    It sure will But be warned , Symatec products are harder to remove then virus imo :) :ninja:
     
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Not at all.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.