high explorer.exe memory usage

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by wutsup, May 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    whats up wilders, my 64 bit vista gaming pc is clean of malware, but i noticed in task manager that explorer.exe is using aroun 100mb of ram. is this normal?
     
  2. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
  3. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    Attached is a snapshot pic of explorer stats for my system when no explorer windows are open (WinXP/SP3 - see sig for details).
     

    Attached Files:

  4. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  5. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    also updating while it lasts (WU) can cause an increase. Use Sysinternals Process Explorer to better see what is running
     
  6. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    PE - goes without saying ....
     
  7. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    i rebooted and its back to normal usage lol
     
  8. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Rather generic - "normal" suggesting what? Pray tell - whaddaya got for the boys'an girls @ home?
     
  9. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    lol because i dont reallly know why the mem usage was so high. maybe it was because i was gaming all day.

    but why did you say "whaddaya got for the boys'an girls @ home?" not sure what that means lol
     
  10. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Well, I'm suggesting you PE HAMMER explorer the next time things don't seem right - got me lol?
     
  11. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    wth is PE hammer?
     
  12. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Please guys:

    Could we please try to avoid too much "American slang"?

    There are other native speakers around here ;) ;)
     
  13. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Well then (gag) - by all means I better let "them" address the OP ...
     
  14. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    i just want to know what PE hammer is? is it difficult to tell me what it is?
     
  15. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Not @ all. Means .... tap Process Explorer to uncover where your cycles are being consumed.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.