high explorer.exe memory usage

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by wutsup, May 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    634
    Location:
    United States
    whats up wilders, my 64 bit vista gaming pc is clean of malware, but i noticed in task manager that explorer.exe is using aroun 100mb of ram. is this normal?
     
  2. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    965
  3. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    Attached is a snapshot pic of explorer stats for my system when no explorer windows are open (WinXP/SP3 - see sig for details).
     

    Attached Files:

  4. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  5. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    also updating while it lasts (WU) can cause an increase. Use Sysinternals Process Explorer to better see what is running
     
  6. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    PE - goes without saying ....
     
  7. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    634
    Location:
    United States
    i rebooted and its back to normal usage lol
     
  8. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Rather generic - "normal" suggesting what? Pray tell - whaddaya got for the boys'an girls @ home?
     
  9. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    634
    Location:
    United States
    lol because i dont reallly know why the mem usage was so high. maybe it was because i was gaming all day.

    but why did you say "whaddaya got for the boys'an girls @ home?" not sure what that means lol
     
  10. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Well, I'm suggesting you PE HAMMER explorer the next time things don't seem right - got me lol?
     
  11. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    634
    Location:
    United States
    wth is PE hammer?
     
  12. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,115
    Please guys:

    Could we please try to avoid too much "American slang"?

    There are other native speakers around here ;) ;)
     
  13. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Well then (gag) - by all means I better let "them" address the OP ...
     
  14. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    634
    Location:
    United States
    i just want to know what PE hammer is? is it difficult to tell me what it is?
     
  15. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Not @ all. Means .... tap Process Explorer to uncover where your cycles are being consumed.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.