High CPU usage?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by aigle, Feb 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I wonder how much should be the CPU usage of notebook if you are not doing any task. I have insttaled many security appliances on my PC and now my notebookk is a bit sluggish. Just i saw mu cpu usage graphs and there are many spikes of 100% CPU usage. I want to know is this normal. I am using following real time security scanners, and other application

    Norton internet security
    Antihook
    Winpatrol free
    Prevx R1
    Ms antispyware
    ShadowUser trial
    DU Traffic( a dial upmonitor)

    I am just wondering if my CPU and memory usage is high. CPU graph is taken when notebook was idle with dial up internet connection working.
     

    Attached Files:

    • cpu2.JPG
      cpu2.JPG
      File size:
      48.1 KB
      Views:
      1,713
  2. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    And this is Memory usage chart, taken with firefox open( 5 tabs) but no active browsing.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 111.JPG
      111.JPG
      File size:
      95 KB
      Views:
      1,716
  3. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,876
    Location:
    New England
    On that same screen, can you sort it by CPU (descending) to see what process is doing the spiking? The first image shows that the spiking is very consistent, i.e. the same amount of time between spikes. I believe WinPatrol wakes up consistent (maybe every 10 seconds or so?) and scans the system, so that could be part of it.
     
  4. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,876
    Location:
    New England
    Also, on the Processes screen, use the 'View' menu > 'Select Columns...' > and tick the 'CPU Time' box. That will add a total CPU time column to the processes page.
     
  5. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,
    It does look a bit ... strange.
    Of all programs you have listed, I tried and ran all except Norton.
    None of these caused such drastic spikes. Maybe you could disconnect from the internet and try disabling these one by one to see which one does the spikes?
    Mrk
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Most likely culprits according to CPU usage were

    MS antispware -- 20 % CPU usage spike
    Ewido guard ----- 09 %
    ShadowUser ----- 02 %
    Yahoo widgets --- 02 %
    WinPatrol free ---- 02%
    I will not mention exlorer.exe(3 %) as it is a system process.

    This is graph after turning off MS antispyware.
    ( All data taken with dial up disconnected.)
     

    Attached Files:

    • 8.JPG
      8.JPG
      File size:
      57.6 KB
      Views:
      1,696
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    And one more graph taken after turning off MSAS, Ewido guard, and ShadowUser.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 7.JPG
      7.JPG
      File size:
      56.5 KB
      Views:
      1,700
  8. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    you can click on the column name and it will put everything in order for you. so if you click the CPU column (sometimes you have to click twice for it to show at the top of the column) you will see the process go to the top of the column as it uses the CPU.
     
  9. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have had MS antispyware installed five times and everytime I do I start getting the spikes right after the installation and when I deleted MSAS the spikes quit.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.