High CPU Usage during smart scan

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by yongsua, Feb 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yongsua

    yongsua Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Hi,I am Sua from Malaysia,I just want to know why my EAV smart scan use up to 90%+?
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Does it stay at 90% and the scan freezes? If not, it should go down unless certain files require in-depth analysis by Advanced heuristics.
     
  3. yongsua

    yongsua Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Sorry,I do not finish my scan and I just stop it once the CPU usage is very high.I will try again and update you.Thanks.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I, for one, scan crucial system folders after each update in addition to startup scans but have no problems on a 2-core CPU. Sometimes I also run additional scans with ecls concurrently when I don't need the CPU much for other applications. Normal users can rely on startup scans, there's no need to scan whole drives over and over on a frequent basis.
     
  5. yongsua

    yongsua Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Just now i have already did another smart scan and it seemed that it only took high CPU usage to scan some files or directories but also it did not freeze during the scan.So it is ok for me now.Last question,may you teach me how to scan crucial system folders after each update in addition to startup scans and run additional scans with ecls concurrently?Thanks and Regard.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.