hidden partition -removing

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by savagcl, Feb 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    I only do full backups of drive "C" so i dont have any use for
    this partition. All my backups are on external drives.

    Will the F11 key shown at boot up time still function as it
    does now with this partition gone?

    thank you,
    savagcl
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Yes, as far as I know, but there is a possibility that your system won't boot after the partition is removed.

    Windows know which partition it boots from by number, not letter. In Windows XP, this is stored in the boot.ini file (a hidden file in C:\). If the hidden partition is number 1 and C: is number 2, then deleting 1 will cause a problem for Windows since it is now on partition 1.

    If the hidden partition comes after the Windows boot partition, then there won't be a problem.

    You can simply edit boot.ini with Notepad (don't use anything else because you don't want Word processor characters inseted) to correct the partion number.

    Test F11, and if it doesn't work, disable it in True Image and then re-enable it.
     
  3. nb47

    nb47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    183



    if it's the 'restore partition , I'd leave it on there so you can go back to that 'state (day you brought computer)' If you ever give it to someone-it shouldn't take up that much space on your ahrd drive.
     
  4. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    Let me restate the problem -

    Vista home edition 32/64 bit, SP1

    When acronis is installed, it will create a hidden partition
    for whatever use I dont know.

    Vista has a limit of 3 primary partitions then it will create
    an "Extended" partition which can be sub-divided into logical
    partitions.

    I have a huge amount of unallocated space but it is before
    the hidden partition (I think vista is looking for space to
    create an extended partition at the end of existing
    partitions). Since this hidden partition is at the end of the
    HD, vista dont find space to create an extended partition
    and it tells me so.

    My disk layout is: C, D, Unallocated, Hidden (3 partitions
    + 1 hidden).

    Note:My OEM "restore" partition is long gone but I have
    CD's to restore from if needed.

    I highly suspect this Hidden partition is from the Acronis install and dont know what its used for.
    So the question - If i remove (delete) this Hidden partition,
    Will the F11 key still be available during boot time if i
    ever have to restore using Acronis?

    I do have the bootable (CD) from Acronis that will work
    if ever needed.

    Thanks for all the replies,
    savagcl
     
  5. Vlad V

    Vlad V Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    61
    Hi savagcl,

    I think that you used One-click protection that automatically creates a Secure Zone if there is only a single hard disk in the computer with enough free space, then saves a system volume backup in the zone. You can check whether your hidden partition is indeed the Secure Zone on the Protection State screen. If this is so, and you do not need the zone, remove it using the Manage Acronis Secure Zone.... link. After removing the zone the F11 option will disappear, but since you have a rescue CD, I suppose this should not worry you.

    Vlad
     
  6. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    Vlad V,

    Thanks for the info. Thats what I was looking for.
    To bad about the F11 key. It does simplify restores but at
    the cost of the hidden partition.

    I suppose I could delete the hidden partition, arrange my
    other partitions how I need them, then re-install Acronis.

    If i may beg another question - Can Acronis be installed
    over its self with no problems?

    Does Acronis still have that long complicated un-install
    procedure (I would hope that it has been made easier).

    Thanks Again, Vlad V,
    savagck
     
  7. Vlad V

    Vlad V Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    61
    savagcl,

    Removing the hidden partition from within the program will not harm TI. Then you can use the unallocated space for creating a new partition. If you leave your C: partition as it is now, I don't think that you need to re-install TI. In any case, re-installing the same build over itself should not lead to any problem. BTW before attempting to rearrange partitions I would make a fresh backup of C: and D: partitions in case something goes wrong. And would test booting from Acronis rescue CD as well.

    Vlad
     
  8. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    Thanks Vlad V,

    will post results here.

    savagcl
     
  9. savagcl

    savagcl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    Done!

    Had to remove the Acronis Hidden partition, do the
    extended and logical partitions.
    Got an error on boot-up about the "missing" acronis boot loader program but expected that.
    Reduced the last logical partition by 10Gig and recreated
    the partition using the acronis secure zone.
    Recreated the recovery CD (always do 2 of them). :)
    All is OK now.

    Thanks, Vlad V and all the rest,
    savagcl
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.