Hi, (program icon lost)

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Picsoetje, May 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Picsoetje

    Picsoetje Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Program icon of True Image 11 gets lost

    Hi,

    I have a very strange problem with True Image 11.

    The Icon of the program file gets lost and is replaced by a generic one.
    I have added a jpg-file to this post that shows what I mean :
    The beautiful Acronis icon is replaced by the one that you can see in the jpg-file.

    The only thing that solves the problem is :
    - Uninstall True Image
    - Re-install it.
    Nothing else helps.

    My OS = Windows Vista.

    This is really an annoyance, how can it possibly be solved please ?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 11, 2009
  2. itobor

    itobor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I have the exact same problem. Did you recently install Vista SP 2?
     
  3. itobor

    itobor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Just figured out a work-around (not sure if it is a permanent fix but it survivied at least one re-boot)

    Right click on Acronis desktop icon - click properties - click on change icon. Choose another icon by going to browse - I use an old windows file you will find under C:\windows\system32\moricons.dll - about half way down in system32 folder- so you have to hunt for it a bit. Then open moricons.dll and choose any other icon, and that will replace the generic one presently on Acronis. Then go through the process again, but choose the actual Acronis icon (first time around you may want to copy the directory path to acronis icon so you can paste it back in the second time around)

    And then the original Acronis icon is back.... and seems to stay back (never says forever though)

    Hope that helps. Let me know.
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Sounding more and more like a Vista SP2 corruption than an actual TI problem.

    (psst! Don't mention daylight saving :) )
     
  5. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    I've seen that exact same behavior on Vista RTM, SP1, SP2, Win7 Beta, and Win 7 RC. And it has only occurred with Acronis True Image and Disk Director icons - never with any other software. Acronis must be doing something wrong in the installer.

    itobor Yes, your workaround is how I've been fixing this for the past 2 years.
     
  6. Picsoetje

    Picsoetje Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Hi Itobor,

    Your workaround solved my problem.
    Thank you so much for your help.

    Picsoetje
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.