hey you N.O.D boyz

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Mr.Blaze, Mar 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    Ok time to check in with you guys

    Maybe you guys have change things its been awhile so im hopeing things changed

    im ask a qustion and i would aprechiate a straight answer no pc jabering no run arounds and no explations that would lead me to belive its a good thing in your faveor

    just yes or no no explanations with yes or no answer

    and in layman term yes or no

    here goes lets see if you can answer lol

    Does Nod now get along with haveeing another antiviruse programe on same pc

    explanation most people like me like haveing a back up

    one as a resident and one as back up

    2 antiviruse

    so yes it works or no nod has to be the only one or

    none of that disableing jargein run only nod just yes or no
     
  2. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Blaze,

    There is no absolute yes or no. Some other AVs do not accept having another AV installed as well - DrWeb users frequently discovered so. Thus, it's not a NOD32 issue first and foremost.

    On the other hand, many NOD32 users do have another backup AV installed (on demand) without encountering problems. For example, on this test system over here NOD32, KAV, Antivirenkit 2004 Pro and some others have been installed without any problems.

    regards.

    paul
     
  3. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    You can run ANY number of anti-virus applications at the same time, as long as only one of them is used in real time. Sometimes you have to take extra measures to disable the backup scanners. See my post in this thread.

    The problem with NOD32 is that you can't use it as a backup scanner. (Or, if you can, someone please tell me how you can (easily!) update its signatures without keeping it running full-time.)
     
  4. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    As stated: many DrWeb users encountered problems.

    It's possible. Updating requires enabling disabled services and a reboot, apart from disabling the former resident running AV. Thus - no easy solution here.

    regards.

    paul
     
  5. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    Well then either Dr. Web is hard-coded to look for other AVs and complain about it, or those users didn't completely disable those other AVs. There is no way they can conflict if absolutely no part of the backup scanners reside in memory or have filter drivers in use.

    Yes, then I was right. By "can't use it as a backup scanner", I of course meant without going through a ridiculous amount of hassle.
     
  6. Randy_Bell

    Randy_Bell Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Posts:
    3,004
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    I find this to be a "hit or miss" thing that depends on the unique software mix and individual system. McAfee, NAV, and Panda are examples of other quite "jealous" AVs that usually don't like a rival AV horning in on "their" PC .. like a jealous lover scorned, they may give you a cold-shoulder and bluescreen-of-death for your unfaithful disloyalty and transgressions in bringing in a rival AV {{~Grinz~}}.
     
  7. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    lol what randy said lol


    okmaybe i should had put it this way

    does nod now get along with norton most common antiviruse yes or no lol

    maybe dr web have probs but maybe people had better experince with nav
     
  8. anotherjack

    anotherjack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    224
    Location:
    Louisiana
    To reiterate what others have said, yes, NOD generally gets along as long as ONLY ONE on access scanner is set up. If two or more are set to scan in "real time," then you will most likely have problems. Many people use a dual AV approach, but one is used as an "on demand" scanner, while the other product is used as the "on access" or "realtime" scanner.

    The problem with multiple AV realtime scanners is that both programs want to load at a very low level in the OS, and then want exclusive access to the files as they are opened. When they fight over it, you'll know, usually in a bad way...
     
  9. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Hello,
    Here I've NOD as on access, KAV, Dr.Web, McAfee and F-Prot without problems.
     
  10. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    I JUST WANT TO KNOW IF NORTON AND NOD GET ALONG ACTIVE BOTH SAME TIME

    WITH THAT COMBO IT WOULD BE NICE

    IM RUNINING FULLY UPDATED XP HOME?

    YES OR NO LOL
     
  11. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
  12. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Both active as in resident? I would not recommend it.

    I do have NAV (2003) resident and NOD as backup.
    Both do scan my mail. That is about as good as it gets.
    I use XP Pro.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  13. Randy_Bell

    Randy_Bell Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Posts:
    3,004
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    I agree with Pieter. I have NAV 2004 resident on this box, with BitDefender 7.2 as manual backup scanner. I have NAV 2002 resident on my son's box, with KAV 3.5 as manual on-demand backup. I do not recommend doing otherwise; the only scanner that I have heard of {by secondhand knowledge} to successfully run resident alongside NAV was AVG, but I would have to see it to believe it myself. Usually it is not a good idea, you are asking for bluescreen disaster to run two AVs resident at the same time. Good Luck Blaze! ;)
     
  14. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Even this would only work when I installed NAV first.
    When you try the other way around NAV will complain there already is an AV installed and demand you remove that first.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  15. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    ok so basicly buy nav 2004 insatall it first

    then install nod but on;y use it for manual scans right?
     
  16. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    You got the picture. :) That is what I would advise.
    The custom install is pretty easy (newb friendly) and you can get your email scanned with NOD's (almost famous) heuristics.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  17. FluxGFX

    FluxGFX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Posts:
    667
    Location:
    Ottawa/Canada
    Running Nod32 and NAV 2004 both resident on XP Pro SP2.

    I have not encountered problems.

    But I ditched nav after running this combo for a day has NAV has a tendency to eat 20% ressources and slow performance of the system by 9%

    So NOD32 and F-Prot 3.14D are now resident active again :)
     
  18. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    Mr. Blaze from my experience you must install the other AV 1st, let it update and get itself squared away and then install NOD, if you are going to use NOD as the back up scanner DO NOT install IMON, it changes a few LSPs that MAY break the other AV, of course if you are going to use the other AV as the back up this is irrelevant.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.