Hey, has anyone used the Disk Clone?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rickla2@earthlink., Sep 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rickla2@earthlink.

rickla2@earthlink. Registered Member

Has anyone use the disk clone in True Image Ver. 8? I have a new SATA drive and would like to transfer my system (all four partitions) to the new SATA drive and i would like to know if anyone has done this also what their result was.

Thank You,

LSMAN o_O

2. DaHen

DaHen Registered Member

I would like to try the disk clone and am tempted to but where as I am a newbie, I am hesitant.

Keep wanting to purchase a inexpensive machine to experiment on. Not only disk clone but also reformatting etc.... :oops:

3. Jezza

Jezza Registered Member

I used it with TI 7 (not 8 ) with no problems at all. I got a new 160 gig hard drive and the disk clone function transfered everything, named the new drive as C, renamed the old drive as E (I kept it as a second drive) and did all of this in about 10 minutes for about 30 gigs of data. The computer booted perfectly first time. However, I have EIDE disks not SATA.

Hope that's of some use to you.

4. johnpd

johnpd Registered Member

What do you do in the case of a laptop? I have an external harddrive (which has several partitions on it) to which I wish to create an image of my current laptop harddrive, then install a new harddrive in the laptop, and restore the image to it. I looked through the FAQs and the TI User Guide and could not find a procedure for this. My understanding is a "clone" will wipe out whatever is on the destination drive. If I create an image to do a restore, do I need to partition and format the new drive before doing the restore?

5. me75006

me75006 Registered Member

Just buy an extra hd to experiment on, its much cheaper than a whole pc !

6. DaHen

DaHen Registered Member