Hex edit a TIB file when it is not the last volume in archive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dylan666, Jul 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dylan666

    dylan666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I used TI 9 to create a full backup but unfortunately it created a backup1.tib.
    There was a lot of free space on that disk but Acronis created only that file all nights, overwriting the previus one.
    I checked the task and reapeated the wizard, it was selected "full backup" but it seems like TI created an incremental backup or something like that.
    The size of that file is exactly the size of all data i would backup with the full backup...

    However when I try to open that *.tib I receive this error:
    "This is not the last volume in archive."

    I tried to open, explore, validate or mount it using True Image, Backup & Recovery 10, VMware, I tried to copy it on USB and perform a CHECKDISK, to extract files with R-Studio...

    Then I find this thread:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=178672

    It would be possible to edit the header using an hex editor to make that file a "single volume" backup?

    Or is it possible to fix a corrupted tib?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    What build of TI 9 was used? (If by "9" you mean 2009, what build of 2009 did you use? If Workstation or Echo, what build?)

    Is the image file on an internal drive?

    What formatting is used on the partition (FAT32 or NTFS)?

    Have you tried renaming the file to something else (backup.tib, for example)?

    Usually, when TI gives this message and it shouldn't, it's because it's reading the file incorrectly and not because something's actually wrong with it.
     
  3. dylan666

    dylan666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    The program version is Acronis True Image Enterprise Server 9.1 build 3.694
    The task created the TIB file on a NAS.
    I formatted the disk using the NAS utility (it has created a MIRROR 1 configuration too) so I don't know if it is NTFS or Ext2 based...

    Yesterday I have created 2 new tasks for a full backup and an incremental backup and the new TIBs are ok (so the NAS seems to work correctly).

    Now I have copyed the TIB on an external USB Hard Disk and on another PC (Vista with NTFS, I did the checkdisk on this drive)

    I tried to rename the namefile1.tib in namefile.tib (with no "1") but the error message doesn't change

    I don't think True Image had crashed while it was writing the file because the log says the backup was created successfully.

    Two days before another TIB was created from another task (it's another full backup on NAS, only the time to start was different) and has the same problem and the "1" at the end of the name.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Did the new backup images you created also have a 1 appended to the filenames?
     
  5. dylan666

    dylan666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    No, the new and working backups (a partition full backup and a folder full backup) created by new tasks don't have the "1" at the end of the name.

    The two old and not-workig backups (two partition full backup scheduled with two different tasks) have the "1".

    I have compared the "corrupted" backup with a good one using an hex editor (Hex Editor Neo) and the red part in the following screenhots is missing in the bad tib

    View attachment 210854

    The code after that part is identical for the two files for many lines.
    I tried to add the red part into the corrupted TIB and resave it but it didn't work.

    Any suggestion?
    Maybe should I compare the ending part too?
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2009
  6. dylan666

    dylan666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Forget about the comparison... I have to repeat it
    However could it be useful?
     
  7. dylan666

    dylan666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I was wrong, the initial part of corrupted ang good file are identical, the different part is the ending.

    Maybe I have found an ending part that is present in all good backups but not in the corrupted one but adding those lines an re-saving the TIB was not usefull...

    end.png

    wish it would be so simple!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.