Help with Restricted sites, IE

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by SteelWolf, Sep 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SteelWolf

SteelWolf Registered Member

[B]Hello,
    I searched thru FAQ's and did not find an answer. I'm a medical student and unable to access a site to play exam videos
    "http://www.med-ed.virginia.edu/"
    Other students can access this site. I tried disabling my SW Firewall, disabling Spyware Blaster, addjusted various settings in IE and Firefox 4.0
    The only indication of why is when I tried to enter the above address in safe sites IE, it said it could not b/c it already exists in another zone.
    So I think either Spybot or Spyware Blaster put it in restricted sites.
    The problem," which I had before as well", the entry names in restricted sites do not match the links they block. Furthermore, there is no easy way to remove all the sites in restricted sites all at once in IE.
    It would help if Spybot +Spyware Blaster had an option to type in a site in a "safe zone", instead of trying to figure out which of the thousands of links it is.

Please advise,

Vince[/B]

Last edited: Sep 20, 2005
  2. Bubba

Bubba Updates Team

Since that site is not listed in Spybot's, Spywareblaster or even IE-Spyads database....I added the site(virginia.edu) manually to IE's Restricted Zone. I was then able to access that site with no problem.

What are you actually seeing when you attempt to access that site :doubt:

While I agree it is difficult within IE to fumble thru a longgggg list of URL's contained in the Restricted Zone and unless you want to look in the appropriate place in the registry I suggest you consider downloading the small(184 KB) program below and attempt to find and remove the entry. It has the capability to list any Trusted or Restricted Sites....do a find for a URL and delete the offending URL.

This program---> ZonedOut 2.0 Sept. 15, 2005

Attached Files:

3. SteelWolf

Thanks Bubba,