Help with Kaspersky

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by DoeZ0763, Jun 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DoeZ0763

    DoeZ0763 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Western New York
    I've downloaded the free version of Kaspersky and I'm having a problem with the updates...it says the license ran out on it...I can't seem to uninstall this item now to reinstall it...Now the darn thing is in black and white...no color to the icon...did I do something wrong here? Can you help please?
     
  2. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    scotland
    I also had problems with kav, my system froze and nothing in kav would work ,I had to boot into safe mode in windows xp and remove kav in the add remove programmes and this did the trick, I uninstalled kav, then removed all traces from the registry and reinstalled kav , but before full installation I disabled all protection programmes and it installed without any problems and everything has worked great since then.



    The Mul
     
  3. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    DoeZ0763,

    There is a trial version of KAV, but no free version available. The trial lasts 30 days. Are you over the 30 limit now or did the trial key not get associated with the program? On installation, you have to point to a license key file for the program to work - I believe you can easily skip this step and this would be the behavior seen. Documentation for all current versions (pdf format) is available at here. As I recall, if you bring up the control centre, one of the few things that you can do in this state is associate the license key file, although i'm not really sure where. It might request a key file if there isn't a valid one available, I'm just not sure. You should be able to uninstall/reinstall, and just be careful to point to a valid key file when that dialog box requests it, but I don't believe you need to do that.

    Blue
     
  4. DoeZ0763

    DoeZ0763 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Western New York
    I can't seem to uninstall it because a small window keeps popping up and telling to close out of Kaspersky...and I'm not in it at all...I click the ok and it keeps coming back...over and over...Yes it's the trial version I guess...What now?
     
  5. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    scotland
  6. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    scotland
    Why not shut your system down and boot into safemode and remove kav from your add remove programmes and this does usually work.



    The MUL
     
  7. DoeZ0763

    DoeZ0763 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Western New York
    Shouldn't I uninstall all this first seeings how it's not working right? Then I can download another version?
     
  8. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    scotland
    Yes, u should uninstall all of kav before u install the new trial version.
    If u cant remove kav from add remove then boot your system into [safemode] and then try to uninstall kav from add remove as in safemode u are more likely to succeed in removing kav.


    The MUL
     
  9. DoeZ0763

    DoeZ0763 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Western New York
    Ok I booted in safemode and was able to uninstall it all that way...now I'm going to reinstall it...I need a license # or something?
     
  10. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Nice job, the mul ;). Apologies for interfering - once: DoeZ, do you have another Antivirus installed eg running resident as well?

    regards,

    paul
     
  11. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    scotland
    I really dont mind who helps paul, as long as they are getting the help, that is what matters.
    DoeZ0763IF u download kav from the links i gave u above, they both have a key file installed and u can try them out for 30 days.

    I should also make it clear as paul is trying to say, u can only have [one] av running resident and the other as back up.

    Ther Mul
     
  12. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Couldn't agree more - and DoeZ seems to be in capable hands - yours :)

    regards.

    paul
     
  13. DoeZ0763

    DoeZ0763 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Western New York
    Thank You guys...no I don't have any other AV on my system...I'm going to download this one again...do I have to do something with this key license or whatever? Thanks :)
     
  14. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Our pleasure ;)

    As for the key, quoting the mul:

    regards.

    paul
     
  15. DoeZ0763

    DoeZ0763 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Western New York
    Which one would be better for me...the personal or the pro? I'm running Windows XP...don't have any other AV on system...just ZA...Spybot...and Adaware...cwshredder also...Thanks
     
  16. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I would recommend going for the Personal version. In case you feel like upgrading in the future (coming with the price tag), that should be no problem.

    regards.

    paul
     
  17. DoeZ0763

    DoeZ0763 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Western New York
    I've been trying to download the trial version and I keep coming up the the message...page cannot be displayed...what's up with that?
     
  18. BlueMoon

    BlueMoon Guest

    You should be able to grab a trial from the main Kaspersky site over here

    Blue
     
  19. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Hi DoeZ0763...

    I just tried the direct download link that Mul gave [the first Personal link] and I got the download window straight up...

    You *may* also get that 'The Page Cannot be Displayed' behind it, but that's not a problem, the actual download window should come up.. see pic...

    Cheers, TAS

    EDIT: I see BlueMoon gave alternative link. ;)
     

    Attached Files:

    • 012.GIF
      012.GIF
      File size:
      11.5 KB
      Views:
      493
  20. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
  21. DoeZ0763

    DoeZ0763 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Western New York
    I ended up downloading it from the site I got above...I went to the original site and it wouldn't allow me...kept saying page cannot be displayed...in the midst of its downloading a window appeared and said it could find my ms outlook...not sure what the problem there is...I then went to update it all and again I got the same page cannot be displayed...I clicked the link above to update too...am I doing something wrong or is my system messed up or what's going on? One more thing...it said to click the one nearest you...I'm clicking the United States...being that's where I am...maybe that will help...
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2004
  22. DoeZ0763

    DoeZ0763 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Western New York
    Here's the problem now...I closed everything and went to get into Kasperky...it won't open...a window pops up and says something about AV control centre configurator object cannot load...What happened?
     
  23. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    Sounds like something is still borked. Uninstall everything, then restart your computer. Did you successfully download Kaspersky? If you downloaded the correct file it should have the word "trial" in the name. If you don't have that, you have the wrong file.

    What program did you download initially? Personal 5.0 or Personal Pro 4.5? I don't think there is a trial for Personal Pro 4.5. At least I was unable to find one.

    Control Center is part of Personal Pro, so it appears you didn't uninstall the correct version.

    Did you restart after installing and uninstalling? Or did you just install over the previous installation. Any time you make changes to a key app like an AV, ALWAYS reboot after installation and uninstallation.
     
  24. DoeZ0763

    DoeZ0763 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Western New York
    I downloaded the Personal 4.5 version...I don't see the word Trial anywhere...This looks completely different than the first one I had...what should I do?
     
  25. DoeZ0763

    DoeZ0763 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Western New York
    TAZ...I uninstalled everything and I went into the Kaspersky site...click trial downloads and then the one closest to me...United States...page comes up cannot display...Now if I go to the site from the link MUL gave me earlier...I don't believe its the trial version...this is getting very frustrating. I don't have any AV right now...help :eek:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.