Help with bridge.dll

Discussion in 'adware, spyware & hijack cleaning' started by WhiteComet, May 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WhiteComet

    WhiteComet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    I hate to have to do this but I really need help. Whenever I boot up I get the Error loading C:\Windows\System32\bridge.dll message. My browser also gets hijacked and they try to get me to download junk. That's about it and here's my log. Thank you so much in advance for helping me.

    I used Ad-Aware to scan first.

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 9:34:15 PM, on 5/13/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\TGTSoft\StyleXP\StyleXPService.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\vptray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\htpatch.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\E_S10IC1.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
    D:\Logitech\iTouch\iTouch.exe
    C:\installer\id53.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\PANICW~1\POP-UP~1\PSFree.exe
    D:\Logitech\MouseWare\system\em_exec.exe
    D:\Logitech\MouseWare\system\em_exec.exe
    D:\Logitech\Desktop Messenger\8876480\Program\BackWeb-8876480.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\DefWatch.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\Rtvscan.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMAgent.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\NOTEPAD.EXE
    D:\HJ\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.ca/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = localhost
    O1 - Hosts: 1089288654 auto.search.msn.com
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - D:\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [vptray] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\vptray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HTpatch] C:\WINDOWS\htpatch.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EPSON Stylus C42 Series] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\E_S10IC1.EXE /P23 "EPSON Stylus C42 Series" /O6 "USB001" /M "Stylus C42"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KernelFaultCheck] %systemroot%\system32\dumprep 0 -k
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [zBrowser Launcher] D:\Logitech\iTouch\iTouch.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Logitech Utility] Logi_MwX.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RunDLL] rundll32.exe "C:\WINDOWS\System32\bridge.dll",Load
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [stcinstaller] c:\installer\id53.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [PopUpStopperFreeEdition] "C:\PROGRA~1\PANICW~1\POP-UP~1\PSFree.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [LDM] D:\Logitech\Desktop Messenger\8876480\Program\BackWeb-8876480.exe
    O4 - Startup: PowerReg SchedulerV2.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Logitech Desktop Messenger.lnk = D:\Logitech\Desktop Messenger\8876480\Program\LDMConf.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: ICQ Pro (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ICQ (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/swdir.cab
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...pple.com/bonnie/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {56336BCB-3D8A-11D6-A00B-0050DA18DE71} (RdxIE Class) - http://207.188.7.150/0753765723c554e4d701/netzip/RdxIE601.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    Run hijackthis, tick these entries listed below and ONLY these entries, double check to make sure, then make sure all browser & email windows are closed and press fix checked

    O1 - Hosts: 1089288654 auto.search.msn.com
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RunDLL] rundll32.exe "C:\WINDOWS\System32\bridge.dll",Load
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [stcinstaller] c:\installer\id53.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [LDM] D:\Logitech\Desktop Messenger\8876480\Program\BackWeb-8876480.exe
    O4 - Startup: PowerReg SchedulerV2.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Logitech Desktop Messenger.lnk = D:\Logitech\Desktop Messenger\8876480\Program\LDMConf.exe
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...meInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {56336BCB-3D8A-11D6-A00B-0050DA18DE71} (RdxIE Class) - http://207.188.7.150/0753765723c554...ip/RdxIE601.cab


    Reboot into safe mode by following instructions here: http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2001052409420406
    then as some of the files or folders you need to delete may be hidden do this:
    Open Windows Explorer & Go to Tools > Folder Options. Click on the View tab and make sure that "Show hidden files and folders" is checked. Also uncheck "Hide protected operating system files" and untick "hide extensions for known file types" . Now click "Apply to all folders"
    Click "Apply" then "OK"

    Delete these files

    C:\WINDOWS\System32\bridge.dll


    and Delete these folders

    c:\installer


    then go to C:\Documents and Settings\owner\Local Settings\Temp and select everything in that folder and delete it

    as XP will not let you delete files less than 24 hours old as it thinks it might need them please also do this
    while in the temp folder, select view and select details.
    then right click a blank part and select arrange icons by, and select show in groups and modified, that will give a list of all files in date order with today at the top of the page.
    select all the files/folders except the today ones and delete them all.

    1) Open Control Panel
    2) Click on Internet Options
    3) On the General Tab, in the middle of the screen, click on Delete Files
    4) You may also want to check the box "Delete all offline content"
    5) Click on OK and wait for the hourglass icon to stop after it deletes the temporary internet files
    6) You can now click on Delete Cookies and click OK to delete cookies that websites have placed on your hard drive

    then
    Reboot normally &

    Download and unzip or install these programs/applications if you haven't already got them. If you have them, then make sure they are updated and configured as described

    Spybot - Search & Destroy from http://security.kolla.de
    AdAware 6 from http://www.lavasoft.de/support/download


    Run Sybot S&D

    After installing, first press Online, press search for updates, then tick the updates it finds, then press download updates. Beside the download button is a little down pointed arrow, select one of the servers listed. If it doesn't work or you get an error message then try a different server

    Next, close all Internet Explorer and OE windows, press 'Check for Problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds that is marked in RED.

    then reboot &

    Run ADAWARE

    Before you scan with AdAware, check for updates of the reference file by using the "webupdate".
    the current ref file should read at least 01R303 08.05.2004 or a higher number/later date

    Then ........

    Make sure the following settings are made and on -------"ON=GREEN"
    From main window :Click "Start" then " Activate in-depth scan"

    then......

    click "Use custom scanning options>Customize" and have these options on: "Scan within archives" ,"Scan active processes","Scan registry", "Deep scan registry" ,"Scan my IE Favorites for banned URL" and "Scan my host-files"

    then.........

    go to settings(the gear on top of AdAware)>Tweak>Scanning engine and tick "Unload recognized processes during scanning" ...........then........"Cleaning engine" and "Let windows remove files in use at next reboot"

    then...... click "proceed" to save your settings.

    Now to scan it´s just to click the "Scan" button.

    When scan is finished, mark everything for removal and get rid of it. (Right-click the window and choose"select all" from the drop down menu) then press next and then say yes to the prompt, do you want to remove all these entries.

    reboot again

    then post a new hijackthis log to check what is left
     
  3. WhiteComet

    WhiteComet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    New log after instructions followed. Need confirmation of system soundness.

    Hi, I wasn't sure if I was supposed to make a totally new thread or not so here I am, hopefully for the last time. If I'm breaking the rules I apologize but I couldn't find a clear answer.

    Here's my new log. I used both Spybot S&D and Ad-Aware.

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 2:28:15 AM, on 5/15/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\vptray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\htpatch.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\E_S10IC1.EXE
    D:\Logitech\iTouch\iTouch.exe
    D:\Winamp\Winampa.exe
    D:\Logitech\MouseWare\system\em_exec.exe
    D:\Logitech\MouseWare\system\em_exec.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\PANICW~1\POP-UP~1\PSFree.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\DefWatch.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\Rtvscan.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMAgent.exe
    D:\HJ\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.ca/
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - D:\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - D:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SDHelper.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [vptray] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\vptray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HTpatch] C:\WINDOWS\htpatch.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EPSON Stylus C42 Series] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\E_S10IC1.EXE /P23 "EPSON Stylus C42 Series" /O6 "USB001" /M "Stylus C42"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KernelFaultCheck] %systemroot%\system32\dumprep 0 -k
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [zBrowser Launcher] D:\Logitech\iTouch\iTouch.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Logitech Utility] Logi_MwX.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinampAgent] "d:\Winamp\Winampa.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [PopUpStopperFreeEdition] "C:\PROGRA~1\PANICW~1\POP-UP~1\PSFree.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [STYLEXP] C:\Program Files\TGTSoft\StyleXP\StyleXP.exe -Hide
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: ICQ Pro (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ICQ (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/swdir.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{DF88DCEA-DBDB-421B-A403-446BC14EFDC1}: NameServer = 209.226.175.224 198.235.216.110


    I hope everything checks out now. One concern I had was that I couldn't find C:\WINDOWS\System32\bridge.dll on my computer but that error message doesn't come up anymore so I hope it's fine. I also got this message about StyleXP having a registration check fail because the system clock has been rolled back, but I'm also hoping getting rid of StyleXP will eliminate that problem seeing as how I don't use the program anyways.

    All in all, things seem back to normal now, and I'll just wait for a confirmation of that. I just want to thank you very much for the time and effort it took to help me. I'm glad there are people like you out there to help inept people like me.
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    You should always reply to your original thread so we can keep everything in one place and se what has worked and what hasn't. So no you haven't broken any rules, you have done exactly what you are supposed to do

    You wouldn't find bridge, but we wanted to check that it hasd actually gone

    It all looks clear now so

    Turn off system restore by following instructions here
    http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2001111912274039

    That will purge the restore folder and clear any malware that has been put in there. Then reboot & then re-enable sytem restore & create a new restore point.

    Read here https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=27971 for info on how to tighten your security settings and how to help prevent future attacks.

    & it is vital that you go here, click Scan for updates in the main frame, and download and install all CRITICAL updates recommended.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.