Help: Windows Security Center unable to detect NOD32.

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Khalal, Aug 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Khalal

    Khalal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Hi,

    I have a problem... I couldn't find help anywhere on the net. I have found cases where windows security centre reports nod32 is out of date when it isn't. But for me, it says "VIRUS PROTECTION NOT FOUND"

    What should I do? Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    • win.JPG
      win.JPG
      File size:
      132.1 KB
      Views:
      11
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
  3. Khalal

    Khalal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks, I seen it already. His case was that Windows report out of date, whereas mine is not found. I figure mine is more serious...

    Still don't know what causes it... How to solve it....

    I am wondering if I am the only one who has this problem..
     
  4. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Are you running SP2 and all other security related updates for XP. Originally the Security Center did not recognize Nod32.
     
  5. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    Khalal
    I have the very same problem.
    I did a trace on the problem and tried all the proposals.
    It is listed at MS (not just Nod) but none of the solutions worked for me.
    Mine worked until some MS update and then stopped working.
    I just said "sod it" and turned off notification.
    Perhaps I'll do a re-install one or wait for V3:D
    I am on XP pro and XP home.
     
  6. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    Well, as long as NOD32 works properly it's not such a big deal SEcurity Center is not detecting it. ;)
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Reinstalling SP2 should resolve it.
     
  8. softtouch

    softtouch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Posts:
    415
    I am having now the same. Nod32 was always recognized, but yesterday after turning the computer on, Windows did not find the firewall AND the virusscanner, even both are running and updatd. There was no installation of any kind in the last couple of days, so it is quiet strange for me how this can happen. SP2 re-installation can not be the solution. The problem does not come from nowhere. As I said, NO installation and NO Windows updates or whatever since a couple of days. I also had to switch the notification off.
     
  9. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Write it off to Windows weirdness. The security center is just informative, if your AV is running and up-to-date, nothing to worry about! :)
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    As Marcos stated, reinstalling Windows Service Pack 2 should resolve the matter.

    Cheers :D
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I had the same problem on a friend's computer and reinstalling SP2 resolved it.
     
  12. Khalal

    Khalal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks everyone...

    ThunderZ: Yes I has the latest patch and SP2
    DavidCo: Hmm, you are the 1st person I heard having this same problem...
    pykko: True, but it is like a torn in the flesh, still have no idea what causes it.
    Marcos: reinstalling SP2 would be quite troublesome, and the problem may come back as the cause of it is unknown.
    softtouch: do you think the problem could be on Nod32's side? as the only updates is from Nod32...
    SSK: :)
    Blackspear: see above 'Macros'

    I guess I will just turn off nortification and check every now and then if the the problem has gone away... Thanks people :)
     
  13. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hello . Although we all appreciate a lot Marcos and Blackspear's advice , you may wish to contact Microsoft and ask them for help . They really should know something more and could help you with something . ;)


    (If a Moderator find this post inappropriate , he/she can remove it)
     
  14. Khalal

    Khalal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Sorry for being a noob, but how do I start? the link you shown is overwhelming...
     
  15. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 8, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.