Help, why when I create an image with xp, and then the restore will not start.

Discussion in 'Paragon Partition Manager Product Line' started by jm2k7, Jun 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jm2k7

    jm2k7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Why when I make a backup of my OS, but when restoring the operating system will not boot, the screen stays black with a blinking cursor.

    I am using the Paragon Hard Disk Manager 2010 Live WinPE CD.
    be some method I'm doing wrong.?

    I need to know because now I get this error. I can not make a backup of my operating system in the event of a disaster and I can restore my system boot.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    Were you restoring a single partition or was it an image of the entire drive?

    Do the contents of the restored partition appear to be correct?

    Have you verified the correct partition is set Active? This is usually the Windows partition or the System Recovery partition.

    Have you verified that the drive boot order didn't change and that the correct drive is still the default booting drive? Sometimes the BIOS will make changes without the user knowing, especially when drive changes are made.

    Assuming the MBR and Boot Sector code is correct, if the drive geometry is detected incorrectly it can cause problems like this. Do you know if your computer is using non-standard drive geometry? This problem seems to happen more frequently on laptops/notebooks, when restoring to non-internal drives (e.g. USB drive), or when restoring the image with the drive connected to one computer and then trying to boot it in another.
     
  3. jm2k7

    jm2k7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    Venezuela
    which is not the problem, all we do know is that I have some images made with acronis. TIB, and restored without any problems.

    what I'm doing is transferring the images made with acronis to paragon.

    but the problem is that when I do full hard disk backup, restore when not running the operating systems.

    With Windows XP, my screen is black and the cursor ticking.
    With Windows 7, it gives me error 0xc0000034 and fails to start the system ..


    With Acronis True Image Home 2010, I do not give these types of problems.

    I do not know why the paragon systems do not take me, not if I'm doing something wrong. But it is rare that both the XP as Windows 7.

    If anyone can give me an example of the steps to do a full backup of an operating system, and as is restored, I am learning to use the paragon. I can not adapt.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2010
  4. jm2k7

    jm2k7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Will I need is another product from paragon?.

    What interests me is to have an operating system image with all programs, so it restored to the machines and boot without problems. o_O
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    Do you have the same problem if you boot to the HDM Linux-based recovery CD and do the restore instead of using the WinPE CD?
     
  6. jm2k7

    jm2k7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    Venezuela
    I have problems with the CD is based on WINPE. I have not checked with the CD based on Linux.

    I am also using this utility from my hard drive through grub4dos, not whether it will have to do with it.

    The truth is, I'm not using this from the CD, I am using it from a menu that I did with grub4dos.

    Anyway, I'll keep trying, I'll try to use for linux to see what happens.
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    I use Grub4DOS a lot with various setups, most of which are booting ISO files. I don't think it would be causing the problem you're having, but it might be good to test booting to the WinPE CD and doing the restore along with the test of the Linux-based CD version.

    Is Grub4DOS booting from an internal drive?

    You might look on the Advanced tab of the Properties of the drive and see if the drive that boots reports different Cylinders, Heads, and Sectors per track values than the one that doesn't boot.
     
  8. jm2k7

    jm2k7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    Venezuela
    and discovered the cause of the problem is the partition table was corrupted and would not start the operating system.

    I just did a clean installation created a paragon partition, and then I made the appropriate backup. After the restore, it did so without problems, and my operating system starts properly.

    thanks, by the precise details and comments. :argh:
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    You're welcome. I'm glad you got it working.

    Do you know the details of the corruption? It may help if someone else has a similar problem.
     
  10. jm2k7

    jm2k7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Posts:
    16
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Well the only thing I can say is this:

    Well. The corruption of data, is that it has partitioned the hard drive with Acronis Disk Director Suite, so when I do a full backup with paragon, when restoring the partition, the system will not start.

    When I make a partition using paragon hard disk manager and do a full backup, when restoring, everything is perfect, the system boots without problems.

    I think the problem lies when managing partitions with other software, other than a paragon, and such inconveniences happen.

    It is possible that the partitioning made with acronis, interferes with paragon backup.

    So
    Acronis Partition made, I do full backup and restore with acronis. Perfect.
    Paragon Partition made, I do full backup and restore with Paragon, Perfect.
    Acronis Partition made, I do full backup and restore with Paragon, Problems ..
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    Interesting. DD does make some weird partitions at times.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.