Help Wanted - copying HD to HD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by goldstroke, Nov 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. goldstroke

goldstroke Registered Member

I'm new to Acronis, I've just installed 9.0. I have 7 laptops and 5 Desktops at work. I have one of each setup the way I need it, now I need to setup the other laptops exactly the same, there all running XP-Pro, same models. I also need to do the same with the desktops. Can someone explain how to go about this with Acronis 9.0 that I just purchased? in lamens terms. Do I need to backup the originals, or Clone them or what. Thanks

2. Tabvla

Tabvla Registered Member

If I understand your post correctly then my impression is that you are using the wrong tool for the task that you want to accomplish.

Windows PE may be a more appropriate utility. You can find details here:

http://www.microsoft.com/licensing/sa/benefits/winpe.mspx

http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system/winpreinst/default.mspx

That does not mean that you have wasted your money on ATI. ATI is still the defacto standard utility for backups and disaster recovery. Windows PE is the preferred tool for deployment.

3. jaycee

jaycee Registered Member

Hi,

I understand you want to deploy the image you've made to all PCs and laptops.

First you need a license per machine.
    Second you'll need a tool called "NewSID" from www.sysinternals.com (freeware) to change computer name and Security ID (SID)

You save your image on a network share or an external USB HardDrive, you boot the Acronis Rescue CD and choose restore.
    Once image is restored, you launch the NewSID software to avoid having same name/SID all over.

Be careful that you may have problems with OEM versions of Windows that require activation sometimes.

Good work,

Jaycee

4. Tabvla

Tabvla Registered Member

From here on this discussion assumes that goldstroke has FPP licenses and not OEM licenses for XP.......

Hi Jaycee