Help w/Vista Folders Transfer

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by pratzert, Feb 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    HELP ! I had a new laption running Vista that went kaput. Before returning it for a replacement, I "Copied" the 11 "Personal User Folders" onto my external backup drive thinking all would be fine. I have lots and lots of files in these folders with mp3's movies, photos etc. as these folders are essentially the Vista version of "MyDocuments" which is in XP.

    When I got my replacement laptop ( also running Vista ) I assumed I would just copy over all the personal folders onto the new laptop. But for some reason, everytime I have tried it ( 4 times now ) the new laptop freezes and I have had to do a complete "System Restore" to the original factory condition from the emergency partition backup.

    Question 1.) Why do I see my user name TWICE.... once under "Desktop" and again under the C: drive under "Users" ?

    Which one of these two should I be trying to copy the folders/files into ? One or both ?

    In the process of copying the folders, it asks me if I want to merge/copy etc the "ini" files too, which I have answered yes to.

    Would this work better if I just tried to copy the actual files out of my old folders into the new folder on the laptop of the same name instead of the entire folder ?

    I thought the "ini" files were the preferences and would not be a problem to copy. I don't mind having to reset to preference again if that is what I need to do.

    So... I am stuck.... I can't bear the thought of having to do another system restore ( which takes an hour ) to get my files onto the new laptop.

    I know you all are muich smarter than I about these things.

    Can you help a lost soul... please o_O

    Thanks, Tim
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2009
  2. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  3. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Thanks for the info and links. You may be correct that the same User Name I am seein gunder the "Desktop" is a "Junction Point" and not the real user location info. It may be a mirror of the user folders and files.

    Perhaps I should just copy the actual files into each folder category without moving or overwriting any "ini" files. What I don't know, is what information is actually in each "ini" file. Does it contain a "pointer" to an actual program for the type of tile along with other preferences info ?

    Tim
     
  4. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    You should generally be able to copy the entire C:\USERS\username\ folder back, although it may gripe about the registry hives ...

    I have done it before.
     
  5. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    That's what I thought. But I did copy the folder back to BOTH locations.... the User Name in the "Desktop" and the User Name in the actual "Users" directory.

    I may try copying/overwriting the folders in ONLY the UserName under the Users Directory and see what happens.

    It's just that I am getting tired of doing this darn system restore.

    Tim
     
  6. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I would restore, once again, then copy only into the C:\USERS\username folder, not into both locations
     
  7. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    I've got a brand new clean "Restore" on the laptop waiting for my next move.

    I'll go ahead and copy over the folders into the C:\USERS\username folder and hold my breath.

    Thanks, Tim
     
  8. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    On a similar note, Vista has a hidden "Documents and Settings" folder which is used for compatibility with older programs by "pointing" the data to the new \User\ folders. For example, when you install a video editing program it may look for \Documents and Settings\[user]\My Videos to store vids by default. Vista's hidden D&S (this folder is unaccessable as it only contains "pointers") redirects it to save it into \User\[user]\Videos instead. The video program is obvious to all of this so everything works as before.

    Aka's advice should work for you.
     
  9. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Thanks for the input.

    I'll give it a go when I get home tonight.

    It sounds like You guys have led me in the right direction.

    I was concerned about the ini files, but in retrospect, it must have been the fact that I was copying the folder to both "User" accounts and screwed it up somehow.

    I'll let you know how I make out.

    Tim
     
  10. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    That is exactly what a Junction Point is; a pointer redirecting to another location.
     
  11. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    As promised... here is my report.

    I moved all of the 11 personal folders INCLUDING any "ini" files from my external drive where I saved them to the new laptop.

    All the pictures, music, videos, etc, seemed to show up and run OK.

    But, when I rebooted, the darn thing froze once again.

    So, I went into the system restore and did a System REPAIR and not a RESTORE.

    It could not repair the problem, but the error log reported that I may have connected some sort of new hardware to the laptop which interfered with it booting properly.

    I had, in fact, hooked up a mouse and the external hard drive. SO I disconnected them both and rebooted without any problems at all.

    I was subsequently able to reconnect both the mouse and external drive and boot without a problem as well.

    So.... I have no idea what the heck happened, but it's now working as it should. I guess it's just "one of those things".

    Thanks again for your help and suggestions.

    Tim
     
  12. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Tim, maybe not copying the INI files next time will help. I don't remember if I have ever included them or not since I got a home server doing my backups for a while now. Since they were configured for the old computer the new one probably couldn't digest them, lol.
     
  13. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    I was torn between copying them over or not.... and decided I would go ahead since they were configured the way we wanted things to appear.

    But if I didn't get it to work, moving over ONLY the actual data files and not the "ini" files was the next try.

    Thanks for the help.

    Tim
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.