HELP - URGENT

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by SAFFY575, Jan 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SAFFY575

SAFFY575 Registered Member

I have ran the Norton AntiVirus several times, and it shows:

The compressed file C:/Program Files/BullsEye Network/bin/adv.exe within C:\WINDOWS\system32\mac80ex.idf is a Adware threat.

The compressed file C:/Program Files/BullsEye Network/bin/adx.exe within C:\WINDOWS\system32\mac80ex.idf is a Adware threat

The compressed file C:/Program Files/BullsEye Network/bin/bargains.exe within C:\WINDOWS\system32\mac80ex.idf is a Adware threat.

The compressed file C:/WINDOWS/system32/msbe.dll within C:\WINDOWS\system32\mac80ex.idf is a Adware threat.

I don't want to use HiJack.exe at all as I am not an expert on this. I have already ran the Adware SE Personal and so far it is not picking the above files.

What I need to know can the mac80ex.idf be deleted? o_O Or what other ways can you suggests to get rid of the infected compressed files.

Any help would be much appreciated. The file has been a complete sore point for us as we have been searching on the internet for days to find a way to get rid of it etc but with no avail. o_O

2. Huwge

Huwge Registered Member

Not familiar with that one, maybe try Spybot as well, it will find stuff that Aadware does not

3. TopperID

TopperID Registered Member

Have a look at this thread: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=59603

Try and clear the troublesome files from mac80ex.idf , to avoid deleting the whole file.

Bargains.exe is sometimes associated with the Bargain Buddy problem, see here:- http://www.safersite.com/PestInfo/B/BargainBuddy.asp

But I expect you want a second opinion, to avoid an FP on any of the files, so you could try Trend Micro here: http://housecall.trendmicro.com/