HELP! True Image 8.0: Acronis loader fatal error!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by barbados, Feb 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. barbados

    barbados Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    I just installed True image into a new-build computer, installed a ZIP drive and all the drive letters changed.

    Anyway, what I'm left with after installing True Image 8.0 is this message upon boot (windows2KPro):

    "Press F11 for Acrontis Startup Recovery Manager...
    Acrontis Loader fatal error: Boot Drive (partition not found).
    Press [enter] to try and boot from your OS...."

    My system loads after pressing enter, but I don't want to babysit the box to press 'enter' after powering on.

    How can I delete this message so I boot through to my O/S without a re-format? I've re-installed True Image and then deleted True Image, but still the boot message remains.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!

    -dave-
     
  2. bobbyjak

    bobbyjak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Posts:
    35
    Look at your boot.ini file and see if a dual boot is set up..If so, remove the
    1 you don't want..
     
  3. barbados

    barbados Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks bobbyjak for the quick response!

    Here's what I have in the Boot.Bak file:

    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect
    C:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Recovery Console" /cmdcons

    The Boot.ini looked OK to these novice eyes.

    I think the last entry looks suspicious, yes?

    Thanks again!

    -dave-
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Dave,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

    Please try to delete Acronis Secure Zone and create it then once again activating Acronis Startup Recovery Manager. This should solve the problem.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  5. barbados

    barbados Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Thank you so much, Ilya for the quick reply...especially on a weekend!

    Ilya, I have deleted ASZ, re-installed TI8.0 and deleted TI8.0 again, but I still get the "Loaded Fatal Error" on boot.

    So I formatted all of the drives (two drives, 3 partitions), re-installed the operating system and I STILL HAVE IT!!

    Where could it be hiding? In the boot sector? How can I find it?

    I'm getting desperate as I thought formatting all of the drives would surely erase it.

    Your help is greatly appreciated!

    THANKS!

    -dave-
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Dave,

    This is really strange. Please try to do the following:

    Please insert a diskette into the floppy drive and run the file available by the link below:

    http://www.acronis.com/files/support/mbrautowrite_en.exe

    Once the floppy is written, boot the computer from it and confirm that you want to fix the master boot record.

    If this doesn't help please send Acronis Report to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread (please see https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=55317 for the instructions). We will certainly help you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  7. barbados

    barbados Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Ilya, How very kind of you to give up your Sunday to help us. It is greatly appreciated!

    I was unable to copy the file to floppy as it is 1.44MB (+ a little) and the formatted floppys I have are 1.38MB.

    Tried to burn to CD, but that didn't work. There must be a way, but I do not have extensive experience in this area.

    If you have any other suggestions on how to copy this file, they would be welcome, indeed.

    If I don't hear from you, I'll contact Tech Support.

    Again, thanks so much and my best wishes for a nice holiday tomorrow (if you can squeeze one in!).

    -dave-
     
  8. barbados

    barbados Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Ilya! IT WORKED! That nasty warning is GONE!

    THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

    I looked closer at the file and realized it was zipped. What an idiot I am.

    Anyway, you've made me a happy guy (can you tell?).

    Again, I thank you for all the help!

    -dave-
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.