Help: True Image 7.0 Server..creating image and burning to DVD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by nealh, Jul 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nealh

    nealh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Posts:
    23
    I have the newest build as per website of True Image 7.0 server
    I am trying to create a image of my HDD on my laptop using an external dvd burner(NEC 1100A) with MAxell(ricoh dvd+r)
    ..I have tried to use a dvd+r with roxio drag to disc as the udf software..I get to near completion of disc then receive a bad media error..the dvd+r have been formatted with drag to disc and work fines for all other tasks in my DVD burner

    I do not believe the media is poor quality as Acronis suggests..I burn these dvds with Nero, roxio etc with no issues on my NEC 1100A

    So I switched and created an image on my hdd but it is 5.7gb and I can not split the image with Nero 6 to place on 2 dvds...so there seems to be no way for me to use my dvd burner..I prefer not ot have to use like 10 cdrs

    Does anyone know of a burning software that will allow me to burn this 5.7 gb image(.tib) over 2 dvd+r

    thank for any help
     
  2. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, nealh

    Welcome to Wilders and Acronis.

    When you made the Image what compression did you use.

    The highest is best for a smaller Image. [Take longer but worth the wait]

    If you did use the highest then you can not burn to DVD. [as you know]

    I do not think this is possible, because if compress with another tool, Ti would not recognize the tib.

    [1] What you are best to do is make another Image at full compression, if this is not possible because you had all ready done so. [you will see the size when you click next, make sure it is no bigger the 3gb for safety]

    [2] Make another Image and split it when you get to the Image archive splitting windows. [3gb for safety]


    If you use Nero, when you come to burn it you will get a warning about the 2gb limit, click OK. [Not cancel, then it will burn it.]

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  3. nealh

    nealh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Posts:
    23
    Thank you ..I used normal compression because highest was still around 5+ gb...


    Ok so if I make an image that is 5gb under max compression I can then use an image archive to split it into 3 gb pieces and the nburn with Nero( as an iso or udf?)

    where is the Image archive splitting windows?

    Thanks again
     
  4. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    After you choose the image mode (Full or Incremental) and press next, you get "Image Archive Splitting". Be careful here- Select "Fixed size" and use the Drop Down to pick 700 MB CD. Then edit the 700 to 3000. Be careful, it's easy to get the wrong size here. Go forward and then back to check the size.
     
  5. nealh

    nealh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Posts:
    23
    Thanks that seems to have worked..I actually entered 3 gb....

    what is the max 4gb?
     
  6. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, nealh

    Please can you explain what do you mean?

    Also to make it easier to help and follow please will you keep your current topic to one thread?

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  7. nealh

    nealh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Posts:
    23
    Sorry ..I was referring to the image size in the post above by beenthereb4

    4gb has to do with size of the image....in order to burn to dvd
     
  8. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, nealh

    I still do not understand.

    Where did you see it.

    Please can you say if you know what it means or not.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello --

    Well I believe Nealh is asking what is the biggest image size that can be stored on DVD... It's limited to 2GB, as it is the biggest file you can burn on DVD by any means.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Anton Gromov

    Acronis, Inc.
    395 Oyster Point Blvd. Suite 213
    South San Francisco
    CA 94080 USA
    http://www.acronis.com/

    Acronis... Compute with confidence
     
  10. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Where did you get this information? In this very thread, he says he burnt 3 GIG image files.
     
  11. nealh

    nealh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Posts:
    23
    in iso format you only burn a 2gb file size with Nero 6..using udf format I was able t oburn a 3gb file..I guess I was so unclear, I ma sorry for the confusion this was not my intent..

    I was trying to determine in Acronis the file size is estimated so my concern is if I say split the image inot 4gb file sizes will I end up with too large a file for dvd burning but I believe you could make 4gb...

    sorry guys I am sorry for being careless
     
  12. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, nealh

    No need to be sorry.

    You might be able to burn it, but I am pretty sure it is to big for a 4.7gb disk.

    I think the max is about 3.6gb.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  13. nealh

    nealh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Posts:
    23
    thanks
     
  14. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, neaih

    You are welcome my friend.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.