HELP!- SUPER slow-down with Antivir/sbie/IE7!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by scottls, Jul 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. scottls

    scottls Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    37
    - XP SP3 (3.2ghz duo, 4gig ram), Antivir Premium v9 .442 (High/all/email in & out), sbie 3.38/ delete all boxes on closing (I have not yet re-installed any other security software).

    My old system became so slow to respond (DELL hardware diagnostics are 100%/defraged), that I finally did an Acronis 11 Restore!?
    ~~~

    Now ALL I have is a fresh Antivir .442 , and restored sbie 3.38-

    My recuring problem?
    -- I wanted to surf around & check OE6 email in "sbie"-
    Open/closed several IE7 web pages/OE6 for a couple of hours, and all of a sudden it's become very slow (long to respond), and copy/paste takes forever or not at all- AGAIN! :eek:

    This is the 3d time this slow-down has happened to me, and I just don't know what the problem is?
    i.e. Keep doing things the same way, and you will get the same results!

    Any ideas, or has anybody else had similar issues?

    Scott o_O
     
  2. bollity

    bollity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    179
    do this :
    disable avira shell extension
    open run and copy this:
    regsvr32 /u "%ProgramFiles%\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\shlext.dll"
    now restart your pc and see if this fixed the problem.

    if you want shell extension again
    open run and copy this:
    regsvr32 "%ProgramFiles%\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\shlext.dll"
     
  3. scottls

    scottls Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    37
    Thank you for the suggestion, but I am concerned about partially disabling Antivir's protection!

    I am FRUSTRATED, and ready to try a different AV!-
    A2 is #1 on-demand, but I can't find anything about their proactive/heuristics/speed?
    Scott o_O

    Program Detection Rate (%)
    a-squared 99.7%
    Avira 99.5%
    G DATA 99.4%
    Kaspersky 98.8%
    Avast 98.7%
    BitDefender 98.6%
    eScan 98.5%
    Norton 98.2%
    Nod32 97.4%
    COMODO 97.1%
    McAfee 96.8%
    F-Secure 96.4%
    AVG 96.2%
    Norman 95.4%
    Twister 94.6%
    Sophos 93.5%
    Spy Emergency 82.4%
    ClamAV 82.3%
    Dr.Web 79.5%
     
  4. Zimzi

    Zimzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Posts:
    289
    A-Squared has excellent detection rate and proactive resident module.

    Since you already use Sandboxie I would rather go with Avast. Avast is free, has excellent detection rate and very rarely gives problems when used with other antimalware software (such as Sandboxie or DefenseWall, HIPS, Threatfire or Mamutu etc...)
     
  5. scottls

    scottls Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    37
    UPDATE!- It's NOT antivir!

    UPDATE!- It's NOT antivir! :oops:

    Process Explorer (nifty free Task Manager) shows system at an idle, with nothing cycling...
    Happens even in Safe Mode?
    DELL's thorough boot diagnostics show no hardware problems?

    -I just did another Acronis Restore, and started having the same slowdown issue (not as bad, but shortly after a jagged screen startup- see below), with NO anti-malware/firewall installed?

    I have been having problems with my video "sometimes" displaying a weird broken-up jagged screen on startup for some time!- restart, and it goes away. It's been getting worse lately.
    Other times- I'd get frozen blue screen startups, but system would load?- thought it was anti-malware/OA? NOT!

    DELL gold support is sending me a new Nvidia 7300 LE video card today (2nd time this %&*@ card has gone bad!).
    I will install it, and the latest driver.
    I'm not a gamer, so this card should work ok for my needs.

    If that doesn't solve the issue, then they are looking at the Mother Board...?

    Scott
     
  6. scottls

    scottls Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    37
    FOUND the slow-down problem...!

    Newegg sent me the wrong 4gig of 800mhz Crucial Ballistic memory ($140), other than what I had ordered!- Model# was SUPER SMALL print! :gack:
    Newegg apologized, and offered me $20 off on new memory. GRRR! :mad:

    The good news!- DELL gold tech (5th!) finally had me put the original 2gig of 533mhz memory back in, and my system was pretty FAST again!
    My system was corrupted, and gave me a good excuse to reformat to XP Pro. Maybe a little slower than Home? :rolleyes:

    The not-so-bad news!- I had already ordered a maxed out Velocity Micro Vector V35 computer!- http://www.velocitymicro.com/wizard.php?iid=27 ;)

    Scott :D
     
  7. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Another noob figures out how to work his computer
     
  8. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Re: FOUND the slow-down problem...!

    Glad you got everything sorted.The not-so-bad news is an understatement that looks a very nice rig indeed :D
     
  9. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    Do you have SpywareBlaster and/or Spybot Search & Destroy Immunizations?

    In a recent Windows Update (IE7), Microsoft was "supposed" to have fixed the problem with slowdowns occurring due to SpywareBlaster and/or Spybot Search & Destroy Immunizations. I have left IE7 un-immunized, but I still get a periodic sudden slowdown which requires a PC restart to temporarily get rid of the problem.
     
  10. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    I have the same problem execpt My Antivir Premium v9 .442 stops at about 20.4, I have done 3 Acronis 11 restores. I have started trying to dianoise the problem removing software testing and then re installing the same software
    I haven't found the problem, I think it might be a microsoft update which don't know. After the last acroins restore I took 11/18 updates at once, I waned to do one at a time but it didn't turn out that way. Oh I get alot of BSODs, I do alot of chkdsk/f/r too. o_O

    {edit} I found what caused stop errors, I am very shocked at what I found.. It was SuperAntiSpyware (I did 2 installs), it must be a bad couple of updates that cause it. I haven't used my AV yet or any thing else.
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2009
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.