Help somebody please!!!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by BobbyDigits, Jul 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BobbyDigits

    BobbyDigits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Hello peoples,

    I use TDS myself, being doing so for about a month now ....
    Long story short, I helped a friend fix his PC, it had a few problems with the display and "ftsnoop.exe" which I found out was a trojan or something so I decided to install TDS3 which I did and ran it, but it didn't detect anything so I decided to update it and run it again unfortunately I didn't stay at the PC. And by the time I came back, the screen was black and that was it. I couldn't restart the PC anymore. Please help somebody.

    The PC runs WinMe.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Did you try to reboot? Was the power on? Is somebody having a joke with you.
    TDS3 could not cause a hardware failure which is what you are describing.
    If you cannot see anything on your screen, has the video lead become lose or disconnected?
     
  3. BobbyDigits

    BobbyDigits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    The wires aren't loose, i just can't reboot, it seems to be attempting to read from the CD drive then it hangs even the CD drive can't be opened.
    The screen just stays black, if it isn't TDS then what might have happened?
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Probably a hardware fault, hard disk failure maybe, if it is trying to access the CD which is probably set up to be the second boot device if the first fails.

    Just guessing - Pilli
     
  5. BobbyDigits

    BobbyDigits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    I was going to swap the hard disk with another one but then I read about the problems with the recent update and I thought that that probably had something to do with it. I'll try that now, thanks Pilli.
     
  6. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Check the cables into the HD and MB before changing the drive, pull out an plug back in, sometimes the connectors can get oxidised. Make sure the power plug is pulled as some PCs don't have a swich that turms off the MB.
     
  7. f123

    f123 Guest

    Reseat all devices. Also a good idea to reset the CMOS battery. Try another hard drive if you suspect a software problem. I like to remove all devices from the motherboard except for RAM, hard drive, keyboard, and mouse. If she won't boot, then you may have a problem with the powersupply or the motherboard.

    Any fan, floppy drive, and/or hard drive activity?

    F.
     
  8. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hey Bobby,

    As Pilli said....it's very unlikely or impossible for TDS3 to cause hardware failure. Having said that we'll continue the discussion\troubleshooting in this Forum.
     
  9. BobbyDigits

    BobbyDigits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks alot peoples, swapped the HDD(HDD1) with another one (HDD2) running the same OS but it still wouldn't boot. Then I put the HDD1 in the PC that had HDD2 in it and it worked.
    So I'm guessing the problem's the motherboard. Thanks for your help once again.
     
  10. f123

    f123 Guest

    Well, did you do the connectors, strip the motherboard, and reset CMOS? Don't blame the MB until you've checked out the RAM and powersupply.

    F.
     
  11. BobbyDigits

    BobbyDigits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Yeah, I did all that, didn't work. Works on the new mboard tho' so..... :doubt:

    Once again, thanks peoples.

    Oh yeah, does anyone know what that ftsnoop program I found was? (sounds like a trojan to me)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.