help recommending hip/sandbox program for my needs

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by sunrise, Mar 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sunrise

sunrise Registered Member

Hi,

I am relatively new to security stuff, need experts help here or those who have experience in these areas..
    I bought a pc with vista, 1gb ram.

I understand that for well protection, the basic is to have antivirus, firewall, antispyware. as such,
    i am planning to get KIS 6. In addition, getting superantispyware pro (after reading many posts here, seems good and light).
    for further antispyware stuff, SpywareSD and Spyware blaster, since they are free, to compliment saas and kis.

For these basics, i have read that having a HIP/sandbox protection is good as well to round it off everything. But its the first time i come across hip stuff, after reading up, there are many applications such as defensewall, geswall, prevx1, sandboxie etc. i check their website, as well as the postings here, their features etc, but too much for me to really appreciate or understand whether which one is better in terms of meeting my needs..

can someone recommend me a hip and/or sandbox program (paid or free)? based on:
    1. Easy to use (many pop up asking permission for this dll access/service etc..i dun really understand much what dll it is or service actually..) so i hope to be able to safely do my daily stuff without worrying too much..
    2. I know that when i execute some exe file, it may require reading of dll files (system or a program) for it to work. the program should allow, but not modify or introduce trojan etc after that..
    3. easy on my 1gb memory
    4. works with vista

any help? thanks!!

2. lodore

lodore Registered Member

hello Sunrise,
    Kis6.0 already has HIPS its called proactive defence.
    if you install another HIPS it could conflict with proactive defence.
    kis6.0 and sas pro is like my setup.