Help please windows 7 cannot C:/windows/system32/icm32.dll

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by fndrfreek69, Nov 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fndrfreek69

    fndrfreek69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    So i start my computer the other day and a prompt came up stating that windows could not find C:/windows/system32/icm32.dll and now nothing is working. i think it may be a virus but when i do a virus scan with mcafee it freezes at 59% which happens to be this file. before everything stopped working(i cannot open any file of any sort unless in safe mode and can not use the internet in safe mode) a prompt would pop up about windows not recognizing the I/O of a that certain file then ask me if i wanted to terminate. i never opted to terminated( i just clicked the x to close prompt) but now as i have said i can not open anything. any help at all will be gratefully appreciated thanks!
     
  2. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  3. fndrfreek69

    fndrfreek69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    ok so i have tried just about everything on the link you provided. I can not for some reason do a system restore as may computer won't recognize my restore points. I am thinking of running a registry cleaner is this a good idea? Also if it helps my toolbar at the top the screen on Windows 7 isn't loading or even showing up when i start the computer and nothing will open at all for and i prompt is now popping up saying something about memory. thanks for the help and i did come back and will be coming back haha:D
     
  4. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Yeah, I figured a little :D reverse psychology'ud getcha. ;)

    Now, you happen to get any second opinions while I was away - http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

    *If need be give SUPERAntiSpyware and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware a run - both FREEWARE!

    You covered the bases on four and seven? As long as she's not acting funny give the latter a try.

    And about the RAM .. remove half and run the machine with half installed.
    If good, swap the other to eliminate the possibility. They DO go bad.

    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/upgrades/f/replace-memory-replace-ram.htm

    Could you also be a bit more specific with those notifications.

    PS - Run a search for icm32.dll. List how many and where they're hide'in.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2010
  5. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    I don't think the sfc /scannow command works from safemode but you could try sfc /scanonce then reboot to see if it will kick in?

    sfc /scanonce: Scans all protected system files one time when you restart.
     
  6. fndrfreek69

    fndrfreek69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    i've done everything you told me to do except remove ram and still no work i think i am just going to call dell and get a start up disc to reboot everything, unless yall have any other ideas. thanks again for all the help.
     
  7. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  8. fndrfreek69

    fndrfreek69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    well its a fairly new laptop and i'm not familiar with laptops, also i do not want to go anything that will void the warranty on it.
     
  9. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    How'd the suggestions in my second post pan out?
     
  10. fndrfreek69

    fndrfreek69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    well i got it fixed...i just used the restore function and now it works fine. not really what i wanted to do to it but it worked....thanks for alll of the help you have given over the past couple of weeks
     
  11. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    You bet. Looking forward to your :eek: *next* :D issue. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.