Help please windows 7 cannot C:/windows/system32/icm32.dll

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by fndrfreek69, Nov 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fndrfreek69

    fndrfreek69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    So i start my computer the other day and a prompt came up stating that windows could not find C:/windows/system32/icm32.dll and now nothing is working. i think it may be a virus but when i do a virus scan with mcafee it freezes at 59% which happens to be this file. before everything stopped working(i cannot open any file of any sort unless in safe mode and can not use the internet in safe mode) a prompt would pop up about windows not recognizing the I/O of a that certain file then ask me if i wanted to terminate. i never opted to terminated( i just clicked the x to close prompt) but now as i have said i can not open anything. any help at all will be gratefully appreciated thanks!
     
  2. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  3. fndrfreek69

    fndrfreek69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    ok so i have tried just about everything on the link you provided. I can not for some reason do a system restore as may computer won't recognize my restore points. I am thinking of running a registry cleaner is this a good idea? Also if it helps my toolbar at the top the screen on Windows 7 isn't loading or even showing up when i start the computer and nothing will open at all for and i prompt is now popping up saying something about memory. thanks for the help and i did come back and will be coming back haha:D
     
  4. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Yeah, I figured a little :D reverse psychology'ud getcha. ;)

    Now, you happen to get any second opinions while I was away - http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

    *If need be give SUPERAntiSpyware and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware a run - both FREEWARE!

    You covered the bases on four and seven? As long as she's not acting funny give the latter a try.

    And about the RAM .. remove half and run the machine with half installed.
    If good, swap the other to eliminate the possibility. They DO go bad.

    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/upgrades/f/replace-memory-replace-ram.htm

    Could you also be a bit more specific with those notifications.

    PS - Run a search for icm32.dll. List how many and where they're hide'in.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2010
  5. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    I don't think the sfc /scannow command works from safemode but you could try sfc /scanonce then reboot to see if it will kick in?

    sfc /scanonce: Scans all protected system files one time when you restart.
     
  6. fndrfreek69

    fndrfreek69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    i've done everything you told me to do except remove ram and still no work i think i am just going to call dell and get a start up disc to reboot everything, unless yall have any other ideas. thanks again for all the help.
     
  7. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
  8. fndrfreek69

    fndrfreek69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    well its a fairly new laptop and i'm not familiar with laptops, also i do not want to go anything that will void the warranty on it.
     
  9. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    How'd the suggestions in my second post pan out?
     
  10. fndrfreek69

    fndrfreek69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Posts:
    5
    well i got it fixed...i just used the restore function and now it works fine. not really what i wanted to do to it but it worked....thanks for alll of the help you have given over the past couple of weeks
     
  11. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    You bet. Looking forward to your :eek: *next* :D issue. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.