help pleas

Discussion in 'ten-forward' started by Mr.Blaze, Sep 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    my parents i dont know what they did well mainly her did

    but the pc is acting funny goback nore system restore cant help


    nortion didnt pick up anything neither did spy bot or adaware

    the bios or something flashs on start up for less then a second its really fast it goes to the desktop like normal

    nothing seems wrong untill you double click on a icon then it prompts you to delet the icons

    do you want to delet the short cut when you say yes it sends short cut to recycle bin if you say no you keep getting naged are you sure you want to send short cut to recycle bin

    basicly anything on desktop

    however everything else from start menue works

    this only seems to be a desktop problem
     
  2. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    damn if only they had delux goback they had genric norton im uninstall mine and put delux norton seems to make a crapy go back

    still need help
     
  3. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Re: help please

    Blazey,
    I don't have a clue what's causing that problem you have, but did you consider running these two well regarded online Trojan etc. scanners over your machine.Sometimes S & D and Norton etc. may not be enough.

    www.webroot.com/

    and

    http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

    Regards.
     
  4. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi buddy,

    Sorry for your problems !

    OK, you have two nice Anti-Trojans : TDS-3 and BOClean.
    Update them with the latest definitions, and do the same with your Norton anti-virus.
    Do a full system scan with NAV with BOClean enabled but TDS-3 disabled.
    Do a full system scan with TDS-3 but now NAV and BOClean disabled.
    Any nasty found ?

    Do a quick scandisk (or if you like, a full scandisk); maybe there is an error that should be repaired.

    Maybe your icon-cache got corrupted.
    Sometimes that can happen.
    We might need on that topic an expert on the icon-cache.
    There is an old free program that is able to repair the icon-cache:
    RefreshEm :
    it is available here:
    http://camtech2000.com/Pages/Useful.html
    I really don't know whether it will work on XP-SP2 :oops:

    The Wilders-board doesn't do anymore HijackThis-logs.
    I hope that for you as one of the very first members there could be made an exception; that decision is of course up to LowWaterMark (otherwise post it for example at Subratam's Kill-Spyware-board; you are a member there; or post an ASViewer-log at the DCS-forum so Gavin could have a look at it if he would be so kind).

    But maybe there is a completely other thing going on on your system....

    Cheers, Jan.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2004
  5. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Another thing that might be worth a try is to reset the default BIOS settings.
    That is assuming they didn't make any changes themselves.

    The fact that it happens immediately or very shortly after booting and putting the system back in a earlier state doesn't help, would indicate a problem in the BIOS or the bootsector of the HD.

    HTH,

    Pieter
     
  6. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    OK LETS GET DOWEN AND DIRTY

    I patch with sp 2 fixed main problem

    i updated adaware and got the new spybot

    adware found 26 new spywares malware etc etc

    spybot picked uo 30 more adaware didnt lol

    i updated norton with todays new definitions i was there as they added them to there web page

    foud two trojans

    im cleaning out system restore and goback history

    machine ir runing way better now thx for all your guys help
     
  7. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Good job, Blaze. :)

    Keep us posted,

    Pieter
     
  8. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,218
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Blaze :)
    To clear the icons cache make sure you can view hidden files and then open your Windows directory in Explorer and delete the file called "ShellIconCache".

    When you restart Windows the icon cache file will be automatically recreated.

    Regards
     
  9. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    damn where were you yesterday lol that a hell of a quick fix

    way better then dowenloading and installing service pack 2

    will found now and kill 11 trojans

    plus some spyware spybot and adaware didnt guess which program spoted it lol

    TDS

    TDS catchs malware to?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.