Help Newbie with XP Kubuntu GRUB Acronis OS Selector Dual Boot Problems Please

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Major_Disaster, Jul 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Major_Disaster

Major_Disaster Registered Member

Hello Guys,

Im new to Linux and quite new to Acronis so bear with me please.

First of all some background.
    I have a Dell Dimension 9150 with 2x250GB Harddrives in RAID 1 Mirror. I partitioned them as follows..

* 1st Partition FAT 16 (62 MB) Dell Utility Partition.
    * 2nd Partition 50GB NTFS C Drive (Windows XP Media Centre Edition + Programmes)
    * 3rd Partition 50GB NTFS F Drive (Documents)
    * 4th Partition 100GB Acronis Secure Zone (Document backups - image of F drive) - Hidden from OS.
    * 5th Partition 30GB G Drive (Empty partition).
    * 6th Partition 4.6GB FAT 32 Drive (DSR - The image file and things).

I did the partitoning using Acronis Disk Director and backup my images of F drive using Acronis True Image. Acronis Disk Director includes a programme called Acronis OS Selector (a bootloader maybe? That allows you to have multiple OSes and choose what to boot). At boot time i have the option to access (via ESC) OS Selector and from there Disk Director and True Image.

In the 30GB free space i decided to install Kubuntu 6.06.

I did so and when it said "installation finised blah blah blah need to reboot..." i did so.

When i reeboted problems began.

It went through the boot process and came to the press ESC to acess Acronis, then a GRUB message loaded saying something like "GRUB Loading Stage 1.5". It just hung there. I rebooted and tried again but same problem. I used my handy Windows Boot Floppy to get back to windows and saw that everything seemed to install OK (i could see the created partition in Disk Director).

But still when i reebot i cant get into Kubuntu.

I have tried disabling OS Selector (in which case it boots staight to XP).