Help me understand something

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by timcan, Jan 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    Hi, if I add up the hd size according to fd-isr it equals 27.68 gb.
    System restore is off in both snapshots.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    But if I go to my computer>right click > properties it says I have C drive 48.3gb. Why the difference in sizes?:)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Mine don't add up either. Could be tmp files, could be page file etc. Not been an issue for me.
     
  4. SourMilk

    SourMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I think Peter is correct. FDISR creates very large snapshots and, I believe, these effect Windows systems' file sizes et.al. pagefile, recovery, and so on. Also, did you account for the snapshot you where in while adding up the sizes?

    Always wanted to use et.al. in a sentence. :)
     
  5. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    I haven't dealt with it in a while, but if you've "frozen" a snapshot in the past, there may be an extra snapshot in there that you don't see if you haven't explicitly removed it? Maybe I'm just mis-remembering, otoh.:doubt:
     
  6. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    Hi,thanks all for the replies.
    Only 2 snapshots. 21GB difference sure seems alot of extras.:)
    No problem with the program, just curious.
     
  7. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    timan,

    are you running vista or windows 7? my guess is, yes ?
     
  8. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    Hi, win xp mce.
     
  9. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    i dont think winxp has the winsxs folder, which contains symbolic links and misleads the system as regards free and used space.

    try downloading xyplorer free edition, it can look into isr folders. according to your setup, you should have 3 isr folders, one for the application, and 2 others containing each snapshot. right clicking on each isr folder and getting file sizes couldnt hurt.

    also, your fdisr is version 3.32.232, why not update your application to 3.32.235?

    good luck
     
  10. Leapfrog Software

    Leapfrog Software Leapfrog Management

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Northern Nevada, USA
    Greetings All,

    Space calculations are a funny thing. You can get different numbers just in windows with the various ways to get disk, folders and file sizes.

    In the case of FD-ISR, the size you see represents the folders/files that have been copied to that snapshot. It does not include the freeze area or archives that default to the $ISR folder, page file, hibernation file, anchored data, or the NTFS MFT. It is only the amount of space used of what was copied. I hope that helps.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.