help me plz

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by john_81, Mar 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. john_81

john_81 Registered Member

well i am new to firewall so i dont know which firewall to download . i need a firewall which is lighter on resources but should not be leaky

2. hollywoodpc

hollywoodpc Registered Member

LnS is a good choice . Outpost is heavier but , still , barely noticable , if at all .

3. hollywoodpc

Outpost is better at protection out of the box and configures easily

4. yahoo

yahoo Registered Member

I agree with that.

5. hollywoodpc

Yahoo .
    Are you liking Tiny 6.5 ? I love their firewall but , I cannot leave Outpost . I think both are excellent choices .

6. fredra

fredra Registered Member

Ahhhhhhhhh......
    Between hollywoodpc, paranoid2000 and hayc...I have to give them credit, they do stand behind their choices of firewall software..namely Outpost, and they are converting me also....lol
    I have not tried ALL of them in the market, so I am not in a position to make comparisions, but...but...Outpost works very well..fairly small footprint and (so far) stops what I have thrown at it.
    GRC...Atelier Web Firewall Tester, to name a few..none were allowed to enter.
    I am still testing, but so far no slowdowns or negative impact on my system.
    Cheers :)

7. yahoo

yahoo Registered Member

Yeah, I like Tiny 6.5.

I used Outpost Pro for one year. It is a really nice firewall: good protection and not so heavy on memory. I moved to Tiny mainly because I wanted to try new stuffs and for stronger protection.

Tiny provides very strong protection, maybe the strongest among persoanl firewalls, to the computer because of the sandbox. But the problem is that the configuration is tough, especially to new users. Tiny 6.5 is much user friendly than Tiny 6.0, and I really like it so far. I find myself a die-hard Tiny fan now :D