HELP! kaspersky makes my PC 100% CPU usage!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by myhomie, May 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    now most of the program i open is not responding because of this.

    the last thing i remembered before it was eating my CPU usage. is that i upgraded MS Anti-spyware to Windows Defender. is this some program conflict?

    oh also this morning i installed Vobsub. i turn the monitor off when i slept and when i woke up the PC froze, so i was force to shut it down via pulling the plug.

    any help would be surely appreciated. thanks a lot

    *oh i just noticed now that when i disconnect the internet, it doesnt spike. but when i go online it spikes.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 6, 2006
  2. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    uninstalled Windows defender now and also Vobsub but still with no luck. i also did a scan disk. but still the problem wont go away.

    dont know what to do now, this never happened before.

    KAV is working perfectly with me for almost a year now. now i cant use my PC properly.

    any replies would be surely be appreciated.

    thanks a lot.
     
  3. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    That's strange, because it's working perfectly here.
    No spikes at all. :)

    Do remember that Windows Defender is a beta, so it still can have bugs.
    Even after uninstalling, it could leave traces which could interfere with KAV. :doubt:

    You didn't mention which KAV version you're using.
    I'm using the latest 6.0.0.299.

    Maybe you could take a look at their forum, if someone else has the same problem.
    Else you can ask it there.
    Provide as much information as possible, so they'll be able to assist you better.

    Good luck. ;)
     
  4. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    oh thanks for the reply man. i know its weird. i love KAV and then suddenly this thing happens.

    well what exactly do you want to know? what informations can i give you?

    because honestly i cant think of anything else that ive changed in my PC since this problem arises. else than Vobsub and updated my MS Antispyware to Windows Defender this morning.

    i run Windows XP home. i have 1 gig ram and i think 2+gighz. so it has no problem coping up with the demands of the software.

    i have the KAV version 5.0.391 installed.

    please, im dying to fix this thing. task manager shows up some terrible spikes!

    thanks a lot.
     

    Attached Files:

    • pke.jpg
      pke.jpg
      File size:
      29 KB
      Views:
      10,298
  5. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  6. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I'd try removing Vobsub and Windows Defender and try going online. Then add Vobsub and go online again and then add Defender and go online.
     
  7. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    no luck mate. did what you adviced but still its spiking.

    not yet, sorry. its just that you guys here at wilders have been very good to me and helped me to solve all my problems before. that my basic instinct when i have a problem i cant solve by my self is to come here and ask for your advice.

    i think im gonna upgrade now to KAV ver.6 like Eldar. hopefully the latest release wont be buggy like the previous releases. thats the only reason that i sticked with ver 5.0.391 coz its the most stable release so far.

    well, i think thats the life of us. we cant expect everything to be smooth sailing. every now and then there will be bugs here and there.

    gonna update you guys if the update will solve the problem. thats the easiest and only solution i could think of right now.

    hopefully this coming few days im gonna find some time to fix it. need to retire now, got a long day tomorrow.

    thanks for the replies. appreciate it so much.
    you guys here are really great.



    regards,
    -myhomie
     
  8. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    Uninstall KAV to make sure that it is causing the problem. Than try reinstall it again.

    It is possible that you PC is infected with unknown malware... rare with KAV but you never know.
     
  9. izi

    izi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Posts:
    354
    Location:
    Slovenia
  10. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    U misunderstand my meaning. Most likely u will get a solution here. I just thought by posting over there, it may come a little faster as it could possibly be a common question. ;) :D


    snowbound
     
  11. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    There are issue's with WD and Kaspersky, at least version 6.0.

    Try first use search to find/delete files folders left behind by WD, then use Regspreme, run it (use normalmode only, not aggressive), when finished scanning you rightclick and select "All", then you click "Fix" at the bottom, it will ask you if you wish to make a backup and you do, just to be safe.

    I would uninstall Kaspersky (with a reboot) while doing this and then install the latest version of Kaspersky, either 5.0.527 or 6.0.0.299, if you have already gone over to version 6.0.

    While you using search to find WD files, you might as well search for other programs you have uninstalled within the last weeks before using regsupreme.:)
     
  12. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    sorry Don Pelotas, dumb question. what is WD?

    when i read your post about completely uninstalling norton i had some problems downloading the stuffs. i followed this link:

    http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPOR...6031710323113?Open&src=&seg=&om=1&om_out=prod

    and the MSIFIX.bat and the SYMMSICLEANUP.reg links does not work. instead of downloading the file it just shows up some commands in the screen.

    i also dont use regsupreme but reg first aid. hope that works too.
     
  13. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Windows Defender = WD.

    Click on the links in step 2 in the link from your post, they work for me (save it to desktop).
     
  14. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    oh, also last night i decided to be a bit adventurous and try out other AV othere other than KAV.
    i decided to try out NOD32 because of the recommendations and its good reputation.

    i installed NOD32 and followed the guide here and everything was set. then i noticed something ive never noticed before.

    the System in the Windows task manager is jumping up and down eating much of my precious CPU. result is spiking. yet again!

    i dunno man, first it was KAV that was jumping up and down and now its system. this is frustrating. i have already a deep scan using NOD32 but it only found "EvlD4226Patch.exe - Win32/tool.EvlD4226 application" a patch that ive used to open more sockets to prevent the event 4226. obviously AV scanners will see this as a threat as the application changes the default settings of the Windows.

    but i still noticed that whenever i go offline the system would not spike and when online it spikes. is it possible a malware just like Durad said? maybe first it infected KAV and now the System? but ive already done 2 full scan from 2 of the best AV out there.

    here are some screen shots. you can see that spiking significantly went down when i go offline and comes back again when i go online.

    thanks guys. hope we can solve it this time around.
     

    Attached Files:

    • sys.jpg
      sys.jpg
      File size:
      15.9 KB
      Views:
      10,026
  15. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    oh Windows defender. thanks.

    yes the step two link works for me too. is that ok if i only have that and miss the 2? do i have to reinstall the script then even if its only SysNRT that i use?

    *here some more screen shot of System eating up CPU.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Can you post a screenshot of all of your Processes when spiking occurs?

    Are any programs phoning home when you go on line?
     
  17. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    ok, heres all the processes that i have currently running in my PC.

    there is some funny things that has been happening to my PC lately, it seems all hell broke loose since KAV went spiking.

    it also occured to me that some software that connects to the internet is causing the problem.

    NOD32 regularly updates every hour. and maybe Windows Defender and other security software. thats all that i can think of. because even if i shut down all other programs it still spikes and the only programs left running is the security softwares. do you think its one of them?

    *hmm.. firefox eats a lot of mem usage. even i only have 1 tab open.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Cscampxp

    Cscampxp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    i had the same problem when i tried KIS beta that's why uninstalled it.

    In regards to the high CPU usage by your firefox...do you have 1the 1.0 or 1.5 version? Make sure you have the latest version coz that fixes the high memory usage
     
  19. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Hello! It all started with the install of WD, so uninstall it and use search to find/delete files left behind by WD MS-antispyware, the run your regcleaner.

    The latest version of Kaspersky 5.0 is 5.0.527.
     
  20. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    MsMpEng.exe is the Windows Defender scanning EXE file and is the low-level auto-protect service used by MS Anti-Spy /Defender.

    There are many reports of this process sucking up CPU. Although I see by your screenshot that it appears not to affect your CPU usage!

    Personally, as Don suggests, since your problems started with upgrading WD, I would uninstall this program and make sure you run a registry cleaner afterwards.

    There are much better non-beta products for you to use that WD!
     
  21. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    as i have said. all hell broke loose. now whenever i try to go online my firewall outpost freezes. sometimes as it freezes it stops all the net traffic and i cant use the internet. sometimes it doesnt like now. now im online without any firewall, only windows firewall. not really advisable so im gonna go offline as i finish this post.

    damn. this makes me nuts. ok il try to uninstall WD and hopefully it all works out. im just so busy at the moment and it pisses me off because on top of all things this happened. its frustrating.

    my PC is acting funny lately maybe thats why firefox ate a lot memory but it seem to be running normal now.

    if i still cant fix this. il buy an external hard drive save all my important data and reformat this for good!
     
  22. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    You still have kavsvc.exe(KAV component) running which most likely conflicts with NOD32. You need to completely uninstall Kaspersky av.


    tD
     
  23. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    True, but he was getting these high CPU spikes before he installed NOD ( I presume ).

    But, as Technodrome has pointed out you need to completely uninstall KAV before running AMON. I would uninstall KAV, Windows Defender and then see whether you still have high CPU usage.

    Further, if your high usage has apparently dropped since using the Windows firewall, maybe it is time to check out whether OutPost has contributed to the high CPU spikes!
     
  24. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    oh your right! i (we) completely missed that one! thanks mate.

    but i thought i already uninstalled KAV. for sure KAV wont show up in the add/remove programs. how do i uninstall it then? reinstall and uninstall? ofcourse before and after that i also have to uninstall and install NOD32.

    gonna check my PC later. im in college now (using their internet coz i cant use mine!:mad: )

    about Outpost it still spiking because although it freezes when i go online i still cant close it down or end task it because it is locked by the system. so i have no way of knowing whether it contributes or not. i dont want to turn off outpost (eventhough it freezes) and rely only in Windows firewall when going online. lol
     
  25. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    ok i reinstalled and unistalled KAV again hoping that this time kavsvc.exe would dissappear in my process but its still there.

    so i just decided to install again KAV instead of NOD32 so that i wouldnt conflict with Kavsvc.exe which i couldnt kill. i installed KAV ver. 6

    i already uninstalled Windows defender.

    there is a new process that appeared in task manager "avp.exe" i thought it from KAV ver.6 but some sites said it was a trojan. so im now worried. i did a full scan with KAV 6 and it didnt find that avp.exe is dangerous.

    heres the sites:

    http://castlecops.com/s7716-avp_exe.html
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/startups/avp.exe-8404.html

    but i also visited KAV forum and it says they talk about avp.exe but they didnt mention that its dangerous so im confused.
    can someone confirm if its a trojan and and if so how to remove it?
    and also how to kill kavsvc.exe or do a complete uninstall of KAV.

    heres my processes with KAV ver 6 installed.

    thanks a lot.

    -myhomie
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.