Help! Internet Explorer 6 SP2 is playing up!

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Icewind, Jul 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Icewind

    Icewind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    G'day! I'm Australian
    :D Hi, everybody.
    I need help with Internet Explorer. Now, I'm not a professional 'whiz-bang' I.T. expert :rolleyes: , but I do understand how most files work on the computer.

    My operating system (OS) is Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2. I'm having trouble logging on to Internet Explorer 6. Every time I attempt to open the home page, the following message appears (see below)

    I've tried to send the data error report to Microsoft, but to no avail. I'm also having problems with a dynamic link library (dll) file named kernel32.dll, but only through Internet Explorer 6.

    Could someone please help me with this Internet Explorer 6 issue? o_O
    David (Icewind). ;)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 30, 2005
  2. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Did you select "click here" to view the details? If so, can you provide any more information?

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  3. Vikorr

    Vikorr Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    662
    A quick search of google shows that kernell32.exe is related to a known malware Browser Help Object.

    I would suggest running a number of Anti-Spyware and Anti-Trojan scanners and see if that removes them.

    This link is from symantec, but there's a lot of other sites saying the same sort of thing http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.acint.html
     
  4. Texcritter

    Texcritter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,985
    Location:
    Teesside, North East England
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2005
  5. Icewind

    Icewind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    G'day! I'm Australian
    I certainly can. :) Tried to last night, but the upload server only allowed one file at a time :doubt: (see below for kernel32.dll details)

    Thanks, Tex!

    Also, thanks to everyone who's helping me at the moment! ;) Currently, I'm running my Internet from Netscape 8.0. With nice and fast Internet speed, you can get it from here: http://www.netscape.com/

    David.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 29, 2005
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.