Help! From Beyond!!!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Kristina 0507, Oct 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hello. I have a really "dumb" question. I backed up my hard drive about 2 months ago with Acronis True Image. I have a total of about 14 cd's copied. I had a "crash" yesterday (damn hijacker changed all my registry keys) even though I have the best protection in town! Anyway, if I purchase the Acronis True Image 8.0 will it read all my back up files and put them back on my hard drive? When I backed up everything I was using the trial version. I meant to purchase but had forgotten to do so. (silly me). Will the True Image 8.0 help me to recover? Thanks! Guys! I really appreciate your help!
    Warm in Dallas, Kristina
     
  2. ^Ale

    ^Ale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Italy
    I think there are no problems. You can try a restore.
     
  3. Kristina0507

    Kristina0507 Guest

    Re: Help! From Beyond!!!/Reply

    Yep! Tryed a restore. All restore points were taken also by this hijacker. I had to "delete" all my hard drive files, everything. I am now starting "fresh".
    So will True Image 8.0 help restore my personal data?
    Thanks! Kristina
     
  4. ^Ale

    ^Ale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Italy
    Ok. Make a fresh install and then you can browse your image (you must copy it to your HD) and simply copy the data you need, but be shure they are not infected.
     
  5. Kristina0507

    Kristina0507 Guest

    Thanks! Ale! (that's such a romantic name!) But I need to purchase True Image 8.0 for it to "read" my data. Correct? Because I don't have the program on my computer. (I will make sure they are not infected.) Are my questions silly? I did a clean install of my Windows XP this morning. Ale, you're a great help. Kristina
     
  6. ^Ale

    ^Ale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Italy
    You're welcome, Kristina. Yes if you purchase TI, after the install you can make immediatly an image (before some virus or other). I made an image with only Win XP and SP2, then I installed all my progs and made another image and now I make a new image at every important change or new installation.
    Bye
     
  7. Kristina0507

    Kristina0507 Guest

    Thanks again, Ale. I will try everything you suggested. Thanks for being such a great help. Us tall blondes have trouble comprehending sometimes!! Ha! Ha!
    Hope the weather is nice in Italy. Wish me luck!
    Sincerely, Kristina
     
  8. ^Ale

    ^Ale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi Kristina, now it's rainy here!
    Good luck for your new install. By the way I use an external USB hard disk for my images, but if you have only one maybe is better to have your images on another partition on your HD. If you need help I'm here!
    Sincerely, Ale
     
  9. Kristina0507

    Kristina0507 Guest

    Ale, I'm going to purchase TI and will let you know how it goes. That's a Great idea about putting in a partition on my HD. I was going to do that before, but didn't get around to it! (wish I had!) I will post to you tomorrow about what happened and If I do need some help, I will come and look for you. It is 4:18 pm where I am.(Texas). Thanks again, my friend! Kristina
     
  10. ^Ale

    ^Ale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Italy
    Kristina, maybe is better you register to forum, so you can PM me and we don't go off topic
    Bye
     
  11. Kristina 0507

    Kristina 0507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    Ale, I am now a register member! Will fill out details later. Thanks for your help. I'm going to try and "refurbish" everything now. Hope to hear from you soon and I will be in touch. Thanks Again, Kristina :D
     
  12. ^Ale

    ^Ale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Italy
    Ok, good idea.
    Here are 12.03 am
    Bye
    Ale
     
  13. Tipton

    Tipton Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Posts:
    82
    Funny thread! Looks like Kristina really knows how to work the system! But then I could be wrong. You know how us good looking muscular type guys can be at that sort of thing!

    Tipton
     
  14. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    Yeah, it was just over the top!!! It should be stickied as a classic. Isn't it nice that online, we can appear to be anything we want to!
     
  15. Tom_USA

    Tom_USA Guest

    Except for clever.... (no personal offense - just came to my mind when reading other postings here)

     
  16. GoodGuy

    GoodGuy Guest

    Or civil.... judging by a number of your other posts on this forum.
     
  17. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Let's stay on topic and away from the personal comments folks. Thanks.

    Blue
     
  18. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/products/trueimage/).

    It seems to me that the problem is resolved... but I should clarify one thing.

    If you create an image using any version of Acronis True Image (Deluxe, 6.0, 7.0, 8.0, the trial one or the standard one, Server edition or not, using Acronis bootable rescue media or under Windows) then the image will be recognized by any later version of Acronis True Image.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Andrew Berezovsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.