[Help for App] McAfee DAT Updater

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by RejZoR, Oct 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Few days ago i created Norton Rapid Updater. Now i'm planning to create similar program for McAfee users. The only problem is that i currently don't have any copy of McAfee to play around.

    I need McAfee users to tell me where to put DAT signature files,so McAfee updates itself (manually). Its no problem to make the update process (i have all info except this destination folder) but i need someone to confirm exact destination for these DAT files.

    Thanks
     
  2. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    If you are thinking of 7.03 retail It reaches EOL today
     
  3. VikingStorm

    VikingStorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    387
    Well I only have Enterprise over here, and it's:

    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Network Associates\Engine\

    VS8 is:

    C:\Program Files\McAfee.com\VSO\

    Probably need some confirmation on this, if it's still that.
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Ok now this can be a problem. Norton uses same defs for all antiviruses (self auto extract). McAfee uses manual with two different paths.

    Does Enterprise and VirusScan use the same SuperDAT?
    And what is SuperDAT exactly? Its around 1MB smaller then ZIP version.
    I have a ZIP decompressor available,but if these SuperDATs do the same thing,i would use it instead.
     
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Symantec uses faster servers :p These are downloading much slower.
    Anyway,i managed to add basic detection,so McAfee DAT Updater will refuse to run on systems with Enterprise version or system without McAfee VirusScan.
     
  6. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Hm,i got the McAfee 9 to test,but SuperDATs refuse to update.
    It says "Unable to find any qualifying product(s)".
    Is AV too new for this SFX version of DATs?
     
  7. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    It is a different type of dat You will have to convert It to a 4x dat type file.
    9x uses active X
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.