Help for an intermediate user

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by phillip559, Jan 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. phillip559

phillip559 Registered Member

Hi Guys

I've been hanging around this forum for quite awhile but finally decided to join. I'm not a complete noob to security but far from being as advanced as most of you.

Here is my current set up:
    Windows XP (SP 2)
    Nod 32 version 3.0 (selected a long time ago based on what i read here)
    Spybot Search and Destroy
    Lavasoft Ad Aware
    Spyware Blaster
    Tea Timer > always on (part of Spybot S&D which helps prevent unauthorized registry changes)
    Windows Default Firewall (yes, please laugh me out of the building)
    Firefox as the only browser (with No script extension >i never allow scripts like double click to run)
    Acronis True Image for data back up on a secondary internal harddrive
    External harddrive only used for data back up and disconnected afteward

My Dilemma: Our household recently purchased a new computer (Vista Home Premium OS) so I plan to add a wired router (yes, no wireless stuff for me) to share the internet connection.

I know I am in need of a much better firewall with two way protection instead of windows xp firewall's one way protection. I may need other things also?

Do you recommend any specfic version/brand of wired routers? I plan to purchase a Linksys EtherFast BEFSX41 which supports both VPN and has a firewall built in to it (or so it says).

What do you guys recommend security upgrade wise?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Phillip

2. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

For a router see either thread:

Router Suggestions?

Thinking of a router.

For outbound protection, how easy/complicated do you want?

Online Armor is a firewall/HIPS I consider to be easy, whereas Jetico would be a more complicated firewall.