Help for a noob

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by avboy, Feb 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. avboy

avboy Registered Member

Since I dont know where to ask this, I am putting it here.

I am a newbie seeking advice. I was under the belief that if I buy an internet security suite, my PC would be safe. So I had ZASS 7 installed. Until the day I was rudely jolted by the discovery of Savekeys Gold on my PC. (Detected by ZASS). Then I became paranoid and searched till I found this great place.

To cut it short, at present I am overwhelmed by the range of products/apps and need your guidance.

1. Can I use both Prosecurity and DefenseWall together on my PC without conflicts. As per the vendors, both are anti HIPS, but from my little understanding, PSS acts like guarding process, and other (DW) uses a trusted/untrusted classification. WHat excatly are their functions? DO they overlap, so that only one is enough?

2. Can you tell me whether the above two run on whitelist or blacklist. Is it correct that using whitelist based protection is better than blacklist based one?

2. If DW is running, is sandboxie required? Is it correct that defensewall uses sandbox model for untrusted applications?

3. Is DefensePlus better than free wehnus?

4. Prosecurity seems to ask before running any exe. Is it necessary to have some other specific execution blocker that can block executables from running? If yes, any suggestion?

5. I have webroot spysweeper. Is it sufficient to act as a Trojan remover too? Or do I have to get AVG Antispyware/ Trojan Hunter too?

6. Does SAndboxie like software really prevent all malware i the sandbox model? If so isn't that enough?

7. How safe are Tor and JAP for anonymous backdoor. It is often mentioned that they have backdoors built in. Is it correct?