HELP: Computer hacked... possibly to act as a xdcc bot

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by marcuri, May 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marcuri

marcuri Registered Member

Let me first preface this with saying that i do understand alot about computers, and i'm the type of person in the family that people go to when they have computer problems. I've had extensive experience with spyware removal/trojen removal/ect. for a long time and I've always been good with computers.

That said... onto the problem.

I've been suspecting something has been wrong with my computer (specifically my laptop i've used at college) for quite some time. Everytime i've shutdown for the last couple of months i would have this program called sample which must be closed through clicking "end task" everytime i shut down. It never came up in a file search, and never was shown in task manager. So i always assumed it was part of a program i was running or something along those lines. I'm not even sure (at this time at least) if this file is related to the current situation that i have.