Help ! Can't get my HD to Boot

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by pratzert, Sep 13, 2016.

  1. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Once again I got an error message "Unable to mount file system" for Both of the MBR's
     
  2. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Brian K,

    Looks like this may be what I have to do next since I was unable to "mount the file system".

    How do I go about installing BIBM to the HD ?
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,475
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    pratzert,

    Installing BIBM won't help unless you can mount the file system.

    https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=091

    Try the section where you select the Win7 partition, hold down Left Shift key and click Properties. Do you see Start and End LBA Information and a Warning. If so, change the End LBA to the suggested number. Do the same for MBR 1.

    Do Details and Edit File work now?
     
  4. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Hi Brian K.

    I have left the office for the day, but I'll do that as soon as I arrive tomorrow morning and let you know what happens.

    Thanks !
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,475
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Our time zones really clash. You are at work when I'm in bed.
     
  6. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Two ships passing in the night !
     
  7. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Hi Brian K.

    No "warnings", noting in the "flags" section. And in the "Additional Information Area" the following info is shown:

    "Bootable: No.
    The location of this partition will prevent some operating systems from booting from it."

    I do see the start and end LBA information... I also tried re-entering the same end LBA number and nothing seemed to change.

    I still get the message "Unable to mount the file system."

    Next step o_O
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,475
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    pratzert,

    Try this. Take that HD home and install it as the second HD in your computer. Boot Windows and open Disk Management. Are the partitions RAW? Do they have drive letters? If not, assign drive letters to the Recovery and Win7 partitions. Run...

    chkdsk /f X:

    ... on each partition, where X is the drive letter. If the partition data becomes accessible we are getting closer.
     
  9. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Hi Again Brian K.

    I missed the window to take the drive home as I left work already.

    I'll grab it at bring it home tomorrow and follow those steps and report back.

    That will work out better for our crossed times zones too.

    Thanks !
     
  10. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    CR*P! I don't know what will go wrong next !

    Brought the drive home, put it in the home desktop, pushed the power button...... BEEP-BEEP, flashing amber power button.

    Hmmm.. code means memory problem. Removed/reseated all the mem sticks... no love. Removed all mem sticks and tried one set at a time in sockets... no love. Installed new system board battery and re-set CMOS... no love. Removed video card... no love. I now suspect possible PSU or Motherboard problem.

    I'm going to go CRAZY !!!!!!!
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2016
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,475
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    If you remove the work HD, does that help?
     
  12. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,091
    Location:
    Mexico
    Those need to be cleaned with a soft eraser. I do recommend to do this first than anything else.
     
  13. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Unfortunately, No. Still the same. 2 Beeps with flashing amber power light.

    Strange coincidence ?
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2016
  14. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Thanks Mister X. I'll try it.....
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,475
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I hope the computer is working. You have had more than your share of bad luck.
     
  16. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    No luck. I pulled the drives out of the home desktop and will try them in the work desktop.

    I am going to try to install the bot HD form Home on the work desktop to see if it will boot up.

    Then I can work on the problem using the work desktop using the home boot HD.
     
  17. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Brian K,

    I installed my Boot HD from home in my work desktop as the "0" boot drive and the original boot drive from the work machine as drive 1.

    I opened disk mgt and the original boot hd show the disk like this"

    39 MB Healthy (OEM Partition) H: 9.12 GB RAW Healthy (Primry Partition) I: 1388.10 GB RAW (Active, Primary Partition)

    Those two partitions have drive letters assigned, I will go ahead and run chkdsk /f on those partitions.
     
  18. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    While running the chkdsk /f it stopped and I got an error message: "an unspecified error occurred (6672732e637878 41a)"

    I re-started chkdsk /f and now it seems to be hung up on while correcting and index error.

    Plus... I have gotten several "Pop-Ups" stating that "Windows detected a hard disk problem" and urges me to back up my files.

    I don't know if it's a legitimate Windows message or a virus pop-up ?

    I have never seen such a message.... ever.......
     
  19. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Tried starting chkdsk /f one more time and it seemed to get further. It's at 42% now.

    The drive activity light is on so it may be doing something. I'm leaving work in 1/2 hour for the weekend.

    I guess I will leave it running over the long weekend. (Monday is a Holiday for me.)

    Have a good weekend everyone !
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2016
  20. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    5,245
    Location:
    USA still the best. But barely.
    I read this:

    Run cmd where you start chkdsk as admin. The error () is a failure to write to system log due to lack of privileges.

    or

    Go to Start/Search and type CMD, Right click the CMD results and Run As Administrator. In the Elevated Command Prompt, type the drive letter of the problematic drive (eg) G: and press enter (eg) G:\> at this prompt type chkdsk /R and press enter. Now type a Y for Yes to Unmount the drive if a secondary drive. Check Disk will go through 5 stages, it will take a long time, possibly over night.

    Not mine but GIYF.
     
  21. Reality

    Reality Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,198
    Well I started reading this thread last night and ended up reading it all when I should have retired for the night. It's like a good book you cant put down and now I'm on the edge of my seat. I'm cheering on pratzert, and the helpers. Heaps of dedication from both and why forums are amazing. Let's hope you get a breakthrough soon. I could have easily been in the same predicament and it's no fun losing important data but I was fortunate where I didn't have to dig in.
     
  22. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Hi zapjb.

    I did run the command prompt as an administrator. I actually started the command prompt from the "Accessories" menu but I right clicked on it and chose the option to run as administrator.

    I also tried to select the problem drive in disk manager and got an error message that I can't recall exactly, but something to the effect of no recognized file system and I could not select that drive/partition, at least not in disk manager.

    I will try it again with the command prompt on Tuesday when I go to the office.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  23. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Hi Reality.

    I am hoping this horror story has a happy ending.

    So far, it's been one mess after another.

    But with all the really great help, I am still confident I WILL at least recover my email and addresses.

    Regards.
     
  24. Houley456

    Houley456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    186
    Curious, does the unit have a CDRom Drive...if so, does it work?....I had issues similar to yours and finally found out I had a bad CDROM Drive...
     
  25. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Hi Houley456,

    Yes, it does. It has a CD-ROM and a DVDRW. I haven't gotten around to testing and systematically disconnecting each pieve of hardware, but I do plan to do so to try to narrow in what may be causing the problem.

    I have learned that the BEEP codes are not gospel and do not always indicate the real problem.

    I have done some minimal RAM testing and removed the video card to see if that was causing the problem.

    But I will test both the drives to see if they function and take them out of the system to see if that solves my problem.

    I have found myself trying to solve several problems at once, and it is not fun !
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.