Help ! Can't get my HD to Boot

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by pratzert, Sep 13, 2016.

  1. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,475
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    When you selected Menu was there anything in the Items rectangle?
     
  2. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    I can't recall. I'll check in the morning. Sorry. :.(
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,475
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    If the Items rectangle is blank, it's all over. It should show your OS. Make sure it's highlighted, click Edit, etc (Device and OS Device)
     
  4. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Sounds foreboding..... I hope there is something in the box.
     
  5. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    The news isn't good.

    I selected the "Recovery" Partition, then selected BCD Edit.

    With the "Menu" button selected, there is nothing at all in the "Items" Rectangle box.

    When I then made sure the Rectangular box is highlighted and select "Device", the "Value" box on the right hand side shows HD:0 and Partition: OS. It reads the same when I select "OS Device".

    Am I screwed ?
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,475
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    pratzert,

    I'm afraid we are at the end of the road. This OS isn't going to boot but at least you have recovered your Outlook .PST file so that is a consolation. Thanks for trying so hard.
     
  7. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Hi Brian K.

    Bummer ! :.(

    Thank goodness I was able to recover the PST file. I lost about a month of emails and calendar events, but it's not the end of the world.

    I want to thank you again for your help and patience in helping me and for sharing your knowledge.

    And thanks to ALL the forum members who helped with suggestions and encouragement.

    I had no advance warning of the HD going wonky on me and I don't know if it was a coincidence that it failed at the exact same time I was reverting from Win10 back to Win7 or not. But it sure was odd timing. A real HD failure or one caused by Win10? I don't know.

    I know there are some programs out there that claim to revive a failed disk, but it's probably not worth it. I'll just order a new drive.

    As far as my home desktop that crapped out, I now have a new PSU and a new CPU heat sink fan to install.

    I am hoping my troubles were caused by the PSU.

    Best Regards.
     
  8. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,461
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    And Brian K! It's been especially painful watching this in slow motion.
    I wouldn't be surprised. Can't prove it, but I also suspect Win 10 messed with one of my laptop drives. Tried Macrium boot fix, but replaced now with SSD. Was able to clone the drive.
     
  9. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    It sure was a strange coincidence.

    Win10 has had may problems.....
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.