[Help!] Burning a 4 gb acronis image to a dvd.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by syrus, Aug 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. syrus

    syrus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,
    Really couldn't find a solution for this anywhere else, thought you guys might help.
    I made a backup of my system drive with Acronis True image Home 10 and saved it to my hard drive. The archive was split in 3 dvd size parts - the default setting (4550820 KB). I'm trying to burn these archives on 3 dvd's using Nero 7.10xxx with the dvd udf setting. The first part burns perfectly, but when i try to burn the 2nd nero shows it's size as ~8 gb, and the 3rd ~12 gb, when on the disk they are 4,5 gb. Because of that i can't burn the parts on the dvd.
    Anyone knows how to overcome this? Maybe i should use some other burning software?
    Thx in advance.
    Peace
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Well, I'm grasping at straws here .... but it could be that you chose the udf format. Try burning with the defaults. The .tib files should be treated simply as data.
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    The UDF format is necessary because of the file size.

    It sounds like Nero is adding the files from the previous DVD to the next one. You should be creating a new single-session DVD that contains only one file for each part.
     
  4. syrus

    syrus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    That really did the trick. Thanks a lot! The solution is always too simple )
     
  5. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    For even better use of the dvd discs, many users here use a split size of 1492mb. Three of these will fit on one dvd with very little waste. NOTE: when you type in the 1492 figure, True Image will change it to a different number (I forget what it is) close to the 1492 but that's okay - leave it changed.
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    It changes it to 1.457GB which is 1492MB/1.024 so it's converting to GB based on 1GB=1024MB, not 1000MB.
     
  7. RTShaw

    RTShaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Port Huron, Mi Usa
    I USe A Dual LAyer DVD Burner (U Can do it in one whack with em)...
    Verbatum & Memoryx Makes DL Blanks - BOth are good, Memorex is cheaper U can burn up to 8x (I wouldnt suggest any higher) with burn & Verify) about 35 mins or so total. OR Burn then copy the executable back to your Hard drive as a ture test.. I keep a few from diff parts of my vista installation just to do a full restore at any given point. Works great. Do it once U will never have 2 do it again unless u have a major hardware change (Like Motherboard)
    2 make it a little clearer
    Bur the image to your hard drive as one file. then verify it
    Now burn to a Dual LAyer DVd takes 15 mins forthat part at 8x.. I wouldnt suggest higher. Dl is still new Verbatum has had DL Blanks but at a high price for a while (and its all I use) U get a litle over 8 gigs on one
    then u can copy the file (or use a util) 2 verify the validi9ty your burn - i usually copy it back 2 my hard drive then run a verify on it. I just want 2 be safe & sure as possible, maybe someone can come up with a better way?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.